October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

How to Choose RAM and Storage for an AI PC

Copilot+ minimums are a starting point, not a universal ideal. Choose RAM for your applications and multitasking, and storage for what you keep on the PC.
From TheFinanceBase Team9 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a Windows Copilot+ PC, Microsoft’s current minimum is 16 GB of DDR5 or LPDDR5 memory and 256 GB of SSD or UFS storage, alongside a compatible NPU rated at 40+ TOPS. Those figures qualify a PC for the Copilot+ designation; they do not guarantee that every AI app, local model, or multitasking workload will fit comfortably. Choose RAM for the work you run at the same time, and storage for the software and files you keep on the device.

Microsoft’s buying guidance gives AI enthusiasts a starting range of 16 GB or more of RAM and 256 GB to 1 TB or more of storage. Its gaming guidance suggests 512 GB to 2 TB or more for games and other local files. These are contextual recommendations, not a universal ideal. Your planned applications, offline needs, and upgrade options should decide where in those ranges to land.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

RAM and storage solve different problems

RAM is the computer’s short-term working space. Windows, open applications, browser tabs, and active tasks use it while they run. When available memory is tight, the system may have less room to keep those tasks readily accessible. This can make multitasking less comfortable, but buying more RAM does not automatically make every AI feature faster: software may use the CPU, GPU, NPU, or a cloud service in different ways.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Storage is longer-term space for Windows, applications, downloaded models, datasets, games, media, and personal files. An SSD or UFS drive can keep those items on the computer, including when you are offline. A larger drive does not substitute for RAM: it gives you more room to store things, not more working memory for running them.

#1 Best Overall
Crucial 32GB DDR5 RAM Kit (2x16GB), 5600MHz (or 5200MHz or 4800MHz) Laptop Memory 262-Pin SODIMM, Compatible with Intel Core and AMD Ryzen 7000, Black - CT2K16G56C46S5
  • Boosts System Performance: 32GB DDR5 RAM laptop memory kit (2x16GB) that operates at 5600MHz, 5200MHz, or 4800MHz to improve multitasking and system responsiveness for smoother performance
  • Accelerated gaming performance: Every millisecond gained in fast-paced gameplay counts—power through heavy workloads and benefit from versatile downclocking and higher frame rates
  • Optimized DDR5 compatibility: Best for 12th Gen Intel Core and AMD Ryzen 7000 Series processors — Intel XMP 3.0 and AMD EXPO also supported on the same RAM module
  • Trusted Micron Quality: Backed by 42 years of memory expertise, this DDR5 RAM is rigorously tested at both component and module levels, ensuring top performance and reliability
  • ECC Type = Non-ECC, Form Factor = SODIMM, Pin Count = 262-Pin, PC Speed = PC5-44800, Voltage = 1.1V, Rank And Configuration = 1Rx8

Microsoft lists memory and storage as separate Copilot+ PC requirements. Treat them as two separate decisions: estimate what must be open and active to choose RAM, then estimate what you intend to keep locally to choose storage.

Start by separating the Copilot+ floor from your workload

Microsoft’s current Windows specifications list a minimum of 16 GB DDR5 or LPDDR5 RAM and 256 GB SSD or UFS storage for a Copilot+ PC. The same designation also calls for a compatible NPU capable of 40+ TOPS. That NPU figure describes AI processing capability; it is not a RAM or storage recommendation. AMD’s guide to choosing an AI PC also gives at least 16 GB RAM and a 256 GB-or-larger SSD for Copilot+ PCs, but Microsoft is the primary source for its Windows designation.

Passing this floor means a device meets the listed capacity thresholds for the designation. It does not establish that a third-party AI application will run well, that a local model will fit, or that the machine will have enough room for your library of games and files. Microsoft notes that individual features, apps, and hardware can have additional requirements. Check the requirements for the tools you expect to use rather than treating the label “AI PC” as a universal workload guarantee.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Microsoft’s AI enthusiast buying guide recommends 16 GB or more of RAM and 256 GB to 1 TB or more of storage. Its gaming guidance recommends 512 GB to 2 TB or more for gaming and locally stored files. The ranges provide a useful starting point, but neither promises a specific amount of free space after Windows, applications, and other system files are installed.

