According to a September 17, 2024 report by MobileSyrup, Quebecor made an offer to buy Corus and had not received a response at the time of publication. The report attributed its account to sources who spoke with The Globe and Mail. Neither company confirmed a potential acquisition, and no price or other offer terms were disclosed.
What did the report say about Quebecor’s offer?
MobileSyrup reported that Quebecor representatives met Corus executive chair Heather Shaw about six months before the story was published, then made an offer several weeks before publication. The story said Corus had not responded. These details were reported accounts, not an announced or confirmed transaction. Read the September 17, 2024 report.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
The New Real Book | $47.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
South Bend Remembered Volume 1 | $34.95 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Wenatchee Valley Images of North Central Washington | $7.95 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
The New Real Book, Volume 2 (Key of C) | $45.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 |
|
Comment devenir une star des médias sociaux - Maitriser Facebook et Twitter comme des pros | $9.86 | Buy on Amazon |
Corus said it did not comment on rumours or speculation. Quebecor said it did not comment on potential acquisitions. Those responses did not confirm that an offer had been made.
Why didn’t Corus respond?
The report said Corus had not responded to the offer, but it did not establish why. Corus’s statement that it did not comment on rumours or speculation is not an explanation of its response to a specific offer. The available reporting does not support a more definite conclusion about the company’s reasoning.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →#1 Best Overall
- Used Book in Good Condition
How much did Quebecor offer for Corus?
The offer’s price and structure were not disclosed in the report. There is no reported figure here that can be treated as Quebecor’s offer price.
Was the later Corus recapitalization the Quebecor deal?
No. Corus later pursued a separate, lender-led recapitalization. The CRTC received Corus’s application for a change in ownership and effective control on February 5, 2026. The proposed transaction involved lenders exchanging debt for ownership in a new parent company; it was not an acceptance of Quebecor’s reported 2024 offer. CRTC proceeding record.
Rank #2
On September 17, 2026, the CRTC approved the recapitalization as being in the public interest. The regulator described the transaction as approximately $500 million of debt exchanged for 99% of NewCo. CRTC decision.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Rank #4
- Used Book in Good Condition
| Point of comparison | Reported Quebecor approach | Corus recapitalization |
|---|---|---|
| Participants | Quebecor and Corus; the approach was not confirmed by either company. MobileSyrup, September 17, 2024 | Corus and its lenders, through a new parent company. CRTC, September 17, 2026 |
| Structure | Not disclosed in the report. MobileSyrup, September 17, 2024 | Lenders exchanged approximately $500 million of debt for 99% of NewCo. CRTC, September 17, 2026 |
| Status | Reported offer; no company confirmation or response details beyond the report’s account. MobileSyrup, September 17, 2024 | Approved by the CRTC on September 17, 2026. CRTC, September 17, 2026 |
How the events unfolded
- September 17, 2024: MobileSyrup reported that Quebecor had made an offer and Corus had not responded; it did not publish the offer’s terms. MobileSyrup report
- November 3, 2025: Corus said it announced a proposed recapitalization, separate from the reported Quebecor approach. Corus announcement
- February 5, 2026: The CRTC received Corus’s application concerning a change in ownership and effective control. CRTC proceeding record
- June 11, 2026: The CRTC documented its denial of Quebecor’s procedural request for an appearing public hearing in the Corus proceeding. That procedural request was not the 2024 acquisition offer. CRTC proceeding record
- September 17, 2026: The CRTC approved the lender-led recapitalization. CRTC decision
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →




