October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

Intel’s AWS Foundry Deal Explained: What the 18A AI Chip Partnership Really Means

Intel’s AWS agreement combines custom chip design, Intel Foundry manufacturing and Xeon supply. The value, volumes and AWS AI-chip production status remain undisclosed.
From TheFinanceBase Team5 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Intel and Amazon Web Services announced an expanded strategic collaboration on September 16, 2024. The multi-year, multi-billion-dollar framework covers co-investment in custom chip designs, including an AWS AI fabric chip made on Intel 18A and a custom Xeon 6 chip made on Intel 3. Neither company disclosed the contract’s value, wafer volumes, production schedule or the AI chip’s specifications. Intel’s later filings confirm that 18A reached high-volume manufacturing in late 2025, but do not establish that the AWS AI fabric chip is already in volume production.

What Intel and AWS actually announced

The announcement expanded an existing relationship in which Intel supplies Xeon processors used in AWS infrastructure. It added custom-silicon and foundry work rather than announcing an acquisition, joint venture or exclusive agreement.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

AWS program Intel role Process
Custom AI fabric chip Manufacturing for AWS custom silicon, with design collaboration Intel 18A
Custom Xeon 6 chip Custom design and product supply Intel 3

Intel and AWS described the arrangement as a multi-year, multi-billion-dollar framework involving custom designs, Intel products and wafers. The companies did not publish a total contract value, minimum purchase commitment, annual revenue, wafer count or delivery timetable. The official announcements are available from Intel and its investor-relations site.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What an “AI fabric” chip means

In a large AI cluster, the fabric is the high-speed communication layer connecting processors, accelerators, memory and other infrastructure. A fabric chip can handle interconnect or networking functions rather than performing the main neural-network calculations.

#1 Best Overall
Intel XEON 22 CORE Processor E5-2699V4 2.2GHZ 55MB Smart Cache 9.6 GT/S QPI TDP 145W
  • Intel Xeon E5-2699 V4 Docosa-core (22 Core) 2.20 Ghz Processor - Socket Lga 2011-v3 - 5.50 Mb - 55 Mb Cache - 64-bit Processing - 14 Nm - 145 W

AWS and Intel did not disclose the chip’s architecture, die size, interfaces, package, memory, performance targets or whether it is intended for training, inference, cluster networking or another function. There is therefore no basis to call it a general-purpose AI accelerator, a GPU replacement or a product that will be sold outside AWS. “Custom AI infrastructure or interconnect chip” is the most defensible description.

Why Intel 18A is the centerpiece

Intel 18A is the company’s leading-edge process and introduces RibbonFET gate-all-around transistors and PowerVia backside power delivery. Intel’s 2025 Form 10-K says 18A first entered high-volume manufacturing in late 2025 and was being used for Intel products by 2026. The filing also describes the effort to establish 18A with government and commercial foundry customers.

A hyperscaler custom-design program could give Intel experience with AWS’s design flows, validation requirements, packaging and supply planning. It could also provide a reference point for other prospective customers. Those are strategic possibilities, not disclosed revenue or performance results.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Intel CEO Pat Gelsinger said the broader engagement included Intel 18A, 18A-P and 14A. That language describes discussions and additional design opportunities, not three confirmed production awards. His explanation appears in Intel’s foundry commentary.

Why the custom Xeon 6 program matters

Intel 3 is less advanced than 18A and had already entered high-volume manufacturing in 2024. Intel identifies Xeon 6 Scalable processors as being manufactured on that node in its 2025 Form 10-K.

The custom Xeon element extends AWS’s established use of Intel server CPUs and is closer to Intel’s existing product business than the AI fabric project. It should not be confused with AWS’s Arm-based Graviton processors: the announcement concerns a custom Intel Xeon chip, while AWS separately designs its own Arm silicon.

Rank #3
Intel Xeon E5-2690 V4 SR2N2 14-Core 2.6GHz 35MB LGA 2011-3 Processor (Renewed)
  • Total Cores 14
  • Total Threads 28
  • Processor Base Frequency 2.60 GHz
  • Max Turbo Frequency 3.50 GHz
  • Sockets Supported LGA2011-3

Foundry deal, design partnership or product sale?

It is all three in different parts:

  • Foundry: Intel manufactures AWS-designed or jointly developed silicon.
  • Design collaboration: Intel and AWS co-invest in custom chip designs.
  • Product supply: Intel provides a custom Xeon 6 product on Intel 3.
  • Strategic cooperation: both companies linked the relationship to U.S.-based semiconductor manufacturing and AI infrastructure.

That mix is why the announcement is important to Intel Foundry, but it also makes the “multi-billion-dollar” description impossible to translate into a standalone foundry revenue estimate. The release does not say how much of the figure relates to new custom manufacturing, existing Xeon purchases, engineering or other products.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What the Ohio reference does—and does not—prove

Intel said the collaboration would help accelerate chip-manufacturing development in Ohio and support a U.S. semiconductor supply chain. The announcement does not provide a complete production-location schedule or state that all AWS wafers will be made at an Ohio fab.

Ohio support is therefore a strategic and domestic-manufacturing commitment, not confirmation that the AWS AI chip is being produced there. A specific Ohio production claim would require a later first-party statement.

