October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
federal debt

Could 1,000 Gold Card Visas Pay Off U.S. Debt? The Numbers, Explained

A hypothetical $5 billion is only about 0.0127% of U.S. public debt. The official Gold Card price is $1 million for an individual, and 1,000 completed sales are not verified by available reporting.

By TheFinanceBase Team 3 min read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

No. Even if 1,000 buyers each paid $5 million, the hypothetical total would be $5 billion—about 0.0127% of the $39.28 trillion in U.S. public debt outstanding on June 17, 2026. But the premise needs correction: the official Gold Card page lists a $1 million individual contribution, while its separate $5 million Platinum Card is described as “Coming Soon.” The available reporting does not verify 1,000 completed Gold Card sales.

What would $5 billion cover?

The multiplication is straightforward: 1,000 × $5 million = $5 billion. The scale comparison is less intuitive. The U.S. Treasury’s Bureau of the Fiscal Service reported total public debt outstanding of $39,283,052,266,270.91 on June 17, 2026. Against that dated figure, $5 billion equals about 0.0127%—roughly $1 for every $7,857 of debt.

This is a hypothetical comparison, not evidence that 1,000 visas were sold or that $5 billion was collected. Debt changes over time, and the cited Treasury figure is dated June 17, not October 4, 2026. Treasury describes its [Debt to the Penny data](https://fiscaldata.treasury.gov/datasets/debt-to-the-penny/) as a daily debt source.

How much does a Gold Card cost?

The official [Trump Gold Card website](https://trumpcard.gov/) describes an individual Gold Card contribution of $1 million after vetting, plus a nonrefundable $15,000 Department of Homeland Security processing fee. Additional State Department fees may apply. The site describes the $5 million Platinum Card as “Coming Soon,” not as the price of an available Gold Card.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The distinction also appears in Executive Order 14351, issued September 19, 2025: it set a $1 million gift for an individual applicant and a $2 million gift for a corporate-sponsored applicant, subject to applicable law, public-safety and national-security considerations, and visa-number limits. The order also contemplated administrative fees, whose amounts are not specified there.

How many Gold Cards have been sold?

The available reporting does not establish a current cumulative count of paid applications, approved visas, or total receipts as of October 4, 2026. The Associated Press reported on April 23, 2026, that Commerce Secretary Howard Lutnick said one Gold Card visa had been approved. The same report recalled his earlier statement that $1.3 billion “worth” had been sold in several days after launch; AP said he did not address the apparent discrepancy. “Worth sold” is not, by itself, a verified count of paid applications, completed vetting, issued visas, or money received.

Accordingly, the claim that 1,000 Gold Card visas have been sold should not be treated as verified based on those figures. The April report is also not a current October count.

Rank #2
Sale
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
  • Ideal for Gifting
  • Ideal for a bookworm
  • Compact for travelling
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Where is Gold Card money supposed to go?

Executive Order 14351 directs gifts into a separate Treasury fund to be used to promote commerce and American industry. In a September 2025 exchange, President Donald Trump described a different proposed use: “Which we’ll use for cutting taxes and paying down debt.” He also claimed the program would raise more than $100 billion for the Treasury. These are stated intentions and projections; they do not establish how much has been collected or that any proceeds have been applied to federal debt.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
SaleBestseller No. 2
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
Ideal for Gifting; Ideal for a bookworm; Compact for travelling
$10.99
SaleBestseller No. 5
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
It can be a gift option; Comes with secure packaging; Helpful in various ways
$9.15
Best Value
Sale
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
  • It can be a gift option
  • Comes with secure packaging
  • Helpful in various ways

What the figures do—and do not—show

Question What the cited information establishes
Gold Card price for an individual $1 million contribution after vetting, plus a $15,000 nonrefundable DHS processing fee; additional State Department fees may apply (official Gold Card website, accessed October 4, 2026).
Corporate-sponsored gift $2 million under Executive Order 14351, issued September 19, 2025. The order contemplates administrative fees but does not state their amount.
$5 million product The official website describes the Platinum Card as “Coming Soon”; it is not the stated individual Gold Card contribution.
1,000 buyers paying $5 million each $5 billion by arithmetic; a hypothetical, not a verified sales count or receipts figure.
Reported visa approval count One, according to the Commerce Secretary’s statement reported by AP on April 23, 2026; not a current October count.
Public debt comparison $39,283,052,266,270.91 on June 17, 2026 (U.S. Treasury Bureau of the Fiscal Service).

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Money Desk

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.