Choose RAM for the work you actually do

When 16 GB may be a reasonable starting point

If the applications you use support it, 16 GB meets Microsoft’s current Copilot+ memory threshold and its AI enthusiast guidance begins at 16 GB. That makes it a defensible starting point for a buyer whose planned software requirements, multitasking habits, and local AI use do not call for more. It is not a guarantee that any particular workload will be comfortable at that capacity.

Rank #2
Crucial 16GB DDR5 RAM, 4800MHz CL40 Laptop Memory, SODIMM 262-Pin Module, Compatible with 12th Gen Intel Core - CT16G48C40S5
  • Boosts System Performance: 16GB DDR5 RAM laptop memory that operates at 4800MHz to improve multitasking and system responsiveness for smoother performance
  • Accelerated gaming performance: Every millisecond gained in fast-paced gameplay counts—power through heavy workloads and benefit from versatile downclocking and higher frame rates
  • Optimized DDR5 compatibility: Best for 12th Gen Intel Core and AMD Ryzen 7000 Series processors — Intel XMP 3.0 and AMD EXPO also supported on the same RAM module
  • Trusted Micron Quality: Backed by 42 years of memory expertise, this DDR5 RAM is rigorously tested at both component and module levels, ensuring top performance and reliability
  • ECC type = non-ECC, form factor = SODIMM, pin count = 262-pin, PC speed = PC5-38400, voltage = 1.1V, rank and configuration = 1Rx8

Before deciding, list the applications and tasks you expect to use together. A single lightweight task and a mix of several demanding applications place different demands on working memory. Look up the requirements for the actual software you plan to run, including any local AI tool or model. If an app specifies more memory than the PC has, the Copilot+ designation does not override that requirement.

When to consider more than the minimum

Consider a higher-capacity configuration when the applications you rely on call for it, when you routinely keep many demanding tasks open, or when a local AI workload has a stated memory requirement above the minimum. Use the application’s documentation as the deciding evidence: the available guidance does not establish one higher RAM figure that is ideal for every AI PC owner.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a local AI workflow, distinguish the application’s RAM requirement from any separate GPU or NPU requirements. A machine can meet the Copilot+ memory threshold while still falling short of another component requirement for a particular tool. Do not assume that increasing RAM alone will compensate for an unsupported processor, GPU, NPU, or software configuration.

Check memory type and upgradeability before paying for less now

Microsoft specifies DDR5 or LPDDR5 for the Copilot+ memory threshold. Those memory labels alone do not tell you whether a laptop uses replaceable modules, how many slots it has, or what capacity it supports. Some designs have memory soldered to the board; the available general buying guidance does not establish the upgrade path for any specific model.

If you are considering a lower-capacity configuration with a plan to upgrade later, verify that plan against the manufacturer’s documentation for the exact model and configuration. Confirm whether memory is soldered or replaceable, supported type and maximum capacity, and any service or warranty implications of opening the device. If those details are not clear, do not include a future RAM upgrade in your budget as though it were assured.

Rank #3
A-Tech 16GB DDR5 5600MHz PC5-44800 CL46 SODIMM 1.1V Non-ECC Unbuffered SO-DIMM 262-Pin Laptop Computer RAM Memory Upgrade Module
  • A-Tech RAM Memory compatible for select DDR5 Laptop, Notebook, Mini PC, and All-in-One (AIO) Computers
  • Single 16GB RAM Module; DDR5 SO-DIMM 262 Pin; Speeds up to 5600MHz PC5-44800 (PC5-5600B)
  • NON-ECC Unbuffered; JEDEC DDR5 standard 1.1V
  • Improves system speed, performance, and reduces bottlenecks by increasing memory RAM resources
  • Quick and easy to install, no expertise required

Choose storage based on what stays on the PC

Estimate the local library, not just the Windows installation

Start with the operating system and applications, then account for the files you expect to keep on the device: local AI models, datasets, games, photos, video, downloads, and active work. A PC used mainly with cloud-based files can need less local capacity than one intended to hold a large media library or remain useful offline. Microsoft’s AI enthusiast guidance spans 256 GB to 1 TB or more, while its gaming guidance spans 512 GB to 2 TB or more. Those ranges reflect different uses, not a promise that one capacity will suit every buyer.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Capacity printed on a product listing is not all available for personal files. Windows, installed applications, and system data take space, and your own additions reduce what remains. The cited recommendations do not state the usable capacity after setup, so check the device’s storage and software details rather than assuming the full advertised amount will be free.

