Recommended Free Tools
Microsoft said Xbox Game Pass had reached 34 million members on February 15, 2024. Sarah Bond gave the figure during an Official Xbox Podcast discussion about Diablo IV joining the service. It is a genuine Microsoft-announced milestone, but it is not a confirmed August 2026 subscriber total—and it includes the narrower Game Pass Core plan.
That distinction matters for anyone judging Microsoft’s subscription business or deciding whether Game Pass is good value. The 34 million figure does not mean that 34 million people subscribed to Ultimate or received the full Game Pass catalog.
What Microsoft actually announced
On February 15, 2024, Microsoft executives Phil Spencer, Sarah Bond and Matt Booty discussed Xbox’s business in an Official Xbox Podcast episode. Bond said Game Pass had reached “34 million members” while discussing Diablo IV’s arrival and Microsoft’s broader post-Activision Blizzard acquisition content strategy.
The wording and date are important. Microsoft supplied the number; it was not presented as an independently audited regulatory filing. “Members” is Microsoft’s term, although coverage often uses “subscribers.”
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →#1 Best Overall
- MODERNIZED DESIGN — Experience the modernized design of the XBOX Wireless Controller with sculpted surfaces and updated geometry that enhances comfort and control during long gaming sessions.
- PRECISION PERFORMANCE — Stay on target with a hybrid D-pad and textured grips on triggers, bumpers, and back case for improved accuracy and handling.
- SHARE BUTTON: Seamlessly capture and share content such as screenshots, recordings, and more with the new Share button.
- VERSATILE CONNECTIVITY — Connect via USB-C for plug-and-play on console and PC, or quickly pair and switch between supported devices with XBOX Wireless and Bluetooth support.
- BUILT-IN AUDIO SUPPORT — Plug in compatible headsets using the 3.5mm audio jack for direct voice chat and immersive in-game sound.
The crucial qualification: Game Pass Core is included
The 34 million total includes Game Pass Core, according to coverage that reported Microsoft’s clarification. Core launched on September 14, 2023, replacing Xbox Live Gold under Microsoft’s Game Pass Core announcement.
Core primarily provides online console multiplayer and a rotating selection of games. It is part of the Game Pass family, but it does not provide the same access as Ultimate or PC Game Pass. Consequently, “34 million Game Pass members” and “34 million people with the complete Game Pass library” are not interchangeable statements.
| Plan or category | What the 34 million label tells us | What it does not establish |
|---|---|---|
| Game Pass Core | Included in Microsoft’s membership total; online console multiplayer and a smaller catalog | Access to the full Game Pass catalog or every day-one release |
| PC Game Pass | May be included as part of the overall Game Pass membership count | How many of the 34 million members use PC Game Pass |
| Ultimate | May be included in the overall family total | The number of Ultimate members or the number receiving cloud and broader cross-device benefits |
| Other console Game Pass access | Covered only by Microsoft’s combined “members” figure | A plan-by-plan breakdown |
The inclusion of Core makes the headline total broader than a count limited to people paying for the highest tiers. It also complicates direct comparisons with older announcements if Microsoft used different product groupings at different times.
Rank #2
- MODERNIZED DESIGN — Experience the modernized design of the XBOX Wireless Controller with sculpted surfaces and updated geometry that enhances comfort and control during long gaming sessions.
- PRECISION PERFORMANCE — Stay on target with a hybrid D-pad and textured grips on triggers, bumpers, and back case for improved accuracy and handling.
- SHARE BUTTON: Seamlessly capture and share content such as screenshots, recordings, and more with the new Share button.
- VERSATILE CONNECTIVITY — Connect via USB-C for plug-and-play on console and PC, or quickly pair and switch between supported devices with XBOX Wireless and Bluetooth support.
- BUILT-IN AUDIO SUPPORT — Plug in compatible headsets using the 3.5mm audio jack for direct voice chat and immersive in-game sound.
Why the milestone mattered to Microsoft
Game Pass is a recurring-revenue product as well as a way to distribute games. A larger membership base can give Microsoft a broad audience for first-party releases, Activision Blizzard titles, PC access, console multiplayer and supported cloud experiences.
The February announcement also came as Microsoft was integrating Activision Blizzard into its gaming business. Diablo IV joining Game Pass illustrated the strategy: use major releases to make the subscription more attractive while reaching players beyond a single console generation.
Those strategic aims explain why Microsoft highlighted a combined membership number. They do not reveal how many people were on each plan, how often members played, or how much each member paid.
Rank #3
- MODERNIZED DESIGN — Experience the modernized design of the XBOX Wireless Controller with sculpted surfaces and updated geometry that enhances comfort and control during long gaming sessions.
- PRECISION PERFORMANCE — Stay on target with a hybrid D-pad and textured grips on triggers, bumpers, and back case for improved accuracy and handling.
- SHARE BUTTON: Seamlessly capture and share content such as screenshots, recordings, and more with the new Share button.
- VERSATILE CONNECTIVITY — Connect via USB-C for plug-and-play on console and PC, or quickly pair and switch between supported devices with XBOX Wireless and Bluetooth support.
- BUILT-IN AUDIO SUPPORT — Plug in compatible headsets using the 3.5mm audio jack for direct voice chat and immersive in-game sound.
What the 34 million figure cannot tell you
- It does not provide the number of Ultimate subscribers.
- It does not provide the number of PC Game Pass subscribers.
- It does not separate full-price recurring plans from promotional, prepaid or bundled access.
- It does not show geographic distribution or average revenue per member.
