Fay is not simply an Ozempic coaching app. It is a U.S. digital-health platform that helps registered dietitians operate insurance-based private practices while matching them with patients. Fay emerged from stealth on May 15, 2024, announcing $25 million from General Catalyst and Forerunner Ventures, with participation from 1984 Ventures and founders of Grow Therapy and Maven Clinic.
The company said many of its patients were taking Ozempic or other GLP-1 medications. That demand helped highlight a larger business opportunity: making medical nutrition therapy easier to access, bill, and deliver. However, the public evidence does not establish that GLP-1 drugs caused Fay’s growth or show the company’s revenue, profitability, or unit economics.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What Fay announced
Faycurry began working on Fay in 2021 while an MBA student at Harvard Business School, initially bootstrapping the company. Mark Stefanski later joined as CTO. On May 15, 2024, Fay publicly emerged from stealth and announced a $25 million financing round. The available reporting does not identify the round as a Series A or another specific type, nor does it disclose valuation, dilution, the exact financing structure, revenue, or profitability. TechCrunch reported the financing and company history.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesGeneral Catalyst and Forerunner Ventures were named as the principal investors. 1984 Ventures and founders of Grow Therapy and Maven Clinic also participated.
#1 Best Overall
At launch, Fay said it had approximately 1,000 registered dietitians. Its current website presents a substantially larger consumer-facing operation, but those figures are company claims rather than independently audited metrics.
The problem Fay is trying to solve
Registered dietitians can provide valuable care for diabetes, obesity, cardiovascular risk, gastrointestinal conditions, eating-related concerns, and other health needs. Yet running an independent practice that accepts insurance can require substantial administrative work.
- Obtaining payer credentials and enrolling with insurance networks.
- Managing referrals, eligibility checks, and medical-necessity requirements.
- Submitting claims and correcting denials.
- Handling scheduling, payments, documentation, and follow-up communications.
- Finding patients while remaining in-network.
Fay’s pitch is a “practice in a box”: an infrastructure-and-marketplace service that handles or supports much of this work. The platform helps recruit and credential dietitians, routes patients to them, and supports scheduling, billing, claims, payments, and related workflows. Fay’s provider materials describe the service in more detail at its private-practice page.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →That makes Fay several businesses at once:
| Layer | What it does |
|---|---|
| Marketplace | Matches patients with registered dietitians. |
| Provider enablement | Gives dietitians operational tools for building a practice. |
| Insurance services | Supports credentialing, billing, claims, and reimbursement workflows. |
| Potential payer or employer solution | Could help organizations provide nutrition care for conditions affected by diet, although cost savings remain a business thesis rather than a proven public result. |
Why Ozempic and other GLP-1 drugs matter
Ozempic, Wegovy, and related GLP-1 medications made weight management and medication-assisted treatment unusually visible. Patients using these drugs may seek nutrition counseling around changing appetite, maintaining adequate nutrition, supporting muscle during weight loss, building sustainable eating habits, and managing long-term weight maintenance.
Fay told TechCrunch that many of its patients were taking Ozempic or other GLP-1 drugs and were looking for help with eating habits, weight loss, and metabolic health. Fay’s current online directory also lists “Ozempic/GLP-1s” as a specialty. The directory lists that specialty alongside other nutrition needs.
That does not mean Fay is a medication provider. Nutrition counseling, prescribing, behavioral support, and medical monitoring are distinct services. Patients should not treat a dietitian platform as a replacement for the clinician prescribing a GLP-1 medication or for urgent medical care.
It is also important not to overstate causation. The public reporting does not disclose the percentage of Fay patients using GLP-1 drugs, GLP-1-related revenue, retention, clinical outcomes, or growth before and after demand for these medications accelerated. The defensible statement is that Fay reported a significant GLP-1 patient presence—not that Ozempic independently caused the company’s growth.
Rank #2
How Fay’s business model works
- Fay recruits or accepts registered dietitians.
- It helps providers obtain insurance credentials and payer access.
- It markets to patients or receives referrals.
- Patients are matched with available dietitians based on location, coverage, specialty, and care preferences.
- Eligible visits are billed through insurance.
- Fay supports scheduling, claims, payments, and ongoing workflow.
The precise commercial arrangement is not public in the available sources. Fay does not disclose its take rate, provider compensation formula, reimbursement spread, customer-acquisition cost, gross margin, or profitability. It would therefore be speculative to say that Fay earns a particular percentage of each appointment.
Faycurry reportedly said dietitians could make “almost five to eight times more” than they might in a hospital. That is a company-side claim, not independent salary research, and should not be used as a guaranteed income expectation.
