No—not as an established, audited figure. The “nearly 1,000%” claim came from a 2023 third-party estimate comparing an estimated $3,320 cost for an H100 with an estimated $25,000–$30,000 street price for the least-expensive PCIe version. Those figures imply roughly 653%–804% profit relative to estimated cost, not a confirmed NVIDIA profit margin. NVIDIA does not disclose H100-specific manufacturing cost or profit.
Where the 1,000% claim came from
On August 17, 2023, Tom’s Hardware reported that Barron’s senior writer Tae Kim cited Raymond James for an estimated $3,320 H100 cost and a $25,000–$30,000 street price for the least-expensive PCIe model. Tom’s Hardware characterized the resulting figure as about 823% “profit percentage,” while noting that headlines rounded it to nearly 1,000%. These were third-party estimates, not NVIDIA disclosures.
The underlying Raymond James analyst note and bill of materials were not publicly available in the material cited by Tom’s Hardware. The report also cautioned that the $3,320 figure’s coverage was unclear: it might reflect manufacturing costs rather than the broader expenses associated with developing and selling the product. Read Tom’s Hardware’s 2023 report.
What the estimates imply mathematically
“Profit percentage” can mean different things. If it means the difference between price and estimated cost divided by estimated cost, the calculation is a markup on cost. Applying that formula to the reported inputs gives:
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
| Estimated PCIe H100 street price | Estimated cost | Difference | Difference as a share of estimated cost | Difference as a share of price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $25,000 | $3,320 | $21,680 | About 653% | About 86.7% |
| $30,000 | $3,320 | $26,680 | About 804% | About 88.9% |
The first percentage is calculated as (price − cost) ÷ cost. The last is calculated as (price − cost) ÷ price, a margin-style calculation. Neither is NVIDIA’s reported profit: both depend on estimates, and the calculation treats the estimated cost as if it were the complete cost of the sale. The source’s reported “about 823%” is not the result at either endpoint of the stated $25,000–$30,000 range when using $3,320 as the cost; it should be understood as the report’s characterization of the estimate, not a reproducible figure from those endpoints.
Why markup is not net profit
A high difference between an estimated manufacturing cost and an estimated selling price does not establish how much a company keeps as net income. The estimate does not establish whether its cost figure includes all relevant costs, and it is not based on NVIDIA’s audited product-level accounts.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
NVIDIA’s fiscal-2025 Form 10-K reports a 75.0% consolidated gross margin for the company, not for the H100. The filing’s cost of revenue includes items such as fabrication, assembly, testing, packaging, boards, memory, shipping, manufacturing support, warranty and inventory provisions. Companywide gross margin also cannot be used to infer the profit on one accelerator. NVIDIA’s financial reports and SEC filings.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What NVIDIA’s filings do establish about H100 demand
NVIDIA reported fiscal-2025 revenue of $130.5 billion and said Data Center growth was driven by Hopper accelerated-computing demand for large language models, recommendation engines and generative-AI applications. The filing establishes strong companywide financial results and describes demand drivers; it does not disclose H100-specific revenue, unit costs or profit.
Rank #3
The filing also lists H100 among products affected by U.S. export licensing rules. Permitted destinations and availability can therefore depend on the date and geography; an estimated street price from 2023 should not be treated as a current universal price.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Rank #4
What to conclude about the $3,320 figure
- It was a real reported estimate: Tom’s Hardware attributed the $3,320 figure to Raymond James through Tae Kim’s reporting in 2023.
- It was not a verified manufacturing cost: the underlying analyst note and bill of materials were not publicly available in the cited material, and the estimate’s cost coverage was unclear.
- It does not prove 1,000% net profit: the headline turns an estimated cost-versus-street-price comparison into language that can be mistaken for audited profitability.
- It is specific to a form factor and period: the reported street-price range concerned the least-expensive PCIe H100 in 2023, not every H100 configuration or market.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




