Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

IIT BTech Placement Rates Fell at 22 of 23 Institutes Between 2021–22 and 2023–24

Reported BTech placement rates fell at 22 of 23 IITs from 2021–22 to 2023–24, with drops greater than 10 percentage points at 15 institutes.
From TheFinanceBase Team2 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Reported BTech placement rates fell between 2021–22 and 2023–24 at 22 of India’s 23 IITs; 15 institutes saw drops greater than 10 percentage points. The comparison is retrospective and does not describe placement outcomes in 2026.

What the comparison shows

The figures were reported as Centre data submitted to the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Education, Women, Children, Youth and Sports. Scroll’s 27 March 2025 report reproduced institute-level rates in its search-result extract, and The Indian Express separately corroborated the 22-of-23 finding. The underlying government submission or committee report is not available in these reports for independent verification, so the figures should be understood as reported data rather than an independently audited dataset.

A percentage-point change is the arithmetic difference between two rates, not a relative percentage decline. For example, IIT Dharwad’s rate moved from 90.2% to 65.56%, a 24.64-percentage-point fall.

Which IITs had the largest reported changes?

The reported institute-level figures illustrate both the size of some declines and the importance of considering starting and ending rates together.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
IIT 2021–22 rate 2023–24 rate Change
IIT Dharwad 90.2% 65.56% −24.64 percentage points
IIT Delhi not stated (Scroll, 27 March 2025) not stated (Scroll, 27 March 2025) −14.88 percentage points
IIT Bombay not stated (Scroll, 27 March 2025) not stated (Scroll, 27 March 2025) −12.72 percentage points
IIT Madras not stated (Scroll, 27 March 2025) not stated (Scroll, 27 March 2025) −12.42 percentage points
IIT Kanpur not stated (Scroll, 27 March 2025) not stated (Scroll, 27 March 2025) −11.15 percentage points
IIT (BHU)-Varanasi 83.15% 88.04% +4.89 percentage points

Scroll identified Dharwad as having the sharpest reported decline and IIT (BHU)-Varanasi as the only institute whose reported rate increased. A decline’s size alone is not a full ranking of placement outcomes: the baseline and final rate matter too. The available reported figures give Dharwad’s two endpoints, but not the endpoints for the older IITs listed above.

Why did IIT placement rates fall?

This comparison does not establish a cause. It records changes in reported rates, but the available reporting does not explain the denominator, the placement window, how students pursuing further study or start-up ventures were counted, or whether all IITs used identical rules. Those details matter when interpreting differences across institutes and years.

The committee reportedly noted that placements depend on market trends and urged the Department of Higher Education to consider measures to improve employability. Scroll’s extract also reports that the committee flagged an “unusual decline.” These are committee observations and recommendations, not proof that a particular market condition or policy caused the rate changes.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Did placements recover after 2023–24?

A later Indian Express report says IIT placements improved after the 2023–24 slump but remained below the 2021–22 mark. Its available summary does not give institute-level rates or enough detail to quantify the recovery, so it supports only that broad direction—not a claim that every IIT recovered by the same amount.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.