Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteYes. Planview announced agreements to acquire Changepoint and Clarizen on January 12, 2021, and said both acquisitions had closed on February 23, 2021. Planview did not disclose the financial terms. Changepoint’s Services Automation product is now identified by Planview as Planview ChangePoint.
When did Planview acquire Changepoint?
The transaction had two key dates. Planview announced definitive agreements to acquire Changepoint and Clarizen on January 12, 2021, then announced the acquisitions were complete on February 23, 2021. The dated announcements are the clearest records of the deal chronology: Planview’s general company-history page lists the acquisitions under 2020, but its acquisition page dates Changepoint to 2021.
Planview described Changepoint as an enterprise project portfolio management (PPM) provider. The January announcement’s Seattle dateline supports the Seattle association, but it does not establish that Changepoint was a startup; “Seattle-based enterprise software provider” is more precise.
How much did Planview pay?
Planview did not disclose the financial terms in its January 12, 2021 announcement. No purchase price is established in the cited deal announcements.
#1 Best Overall
Why did Planview acquire Changepoint?
Planview presented the Changepoint and Clarizen acquisitions as a way to broaden its portfolio-management and work-management offerings and better connect strategy with delivery. The rationale describes Planview’s intended direction at the time of the deal, not proof of specific customer outcomes.
Matt Scheuing, then Changepoint’s CEO, said in Planview’s January 12 announcement: “In order to achieve meaningful business outcomes, organizations need to be adaptable and nimble while ensuring alignment from strategic planning to delivery.”
What happened to Changepoint software?
Planview’s acquisition-history page identifies Changepoint Services Automation as Planview ChangePoint. The current product is positioned for services organizations, with vendor-described capabilities spanning the commercial and delivery lifecycle:
- Opportunity and demand: opportunity and pipeline planning.
- Contracts and customer lifecycle: customer lifecycle and contract management.
- Project delivery: project and work management.
- People and capacity: resource and capacity planning.
- Financial oversight: coordination of services project portfolios and resources with business financials, along with financial visibility.
- Portfolio insight: portfolio-level visibility, analytics, and reporting.
Planview describes these product capabilities; they should not be read as independent evidence of results for any particular organization. Product positioning and availability can change.
Rank #3
What did Planview say about the combined company at closing?
In its February 23, 2021 closing announcement, Planview described the combined organization as having approximately 1,000 employees, more than 4,500 customers, and over 1.3 million users. These are Planview’s figures for the combined company at that time, not current totals or Changepoint-only counts.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Rank #4
Sources
- Planview’s January 12, 2021 announcement covers the agreements, deal rationale, Changepoint description, undisclosed terms, and Scheuing’s statement.
- Planview’s February 23, 2021 closing announcement confirms completion and reports the combined-company figures.
- Planview’s acquisition history describes the product lineage to Planview ChangePoint.
- Planview’s current ChangePoint product page lists its vendor-described capabilities.
- Planview’s company-history page contains a 2020 entry for the acquisitions, which differs from the dates in the deal announcements.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




