Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

IBA or FAST Karachi for BS Computer Science: How to Decide With the Published Facts

Admitted to both IBA Karachi and FAST Karachi for BS Computer Science? Published curriculum, Fall 2026 fee rates and admissions facts, plus what you still have to find out yourself.
From TheFinanceBase Team6 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If you have been admitted to both IBA Karachi and FAST Karachi for BS Computer Science, the published record can settle part of the decision and cannot settle the rest. Official pages show how each degree is structured, what each university charges per credit hour for the Fall 2026 intake, and how IBA handles admissions for this degree. They do not show how the teaching feels, how heavy the workload is, what the campus is like day to day, or how graduates fare. This article separates those two groups so you can see where a choice can rest on facts and where it has to rest on your own priorities.

What each degree requires on paper

The two programs are described in different formats, so the figures are not a like-for-like count. IBA Karachi’s course-outline page for BS Computer Science presents a four-year, 135-unit degree. FAST-NUCES’s 2025 prospectus sets a minimum of 137 credit hours for its BS Computer Science. Read the two numbers as the official requirement each institution publishes, not as a measure of which degree is harder.

Item IBA Karachi (course-outline page) FAST-NUCES Karachi (Prospectus 2025)
Total requirement 135 units, four years At least 137 credit hours
Published component breakdown General education 19; CS core 56; CS electives 21; program core 21; general electives 9 Not stated in the prospectus summary reviewed
Named computing courses Not named in the course-outline figures reviewed Programming Fundamentals, Object Oriented Programming, Data Structures, Operating Systems, Algorithms, Networks, Software Engineering
Scope of the source Program-level course outline Institution-level prospectus; Karachi section delivery not confirmed by it

IBA: the component figures do not add up to 135

IBA’s published components are general education (19), CS core (56), CS electives (21), program core (21) and general electives (9). Those five figures total 126, not 135, and the nine-unit difference is not explained in the figures reported. Treat the breakdown as indicative until IBA confirms it. The breakdown does show that roughly 30 of the listed units are electives: 21 in computer science and 9 general. Program core and general education come from supporting disciplines. That is a description of the listed structure. It does not, on its own, tell you whether the degree is more business-oriented or less technical than FAST’s, and it should not be read that way.

FAST: a clear computing sequence, with the elective share unstated

FAST’s prospectus names a computing sequence that starts with Programming Fundamentals and Object Oriented Programming, moves through Data Structures and Operating Systems, and includes Algorithms, Networks and Software Engineering. The document does not state how many units are electives or how the remaining credits are split, so you cannot compare elective room on the same terms as IBA’s listing. Ask the Karachi campus for the current course plan you would actually follow.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Fees: per-credit rates, not a total cost

The two universities publish tuition differently, and the difference matters when you compare.

Cost item IBA Karachi, BS Computer Sciences FAST-NUCES Karachi, BS Computer Science
Tuition rate PKR 31,500 per credit hour, Fall 2026 admission PKR 12,000 per credit hour, effective Fall 2026
Other charges Not stated in the fee statement reviewed Student activity charges, amount not stated in the fee statement reviewed
Rate revisions IBA says fees are generally announced once per academic year Not stated in the fee statement reviewed
Scholarships and aid Not stated in the fee statement reviewed Not stated in the fee statement reviewed
Transport and housing Not included in the fee statement Not included in the fee statement

To make the gap concrete, take a single 15-credit term as an example load. At IBA’s rate that is PKR 472,500 in tuition; at FAST’s rate it is PKR 180,000, a difference of PKR 292,500 before any activity charge, one-time fee, transport, housing or aid. Fifteen credits is only an illustration. Your actual term load, the number of terms you need, and any repeated courses will change the total.

A full four-year figure is deliberately not calculated here. Multiplying each rate by the minimum credit count would ignore activity and one-time charges, possible fee revisions, aid, and any extra or repeated courses, and each of those can change the result. Build your own estimate with these steps:

  1. Take the credit load for each term from the current course plan for your intake.
  2. Multiply by the current per-credit rate, using the Fall 2026 figures above or the rate in force when you enrol.
  3. Add the activity charges and one-time fees from each university’s current fee notice.
  4. Add transport or housing you would actually use, and subtract any scholarship or aid you have been offered in writing.
  5. Repeat the calculation for a term you expect to fail or repeat a course, so the buffer is visible.

Budget for hardware separately. Both programs include programming coursework, so a laptop for programming coursework is a reasonable line item. Neither published source sets a laptop requirement or specification.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Admissions: process, not selectivity

IBA’s admissions schedule places BS CS/Math under its School of Mathematics and Computer Science and states that interviews are not applicable to BSCS. FAST’s official program listing confirms that BS Computer Science is offered at Karachi. The sources reviewed do not describe FAST’s admission test, merit formula or cut-offs, so check those on FAST’s admissions pages before comparing routes. Because you have already received offers, the route matters mainly for future cohorts or for re-applying. Neither fact tells you how selective either program is, and it would be wrong to read an interview rule as a sign of quality.

Campus, commute and daily life

Public records do not establish what the campuses are like. Commute time, class timings and access to labs late in the day depend on where you live and how each university schedules its sections. Check these directly:

  • Door-to-door travel time at the hours your classes would run, not the average on a map.
  • Whether your timetable would include early or late sections, and how often they change between terms.
  • Access to computer labs and library hours during exam periods.
  • Transport options, including cost and reliability at peak times.

Teaching, workload and peer culture

These are the parts of the decision the official pages cannot reach. Online comments from individual students are useful as prompts but do not represent a typical experience at either university. A discussion thread where someone asks whether to choose IBA or FAST for computer science shows that the question is common; it does not show which answer most students reach.

Better evidence comes from:

  • Current students in the specific section and semester you would join, asked about weekly hours spent on assignments.
  • Recent graduates of the program who can describe what they used from the degree.
  • Course outlines and assessment breakdowns for the courses you would take first, especially programming and data structures.
  • Sitting in on a class or observing a lab session if the university allows it.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which factors should decide it

The published facts point in different directions, so the choice depends on what you weigh most.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Lean toward IBA if you want a degree whose published structure includes a larger share of general and elective units alongside computing, and the higher per-credit tuition fits your budget after the full cost check above.
  • Lean toward FAST if the lower per-credit rate is the deciding factor, you want a computing sequence whose named courses match your goals, and the commute and daily timetable work for you.
  • Look again if the fee notice you receive differs from the published rate, or if the course plan for your intake does not match the summaries above.

Whichever way you lean, confirm the current fee notice, admissions calendar and course plan with each university before you pay a deposit. Fee schedules and curriculum pages change, and the figures above reflect the sources as published with Fall 2026 dates and the 2025 FAST prospectus.

Nothing in the published record makes either university the better choice for every student. The record narrows the question to your budget, your timetable and what you want from the coursework; those answers are yours to establish.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.