Use cloud storage as part of the calculation, not as a substitute for every local need

Cloud storage can reduce how much of your document, photo, or other file library needs to reside on the PC, which may make a smaller drive workable for a cloud-first routine. But a cloud copy is not the same as a local copy when you need a file without an internet connection. Also account for local applications, downloads, working files, and any model or media you plan to keep on the device.

Decide which files must be available offline before choosing a smaller drive. If you travel, work in places with unreliable connectivity, or use large local files, prioritize enough local space for those needs. If you depend on cloud access, consider how you will work when the connection is unavailable; the buying guidance does not specify a cloud service, plan, or amount of storage to assume.

Local AI models change the storage question

A model or dataset stored on the PC occupies device storage, while a cloud-hosted AI service may not require that same local model library. The appropriate capacity therefore depends on how the software delivers its AI features and what you plan to download. Check the documentation for each intended tool for its model and data storage needs. The general Copilot+ minimum does not state how much space a particular third-party model requires.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Samsung 16GB DDR5 5600MHz PC5-44800 CL46 SODIMM 1Rx8 Single Rank 1.1V 262-Pin Laptop RAM Memory M425R2GA3BB0-CWM
  • Samsung DDR5 Memory RAM | Part Number: M425R2GA3BB0-CWM
  • Single 16 GB RAM Module; DDR5 SO-DIMM 262-Pin; Speeds up to 5600 MHz, PC5-44800 (PC5-5600B)
  • NON-ECC Unbuffered; 1Rx8 (Single Rank x8); JEDEC DDR5 standard 1.1V
  • Compatible for select Laptop, Notebook Computers
  • Expands your system's available memory resource improving performance, reducing bottlenecks, and increasing workload capacity

Do not infer that a model will fit solely because a PC is called an AI PC, or that a larger SSD will satisfy its compute and memory requirements. Storage capacity, RAM, and the processor or accelerator are separate constraints. Confirm all requirements for the same software and workflow.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Compare the practical choices

Choice What the evidence establishes Best way to decide
16 GB RAM Meets Microsoft’s current Copilot+ memory threshold and the starting point of its AI enthusiast recommendation. Check the requirements of your applications and the amount of concurrent work you expect.
More than 16 GB RAM Microsoft recommends 16 GB or more for AI enthusiasts; the guidance does not give a universal ideal above that. Choose a higher capacity when named application requirements or your intended workload justify it.
256 GB storage Meets Microsoft’s current Copilot+ storage threshold and the lower end of its AI enthusiast range. Estimate the operating system, apps, and files you need locally; do not assume all advertised capacity remains free.
512 GB to 2 TB or more Microsoft’s gaming guidance recommends this range for games and other files stored locally. Use it as context if you keep a substantial local library; determine your own need from what you plan to install and retain.
Cloud-first storage habits Microsoft’s buying guidance recognizes cloud storage as a way to reduce local storage needs. Decide which files must remain accessible offline and include them in the local-space estimate.

The figures in the table describe Microsoft’s requirements and buying recommendations, accessed in 2026; they are not independent workload benchmarks. The capacity a particular application needs must come from that application’s own current documentation.