Fay’s current claims and what they mean
As of the August 2026 snapshot supplied for this article, Fay’s website advertises more than 100,000 members, access to more than 700 insurance plans, online and in-person care, a dietitian directory, an app, and patient-referral pathways. These are current company claims and are not equivalent to the approximately 1,000-dietitian figure reported at launch.
Fay also advertises sessions costing as little as $0 with insurance. Its pricing information says an uncovered visit could be closer to $150, while emphasizing that actual responsibility varies by location, age, and coverage. See Fay’s insurance and price explanation.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →“700-plus insurance plans” does not mean every patient with a listed insurer is covered. Eligibility can depend on:
- The exact employer or individual plan.
- The patient’s state and the dietitian’s license.
- Whether the provider is credentialed for that particular plan.
- Referral or qualifying-diagnosis rules.
- Medical-necessity requirements.
- The deductible, copay, and coinsurance status.
Fay’s provider page says joining is free, there is no minimum-hours commitment, and there is no non-compete. It says standard credentialing may take six to eight months, while some providers already in-network with at least one payer may be fast-tracked to begin seeing patients in as little as 30 days. These are conditional company claims, not guarantees for every provider or state.
Fay versus Nourish
Nourish is a close comparison. It also matches patients with registered dietitians, verifies insurance, handles billing, and offers virtual nutrition care with app-based support.
Rank #3
| Factor | Fay | Nourish |
|---|---|---|
| Core positioning | Dietitian marketplace plus practice and insurance infrastructure. | Telehealth RDN care with insurance verification and app support. |
| Care options | Fay advertises online and in-person options. | Primarily virtual care. |
| Insurance | Fay advertises more than 700 plans, subject to plan-level eligibility. | Nourish says it operates broadly and advertises coverage across all 50 states. |
| Self-pay signal | Fay says uncovered care may be closer to $150 per session. | Nourish lists $145 per self-pay session when insurance is not accepted. |
| Company-reported $0 access | Advertises sessions as low as $0 with insurance. | Says 94% of patients pay $0 out of pocket. |
| Digital support | Fay advertises an app for progress tracking and communication. | Nourish emphasizes messaging, meal logging, recipes, and ongoing support. |
Neither company’s marketing language means insurance is universally free, and the figures above are not audited comparative outcomes. A patient’s best choice may depend less on the headline network size than on the specific dietitian, plan, specialty, appointment availability, and desired care format.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minutePC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Questions patients should ask before booking
- Is my exact insurance plan accepted, or only the insurer’s brand?
- Will the dietitian be in-network for my plan?
- Do I need a referral, diagnosis, or prior authorization?
- What will I owe after my deductible, copay, or coinsurance?
- Are visits virtual, in-person, or both in my location?
- Does the dietitian treat my specific need, such as GLP-1 support, diabetes, gastrointestinal disease, eating disorders, or bariatric care?
- What happens if I change insurance?
A $0 estimate is not the same as a final insurance adjudication. Confirm the estimate with the platform and, when appropriate, the insurer before beginning recurring care.
Questions dietitians should ask
Fay’s free joining claim and lack of a minimum-hours commitment may reduce barriers, but providers should review the contract carefully. Important questions include:
- What percentage of collections, if any, does Fay retain?
- How and when are providers paid?
- Who owns the patient relationship and clinical records?
- Can records be exported if the provider leaves?
- Who handles denials, appeals, refunds, and clawbacks?
- What documentation and compliance duties remain with the dietitian?
- What happens if Fay loses a payer contract?
- Are providers contractors, employees, or part of a group-practice structure?
- Who manages privacy, security, complaints, and malpractice responsibilities?
What remains unproven
The $25 million financing validates investor interest, not financial success. Publicly available reporting does not establish Fay’s revenue, profitability, patient retention, clinical outcomes, payer concentration, customer-acquisition cost, unit economics, or share of patients using GLP-1 medications.
The company must also show that its model can maintain clinical quality across a large provider network, secure reliable reimbursement, and generate durable demand if GLP-1 coverage or prescribing patterns change. Nutrition care may reduce costs for employers and health plans, but that remains a hypothesis until demonstrated with credible outcomes and cost data.
Recommended Free Tools
For investors, the central question is whether Fay becomes durable infrastructure for insured nutrition care or remains heavily exposed to a temporary weight-loss-drug cycle. The strongest version of the business is broader: GLP-1 users bring attention, while diabetes, metabolic health, gastrointestinal care, bariatric support, and other recurring needs create a larger addressable market.




