The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Microsoft 365 Basic costs $1.99 per month or $19.99 per year in the United States, and includes 100 GB of storage shared across OneDrive, Outlook.com attachments, and Microsoft 365 apps. Google One Basic offers the same headline capacity—100 GB—but shares it across Google Photos, Drive, and Gmail. The better fit depends less on the number of gigabytes than on which services you use and what else you want bundled with storage.
What Microsoft 365 Basic costs and includes
Microsoft’s U.S. plans page lists Microsoft 365 Basic at $1.99 per month or $19.99 per year. These are recurring subscription prices, and Microsoft says subscriptions automatically renew unless canceled. Check the plan page for your market and billing term before signing up, since prices and terms can change. Microsoft 365 plans and pricing
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Basic is a one-person plan. Microsoft lists 100 GB of cloud storage and 100 GB of mailbox storage, along with secure storage, ransomware protection, ad-free email, and support. Its 100 GB cloud allowance is shared across OneDrive files and photos, Outlook.com attachments, and Microsoft 365 apps; it is not an additional 100 GB reserved exclusively for OneDrive. Microsoft 365 plans and pricing How Microsoft storage works
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsBasic should not be confused with a plan that includes the desktop versions of Word, Excel, and PowerPoint. Microsoft describes those apps under higher subscription tiers, not in the Basic feature list. Microsoft 365 plans and pricing
#1 Best Overall
- Easily store and access 2TB to content on the go with the Seagate Portable Drive, a USB external hard drive
- Designed to work with Windows or Mac computers, this external hard drive makes backup a snap just drag and drop
- To get set up, connect the portable hard drive to a computer for automatic recognition no software required
- This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable
- The available storage capacity may vary.
How its 100 GB compares with Google One Basic
Google One Basic is a useful capacity comparison: Google’s official plan page lists 100 GB shared across Google Photos, Drive, and Gmail. The page available for this comparison is UK-localized and displays prices in euros, so it does not establish Google One’s U.S. price. Compare the shared storage model, not a U.S.-to-UK price. Google One plans (UK)
| Plan | Price established here | Storage | Services using the storage | People | Other listed benefits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft 365 Basic | $1.99 monthly or $19.99 yearly on Microsoft’s U.S. plans page, accessed October 4, 2026; recurring subscription that auto-renews unless canceled. Microsoft | 100 GB cloud storage; Microsoft also lists 100 GB mailbox storage. | OneDrive files and photos, Outlook.com attachments, and Microsoft 365 apps share the Microsoft storage allowance. Microsoft storage FAQ | One person; Basic storage cannot be shared. Microsoft storage FAQ | Secure storage, ransomware protection, ad-free email, and support, according to Microsoft’s U.S. plan listing. |
| Google One Basic | U.S. price not established by the UK-localized page used here. | 100 GB. | Google Photos, Drive, and Gmail share the allowance. Google One plans (UK) | Not stated on the cited plan page. | Not stated on the cited plan page. |
The capacity is comparable, but the quota follows the ecosystem: Microsoft combines OneDrive with Outlook.com and its apps, while Google combines Photos, Drive, and Gmail. Think about which account is already holding your files, photos, and email before choosing; moving to a provider whose apps you do not use may make the headline capacity less useful.
Rank #2
- Easily store and access 5TB of content on the go with the Seagate portable drive, a USB external hard Drive
- Designed to work with Windows or Mac computers, this external hard drive makes backup a snap just drag and drop
- To get set up, connect the portable hard drive to a computer for automatic recognition software required
- This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable
- The available storage capacity may vary.
Which plan is a better fit?
Choose Microsoft 365 Basic if
- You want more room for OneDrive and Outlook.com under one Microsoft subscription.
- You use Microsoft services and value the listed security, ad-free email, and support benefits.
- You are comfortable with a one-person plan and a shared quota rather than 100 GB for OneDrive alone.
Consider Google One Basic if
- Your files, photos, and email primarily live in Google Drive, Google Photos, and Gmail.
- You want 100 GB shared across those Google services.
- You can verify the price and terms for your own country; the cited plan page is UK-localized and does not establish the U.S. price.
These are not enough details to rank every cloud storage service. Current U.S. prices and terms for other providers such as Apple or Dropbox are not established here, so a precise price comparison with them would be unreliable.
Recommended Free Tools
What happens if you cancel Microsoft 365 Basic?
Microsoft says cancellation returns the storage allowance to 5 GB. If the account’s usage is above that free allowance, it cannot upload, edit, or sync new OneDrive files, and the user cannot send or receive Outlook.com email until usage is brought within the available limit or the subscription is restored. Microsoft storage FAQ
Rank #3
- Easily store and access 1TB to content on the go with the Seagate Portable Drive, a USB external hard drive.Specific uses: Personal
- Designed to work with Windows or Mac computers, this external hard drive makes backup a snap just drag and drop. Reformatting may be required for Mac
- To get set up, connect the portable hard drive to a computer for automatic recognition no software required
- This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable
- The available storage capacity may vary.
Before canceling, review the account’s storage use across OneDrive, Outlook.com attachments, and Microsoft 365 apps. If it exceeds 5 GB, plan how to reduce or move data so that files and email are not left above the free allowance.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- [Upgraded Version] - This external hard drive features a mirrored logo stripe combined with a striped anti-slip design, and the rounded corners of the casing make it easier to grip. The stripes also have a heat dissipation function, ensuring stable and fast data transfer.
- 【Ultra-thin and quiet】 - The motherboard adopts JMicron 578 noise-free solution, giving you a quiet working environment. Lightweight and portable size designed to fit in your pocket for easy portability.
- 【Ultra-Fast Data Transfers】 - Pairing this external hard drive with JMicron 578 solution USB 3.0 and USB 2.0 interfaces enables blazing-fast data transfer. It boasts theoretical read speeds of up to 125MB/s and write speeds of up to 103MB/s.
- 【Plug and Play】 - With no software to install, just plug it in and the drive is ready to use.The hard disk chip is wrapped with an aluminum anti-interference layer to increase heat dissipation and protect data.
- 【What You Get】 - 1 x Portable Hard Drive, 1 x USB 3.0 Cable, 1 x User Manual, Gift-type shell packaging ,Three-year manufacturer's warranty and free technical support services.
Rank #4
- Easily store and access 4TB of content on the go with the Seagate Portable Drive, a USB external hard drive.Specific uses: Personal
- Designed to work with Windows or Mac computers, this external hard drive makes backup a snap just drag and drop
- To get set up, connect the portable hard drive to a computer for automatic recognition no software required
- This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable
- The available storage capacity may vary.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




