Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

Media Partners Rebrands as Atana and Raises $6M (October 2023)

Media Partners became Atana Inc. and reported a $6 million Series A tranche in October 2023, bringing reported total funding to $16 million. Here are the investors and the dated figures.
From TheFinanceBase Team3 min to read

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Media Partners, a Seattle-area workplace-training content company, became Atana Inc. and reported a new $6 million Series A tranche in late October 2023. GeekWire’s October 31, 2023 report put the company’s total reported funding at $16 million after that tranche. The name change, the investors and the funding totals are the facts that hold up. The customer, headcount and product figures from that period are dated and should not be read as current.

What changed: the name, not the business model

The company announced that Media Partners was now Atana Inc. Reporting on the change came out on October 31, 2023. Alliance of Angels’ news listing confirms the rebrand, the date and the $6 million amount. The company’s own announcement was not available to check directly, so the specifics below come from press coverage and a secondary funding roundup rather than from a company filing.

The business itself was not new. According to GeekWire, Atana originally launched in 1993, and John Hansen acquired it in 2016. Hansen was described as a startup veteran and a longtime University of Washington lecturer, and he is quoted as the company’s CEO.

The funding: $6 million tranche, $16 million reported total

A tranche is a portion of a larger round, so the $6 million is part of the Series A rather than a separate financing. ETCH’s October 2023 funding roundup describes the same round the same way: the $6 million was combined with $10 million raised earlier, producing a $16 million Series A.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Item Reported figure Source and date
New Series A tranche $6 million GeekWire, October 31, 2023; Alliance of Angels news listing
Funding raised before this tranche $10 million ETCH October 2023 funding roundup
Reported total after the tranche $16 million GeekWire, October 31, 2023; ETCH October 2023 roundup

Who invested

  • Lead investor: John Byrnes of the Byron Group family office, according to GeekWire.
  • Other family offices: two additional family offices, not named in the coverage reviewed here.
  • Angel investors: members of Seattle’s Alliance of Angels.
  • Insider stake: GeekWire described Hansen as the company’s second-largest investor.

What the funding reports do not say

None of the sources reviewed for this article reports a valuation, the ownership percentage bought in the tranche, the round’s terms, or how the proceeds will be used. A $16 million total tells you how much capital has been reported as raised. It does not tell you what the company is worth or whether it is profitable.

What Atana sells

Before the rebrand, the company was known for training content on diversity and inclusion, sexual harassment, bias, workplace violence and related topics. Its new product, Atana Insights, pairs that training content with AI-driven behavioral insights and analytics. The stated aim is to change attitudes and behaviors rather than only deliver courses.

CEO John Hansen described the approach this way in GeekWire’s report: “We seamlessly integrate behavioral theory, organizational psychology, and advanced data science to empower organizations to foster positive, lasting behavior change at scale.”

Customer, headcount and product figures

GeekWire’s report included several company-supplied numbers. They describe the company as of October 2023 and are not a current snapshot.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Measure Reported value Source and date Status
Enterprise customers More than 300 Atana figure reported by GeekWire, October 31, 2023 2023 company figure, not independently verified
Customers using and testing Atana Insights 10 GeekWire, October 31, 2023 Testing group during 2023 only
Employees 31 Atana figure reported by GeekWire, October 31, 2023 2023 company figure, not independently verified
Current customer count Not stated No more recent figure appears in the sources reviewed Unknown as of this article
Current headcount Not stated No more recent figure appears in the sources reviewed Unknown as of this article
Current product lineup Not stated No more recent source appears in the sources reviewed Unknown as of this article
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What this means for a personal-finance reader

Atana is a private company. The coverage reports no public listing and no way for an individual investor to buy shares in this round, so the news is best read as a signal about private capital flowing into workplace-training software rather than as an investment opportunity.

If you are evaluating a training vendor for your employer, the announcement does not help you compare options. The coverage does not compare Atana with other platforms. Useful comparison points are training subject coverage, delivery and integration with existing systems, measurement and analytics, and fit with enterprise requirements. The sources reviewed here do not provide evidence on those dimensions for Atana.

If you want to follow this company further

  • Ask Atana directly for current customer, headcount and product figures, and the date each was measured.
  • Look for a later funding announcement, which would show whether the $16 million total has changed.
  • Check whether any valuation or ownership terms are disclosed in future coverage before drawing conclusions about the company’s worth.

Coverage from late 2023 is the most recent account of this financing in the sources reviewed for this article.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.