Recommended Free Tools
Flink raised $150 million in September 2024, but the round’s “nearly $1 billion” valuation was not a company disclosure: TechCrunch attributed that estimate to people close to the company. The funding combined $115 million in equity with $35 million in debt. Flink later announced around US$100 million in growth capital in 2026, while a separate report again placed it near a billion dollars without giving an exact valuation.
What Flink raised in September 2024
TechCrunch reported on September 16, 2024, that Flink had secured $150 million in total financing: $115 million in equity and $35 million in debt. The equity component represented new investment in the company; the debt was borrowing rather than an additional equity stake.
The publicly named investors were BOND, Mubadala, Northzone and REWE. TechCrunch also reported participation by two investors whose names were not disclosed. The report said it was not known whether Just Eat Takeaway.com was one of those unnamed investors. TechCrunch’s account of the 2024 round did not disclose a company-confirmed valuation.
Where the “nearly $1 billion” valuation came from
The nearly-$1-billion figure was an estimate attributed by TechCrunch to sources close to Flink. It was not a valuation published by Flink or a confirmed price disclosed by the investors. Private-company valuations are often inferred from financing terms or people familiar with a deal, and the exact figure can remain confidential. Accordingly, the reported estimate should not be treated as a verified market value or a precise measure of what Flink was worth.
#1 Best Overall
- If you want to build a better future, you must believe in secrets.
- The great secret of our time is that there are still uncharted frontiers to explore and new inventions to create. In Zero to One, legendary entrepreneur and investor Peter Thiel shows how we can find singular ways to create those new things.
TechCrunch also reported that Flink expected gross revenue of $600 million in 2024 and an average order value of $40. Those were expectations and company-provided figures at the time, not verified current results.
How the 2024 financing compares with the 2026 round
In March 2026, investor Prosus announced around US$100 million in growth capital for Flink, led by Prosus and other existing investors, with Btomorrow Ventures joining as a new investor. Prosus said the financing would support targeted expansion and operations in Germany and the Netherlands. Handelsblatt separately reported that the round again put Flink near a billion-dollar valuation, based on people familiar with negotiations; it did not report an exact figure.
Rank #2
| Detail | September 2024 round | March 2026 round |
|---|---|---|
| Reported financing | $150 million total: $115 million equity and $35 million debt, according to TechCrunch. | Around US$100 million in growth capital, announced by Prosus. |
| Investors identified | BOND, Mubadala, Northzone and REWE; two additional investors were unnamed, according to TechCrunch. | Prosus and other existing investors led the round; Btomorrow Ventures joined, according to Prosus. |
| Valuation | Just under $1 billion, attributed by TechCrunch to sources close to Flink; not a company-confirmed figure. | Near a billion dollars, according to Handelsblatt sources familiar with negotiations; exact valuation not stated. |
| Geographic focus | TechCrunch reported a focus on Germany and the Netherlands after Flink exited France. | Prosus said the funding supports Germany and the Netherlands, with planned hub openings in selected German regions. |
The two valuation reports are not precise company disclosures, so they do not establish that Flink’s valuation was unchanged between rounds. Nor should the financing totals be read as directly equivalent: TechCrunch specified the 2024 equity-and-debt split, while Prosus described the 2026 amount as growth capital.
What Flink’s current operating figures say—and do not say
Prosus said Flink had confirmed profitability at the EBITDA level and reported approximately 160 hubs, more than 10,000 employees, service reach to over 22.5 million people, an average basket above €45 and average delivery time of about 30 minutes. These are figures from an investor announcement, not independently audited metrics established by the cited account. EBITDA-level profitability also does not by itself mean the company is profitable after interest, taxes, depreciation and amortization, or that it generates positive cash flow.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Rank #3
Flink’s model relies on a network of local “dark stores,” a narrower product range than a conventional supermarket, and rapid delivery. In 2024, TechCrunch described the segment as facing consolidation and retreat; Flink had exited France and concentrated on Germany and the Netherlands. Prosus’s later description of targeted operations in those two countries is consistent with that narrower geographic focus.
Why the financing story matters to customers and investors
For customers, funding and reported valuation do not guarantee that a service will remain available in a particular area, deliver within a particular time, or maintain its current assortment. The 2026 hub and service-reach figures describe company operations at that time; they are not a promise of coverage for any individual address.
Rank #4
For investors, the reported valuation is not a public share price: Flink is privately held, and the cited reports provide no exact company-confirmed valuation or detailed terms for either round. The most concrete takeaway is the capital raised and its stated strategic purpose—supporting Flink’s focused operations in Germany and the Netherlands—rather than a precise valuation multiple.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What Flink says its operating strategy is
In Prosus’s 2026 investor announcement, Flink CEO Julian Dames said: “Quick commerce works when it is built on operational discipline and realistic customer expectations.” That is the company’s stated view of its model, not an independent assessment of its performance.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




