What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Yes. In November 2024, Meezan Bank deleted its announced 5% monthly charge on qualifying high-balance deposit accounts, and contemporaneous reporting said Bank Alfalah also withdrew a similar charge on very large checking-account balances. The thresholds differed: Meezan’s was PKR 1 billion; Bank Alfalah’s reported threshold was PKR 5 billion.
What each bank announced—and later withdrew
| Bank | Account type | Announced balance threshold | Currency scope | Announced effective date | Withdrawal |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Meezan Bank | Deposit accounts | PKR 1 billion or more on the last day of the month | PKR or equivalent in foreign currency | December 21, 2024 | On November 26, 2024, Meezan said the addition to its Schedule of Charges “shall stand deleted with immediate effect.” Meezan Bank notice |
| Bank Alfalah | Checking accounts | PKR 5 billion or more at month-end | Not stated in the cited report | Not stated in the cited report | ProPakistani reported on November 26, 2024, that the bank withdrew the fee with immediate effect. The bank’s own withdrawal notice was not available in the cited coverage. ProPakistani report |
Meezan’s official amendment confirms its reversal. The evidence for Bank Alfalah’s withdrawal is contemporaneous media reporting, rather than a retrieved notice from the bank itself. Dawn reported that other banks also notified large depositors and that thresholds varied, generally from PKR 1 billion to PKR 5 billion. Dawn report, November 22, 2024
How the proposed fee was meant to work
The charge was described as a 5% monthly fee tied to a qualifying balance on the final day of a month. It was not a general fee on ordinary accounts or on every rupee held by customers below the stated threshold. Meezan’s notice specified deposit accounts at PKR 1 billion or above, including the equivalent in foreign currency. ProPakistani described Bank Alfalah’s proposal as applying to checking-account month-end balances of PKR 5 billion or more.
The banks therefore did not announce one shared rule: the account categories and thresholds were distinct. The reports and notice describe proposed charges that were subsequently withdrawn, not fees that should be assumed to apply today.
#1 Best Overall
- PERFECT FOR RECORD KEEPING: The 2 Pack account ledger books are versatile and can be used to track finances, budgets, expenses, and other business or personal records. They are perfect for individuals, or small business owners who need a reliable and efficient way to keep track of their finances. With 100 pages, customers can record transactions over an extended period, making it a handy tool for bill planner, weekly budget planner, monthly budget planner.
- COMPACT AND LIGHTWEIGHT: The Budget Planner is compact and lightweight with each book weighing 7 ounces and measuring 8.5 x 6.25 inch, making them easy to carry around. You can take the budget notebook in a bag or briefcase, making them ideal for on-the-go use. This feature ensures that you can access your records at any time, whether you are at work or on the move.
- PREMIUM QUALITY: Elegant style with the words ''Account Tracker'' embossed in fancy Gold Foils. Water-proof and scratch resistant hard cover. Coil ring binding is a practical design feature that enhances the functionality of the account ledger books. It allows pages to turn smoothly and easily, making it effortless to flip through the book while keeping pages in place. The ring binding also ensures that pages won't fall out, preventing the loss of vital information.
- DURABLE WATER-PROOF COVER WITH GOLD FOIL LETTERS: The words ''Account Tracker'' embossed in shiny Gold Foil letters gives it a professional and fancy look that can fit in any setting. Additionally, the durable cover is scratch resistant, It provides a durable layer of protection that can withstand daily wear and tear, making it suitable for long-term use.
Why the banks reportedly reversed the charges
Dawn reported that banks were seeking to avoid an incremental tax of up to 15% if the banking sector’s advance-to-deposit ratio (ADR) remained below 50% on December 31, 2024. An ADR compares advances with deposits; the reported tax incentive was linked to the sector’s year-end ratio, not a customer’s individual account balance. Dawn’s contemporaneous account
Business Recorder reported that banks began reversing the charges after what it characterized as unofficial directives from the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP). Business Recorder report The cited coverage does not establish a public SBP order as the reason for these two banks’ decisions, nor does it prove that tax avoidance was each bank’s official motive. Treat both explanations as contemporaneous reporting, not a confirmed official statement from Meezan or Bank Alfalah.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What customers should check now
This is a historical 2024 fee episode, not a reliable guide to current account charges. Bank Alfalah’s website lists schedule-of-charges documents, but an index alone does not establish the terms for every account or confirm what appears in every later schedule. Bank Alfalah Schedule of Charges index
Quick Recap
Best Value
Rank #3
- For a current account decision, review the schedule that applies to your specific account and its effective dates.
- If a charge is unclear, ask the bank to confirm the account type, balance basis, currency treatment, and applicable schedule in writing.
- Do not infer current terms from the withdrawn announcements or from a schedule index alone.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