Use this buying process before choosing a configuration

  1. Identify the designation you need. If you specifically want a Windows Copilot+ PC, compare the model’s specifications with Microsoft’s current requirements for memory, storage, and a compatible NPU. Do not treat the RAM and drive figures as the complete requirements.
  2. List the software you intend to run. Include AI applications, local model tools, creative or work software, and games. Look up each application’s stated requirements, especially memory, storage, and any processor or accelerator requirements.
  3. Choose RAM against the combined workload. Consider what will be open at the same time, not just the requirements of one application in isolation. Where software requirements or planned local AI work call for more than the Copilot+ floor, use that information to select capacity.
  4. Estimate local storage. Account for Windows, applications, local models and datasets, games, media, downloads, and files you need offline. Use the manufacturer’s storage details to understand the configuration, and leave room for the system and software rather than treating the listed capacity as entirely available for personal data.
  5. Factor in cloud use and connectivity. Reduce your local estimate only for files you are comfortable accessing through cloud storage. Identify what you still need offline, including when you travel or lose a connection.
  6. Verify the upgrade path for the exact model. Consult its manufacturer specifications and service documentation for whether RAM is soldered, supported memory type and capacity, SSD form factor and interface, and any service-coverage conditions. Do not buy a generic replacement component based only on “DDR5” or a drive capacity.
  7. Compare complete configurations and cost. Compare the price of the configuration you need now with a less expensive option only if a later upgrade is documented as possible and fits your budget. No general price or upgrade cost applies across AI PCs, so use the exact model’s current listing and compatible component details.

Common buying mistakes to avoid

  • Calling the minimum the optimum. The 16 GB and 256 GB figures are Copilot+ thresholds, not proof that every user or application is best served by those capacities.
  • Buying storage to solve a RAM constraint. More drive space helps store files and software; it does not increase working memory for active tasks.
  • Buying RAM to solve a storage constraint. More memory does not create room for downloaded models, games, media, or personal files.
  • Assuming “AI PC” means every AI feature runs locally. AI features can rely on different components or cloud services, and individual apps may set additional requirements.
  • Assuming a future upgrade will be simple. Memory may be soldered, and an SSD’s form factor or interface must match the device. Verify both before basing a purchase on a planned upgrade.
  • Confusing advertised capacity with free space. The system and applications also use storage. Plan around what remains available after setup rather than the capacity label alone.

Sources and scope

Microsoft’s “Windows 11 Specs and System Requirements” provides the Copilot+ minimums and NPU qualification. Microsoft’s “PC and Laptop Buying Guide: Find the Right Computer” provides the AI enthusiast and gaming storage guidance. AMD’s “How to Choose the Right AI PC” repeats the Copilot+ RAM and SSD thresholds. The figures cited here are those vendors’ requirements and recommendations, accessed in 2026; they do not establish a universal ideal capacity or independent performance benchmark.

Upgradeability, supported components, and service conditions are model-specific. Since no individual PC model is being assessed, verify those details with that manufacturer before choosing a configuration or buying replacement parts.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 3
A-Tech 16GB DDR5 5600MHz PC5-44800 CL46 SODIMM 1.1V Non-ECC Unbuffered SO-DIMM 262-Pin Laptop Computer RAM Memory Upgrade Module
A-Tech 16GB DDR5 5600MHz PC5-44800 CL46 SODIMM 1.1V Non-ECC Unbuffered SO-DIMM 262-Pin Laptop Computer RAM Memory Upgrade Module
Single 16GB RAM Module; DDR5 SO-DIMM 262 Pin; Speeds up to 5600MHz PC5-44800 (PC5-5600B); NON-ECC Unbuffered; JEDEC DDR5 standard 1.1V
$244.99
Bestseller No. 4
Samsung 16GB DDR5 5600MHz PC5-44800 CL46 SODIMM 1Rx8 Single Rank 1.1V 262-Pin Laptop RAM Memory M425R2GA3BB0-CWM
Samsung 16GB DDR5 5600MHz PC5-44800 CL46 SODIMM 1Rx8 Single Rank 1.1V 262-Pin Laptop RAM Memory M425R2GA3BB0-CWM
Samsung DDR5 Memory RAM | Part Number: M425R2GA3BB0-CWM; NON-ECC Unbuffered; 1Rx8 (Single Rank x8); JEDEC DDR5 standard 1.1V
$267.50

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.