- It does not disclose monthly active usage, churn or retention.
- It does not prove that the total increased or decreased after February 2024.
- It does not explain Microsoft’s treatment of every trial, hardware bundle or promotional arrangement.
For personal-finance purposes, this means multiplying 34 million by one advertised monthly price would produce a misleading revenue estimate. Members can pay different prices in different regions, use different tiers, receive discounts or have prepaid access.
What Microsoft disclosed after the milestone
Microsoft’s 2025 annual shareholder materials said Game Pass revenue reached nearly $5 billion for the relevant fiscal-year reporting period. That demonstrates the scale of the business, but revenue cannot be converted into a current member count without knowing plan mix, pricing, promotions, churn and regional results. See the Microsoft annual shareholder meeting materials.
Microsoft also changed the economics and terms of the service in 2026. In an April 21, 2026 announcement, Xbox said Ultimate pricing fell from $29.99 to $22.99 per month and PC Game Pass pricing fell from $16.49 to $13.99 per month in the cited market; regional prices can differ. The same announcement said future Call of Duty releases would no longer arrive in Ultimate or PC Game Pass at launch, with availability planned around the following holiday season, while existing Call of Duty titles would remain available under the stated terms. Details are in Xbox’s Game Pass update.
Rank #4
- BREAKER SERIES — Hold nothing back. Ice Breaker keeps it forever fresh with a mix of iced and frosted blues. Part of the collective debut of the Breaker special edition series.
- BOLD STYLE, BUILT TO PERFORM — Define your swagger with a wild, head-turning design. Stay elegantly on target with textured triggers built for every moment.
- RUBBERIZED GRIPS — Hold on to the action with rubberized grips on the back cases, designed for comfort and control during long gaming sessions.
- UP TO 40 HOURS OF BATTERY LIFE — Get up to 40 hours of battery life so you can keep playing without stopping to recharge.
- PLAY ACROSS EVERY SCREEN — Quickly pair with, play on, and switch between devices including console and PC. Stream games across mobile, gaming handhelds, Smart TVs, and supported VR headsets with XBOX Cloud Gaming.
These are product and monetization developments, not a replacement subscriber disclosure. A lower price, a changed launch policy or higher revenue does not by itself prove that membership rose.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Is 34 million still Microsoft’s current total?
Not on the public materials identified here. Through the Microsoft materials dated August 16, 2026, no newer official total subscriber count replaces the February 2024 figure. The defensible wording is therefore: Microsoft said Game Pass had reached 34 million members on February 15, 2024, and that remains the latest clearly disclosed total located in these company materials.
Calling 34 million Microsoft’s current August 2026 total would turn a dated milestone into an unsupported present-day claim. Third-party estimates may exist, but they should not be presented as Microsoft’s verified number.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsBest Value
- Tri-mode Connectivity: Wired for Xbox, 2.4G & Wired for PC, and Bluetooth for Android. The G7 Pro supports seamless connectivity across Xbox, PC, and Android. Effortlessly switch between modes using the convenient physical mode switch.
- TMR Sticks: The G7 Pro features GameSir's Mag-Res TMR sticks, combining Hall Effect durability with traditional potentiometer performance. This advanced technology delivers stable polling rates for smooth, drift-free gaming with low power consumption.
- Hall Effect Analog Triggers: The GameSir precision-tuned Hall Effect analog triggers provide unmatched smoothness and linear input for precise control. Featuring clicky Micro Switch trigger stops, gamers can easily switch based on their preferences.
- 1000Hz Polling Rate on PC: Experience ultra-responsive gaming with a 1000Hz polling rate on PC, available through both wired and 2.4G wireless connections. This ensures instantaneous input registration, reducing lag and optimizing your performance for the most competitive gameplay.
- GameSir Nexus App: The G7 Pro is compatible with the upgraded GameSir Nexus app, which brings a significant upgrade over the original. It introduces powerful new features such as gyro settings, stick curve adjustments, and button-to-mouse mapping, giving you deeper customization and more control than ever before.
What this means when deciding whether to subscribe
The headline count says little about whether Game Pass is economical for an individual household. Compare the current plan, catalog and regional price on the official Game Pass page before paying.
Core may be enough for multiplayer-focused players
If you mainly need online console multiplayer and occasionally play the included games, Core is a narrower commitment than Ultimate. Do not pay for a larger tier solely because the overall service has 34 million members.
Higher tiers make more sense for frequent players
Ultimate or PC Game Pass can offer better value when you regularly play multiple included titles, use more than one Xbox ecosystem or would otherwise buy several games. Catalog availability, cloud support, launch timing and plan rules can change.
Buying games can be cheaper for light users
Someone who plays only one or two games a year may spend less buying those games outright than maintaining a subscription. Calculate the annual subscription cost against the titles you would actually play, rather than against the theoretical size of the catalog.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Call of Duty players should check launch timing
The April 2026 policy change means future Call of Duty releases are not planned to enter Ultimate or PC Game Pass at launch. Players subscribing mainly for new Call of Duty campaigns or multiplayer should include the separate purchase cost and delayed availability in their calculation.
Bottom line
Microsoft’s 34 million Game Pass figure is real, but it is a dated and qualified milestone: the company announced it on February 15, 2024, and the total includes Game Pass Core. It does not disclose the number of Ultimate or PC members, the service’s current August 2026 membership, or what any individual subscriber pays. Treat the number as evidence of Game Pass’s scale—not as a current financial metric or a promise of full-library access.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