Rank #4
Sale
Intel Xeon E5-2699v4 2.2/55/2400 22C 145 (E5-2699v4) (Renewed)
  • Manufacturer: Intel CPU Frequency: 2.20 GHz CPU Max Turbo Frequency: 3.60 GHz Number of Cores: 22 Threads: 44 Cache: 55 MB Intel Smart Cache Number of UPI Links: 0 Lithography: 14 nm Thermal Design Power: 145 W Memory Types: DDR4 1600/1866/2133/2400 Max Memory Size: 1.5 TB Max # Memory Channels: 4 Sockets Supported: FCLGA2011-3 E5-2699v4

Why AWS matters to Intel’s foundry turnaround

Under Intel’s IDM 2.0 strategy, manufacturing is being repositioned as a standalone foundry business that serves external customers as well as Intel’s own products. AWS is a sophisticated cloud operator and custom-silicon designer, so winning its participation is a meaningful customer signal.

Intel’s 2025 filing also says it had few external customers to date and that foundry growth depends on quality, reliability, yield, process technology, design enablement, packaging and customer trust. The AWS framework is consequently an anchor opportunity, not proof that Intel Foundry has achieved sustainable scale or profitability.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The potential upside

  • A major external customer can validate Intel’s ability to support a hyperscaler design workflow.
  • Meaningful wafer demand could improve capacity utilization and planning.
  • Successful delivery could help Intel win additional government and commercial programs.
  • Packaging and integration work could expand the relationship beyond wafer fabrication.

The execution risks

  • A tape-out, production ramp or qualification could be delayed.
  • Early yield or available capacity might be inadequate.
  • 18A could miss AWS cost, power, performance or schedule targets.
  • Some designs could move to another supplier.
  • Additional 18A-P or 14A discussions might never become production commitments.
  • The value described as multi-billion-dollar could include existing purchases rather than entirely new foundry revenue.

A customer announcement does not independently demonstrate superior transistor performance or economics versus TSMC, on-time delivery, commercial-scale margins or AWS exclusivity.

Best Value
Intel Xeon Gold 6254 Processor 18 Core 3.10GHZ 25MB Cache TDP 200W (CD8069504194501)(Cascade Lake) (OEM Tray Processor) (Renewed)
  • Part Number Identification: CD8069504194501 for easy reference and compatibility verification
  • CPU Series Specification: 2nd Generation Intel Xeon Scalable processor from the Gold 6000 series
  • Processor Frequency: 3.10GHz base clock speed with 18 cores for high-performance computing tasks
  • Package Type: OEM tray processor without retail packaging
  • Cooling Device Notice: Processor only, cooling device not included and must be purchased separately
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What remains undisclosed

  • Total contract value, annual revenue and minimum purchase commitments.
  • Wafer volumes, nonrecurring engineering payments and Intel’s expected margin.
  • The AI fabric chip’s architecture, interfaces, package, memory and performance.
  • Tape-out, first-silicon and production dates.
  • Yield, shipment volume and AWS deployment plans.
  • Whether revenue has been recognized specifically from this framework.
  • Whether the 18A-P and 14A engagement became signed production programs.
  • Whether the AI fabric chip is deployed in AWS data centers or produced in Ohio.

Current status as of August 18, 2026

Intel’s public filings confirm that Intel 3 entered high-volume manufacturing in 2024 and that Intel 18A entered high-volume manufacturing in late 2025. They also continue to describe AWS as part of Intel’s foundry and custom-chip strategy. The first-quarter 2026 filing and the 2025 Form 10-K do not provide a definitive AWS-specific milestone for tape-out, volume shipments, yield or deployment.

Accordingly, the public record supports “18A is in high-volume manufacturing” but not “AWS’s AI fabric chip is confirmed to be shipping at volume.”

How to interpret the deal

The September 2024 framework is a substantial strategic endorsement of Intel Foundry and a practical extension of AWS’s Intel relationship. Its decisive test is execution: Intel must deliver competitive performance, power, yield, capacity, schedule and economics for AWS at scale. Until the companies disclose those results, the arrangement is best treated as a high-value strategic framework and potential anchor customer—not a quantified, guaranteed revenue contract or proof that Intel has completed its foundry turnaround.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 3
Intel Xeon E5-2690 V4 SR2N2 14-Core 2.6GHz 35MB LGA 2011-3 Processor (Renewed)
Intel Xeon E5-2690 V4 SR2N2 14-Core 2.6GHz 35MB LGA 2011-3 Processor (Renewed)
Total Cores 14; Total Threads 28; Processor Base Frequency 2.60 GHz; Max Turbo Frequency 3.50 GHz
$55.00
Bestseller No. 5
Intel Xeon Gold 6254 Processor 18 Core 3.10GHZ 25MB Cache TDP 200W (CD8069504194501)(Cascade Lake) (OEM Tray Processor) (Renewed)
Intel Xeon Gold 6254 Processor 18 Core 3.10GHZ 25MB Cache TDP 200W (CD8069504194501)(Cascade Lake) (OEM Tray Processor) (Renewed)
Package Type: OEM tray processor without retail packaging; Cache Memory: 25MB cache for improved data processing and system responsiveness
$174.00

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.