DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

CompTIA’s a+ Network and a+ Cyber: What New IT Learners Should Know

CompTIA introduced a+ Network and a+ Cyber as introductory IT courses in 2024. Here’s how their focus differs and what learners should verify before paying.
From TheFinanceBase Team3 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

CompTIA’s a+ Network and a+ Cyber were introduced in 2024 as beginner courses for people exploring IT work: one emphasizes networking, the other cybersecurity. A December 4, 2024 report put each at about 31 hours and $499 at launch, but those figures—and whether the courses remain available—are not confirmed as current. Neither course itself awards Network+ or Security+ certification.

What are CompTIA a+ Network and a+ Cyber?

CompTIA presented the two courses as introductory learning tracks for people without professional IT experience or those considering a technology career. Network World’s December 4, 2024 report described them as groundwork for further certification training, including Network+ and Security+. That framing makes them courses to explore before or alongside exam preparation, not substitutes for the certifications.

The report quoted CompTIA chief product officer Thomas Reilly describing the series as a way to understand what learners need to know to pursue a tech career. That is the vendor’s characterization; the report provides no independent evidence that completing a course accelerates employment or career progression.

How do the two courses compare?

Course Learning emphasis reported at launch Reported launch price and instruction time
CompTIA a+ Network Network-client and network-type fundamentals, enterprise application support, network operations and troubleshooting, Linux application-server fundamentals, automation scripting, and data management. The course was described as helping learners prepare for Network+. $499 and about 31 hours, as reported by Network World on December 4, 2024; current price and duration are not stated.
CompTIA a+ Cyber Cybersecurity support roles, Windows administration, secure network clients, enterprise campus and application fundamentals, cybersecurity controls, Linux application-server fundamentals, scripting, and data management. It was described as introductory training that includes securing devices and home networks. $499 and about 31 hours, as reported by Network World on December 4, 2024; current price and duration are not stated.

Both tracks reportedly included Linux, scripting, and data-management foundations. The main distinction is the emphasis: networking operations and troubleshooting for a+ Network, versus cybersecurity controls and device or network security for a+ Cyber.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which course is the better fit?

Choose a+ Network if you want networking foundations

This track is the closer match if your goal is to understand network types, support enterprise applications, and practice operations and troubleshooting. The 2024 report positioned it as useful preparation for Network+ study, but did not say course completion grants that certification or guarantees an exam pass.

Choose a+ Cyber if you want an introduction to security

This track is more directly aimed at cybersecurity fundamentals, including controls, Windows administration, secure network clients, and securing devices and home networks. The available description does not establish that it prepares learners for a particular certification exam.

Rank #2
Sale
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
  • Ideal for Gifting
  • Ideal for a bookworm
  • Compact for travelling

What do the reported price and duration tell you?

Network World reported a launch-era price of $499 and roughly 31 hours of instruction for each course in December 2024. These are historical figures, not verified current terms. Check CompTIA’s current course listing for availability, price, included materials, and the latest syllabus before budgeting or enrolling.

For a personal-finance decision, compare the full cost—not just the course fee—with your learning goal. If your next step is a certification exam, check whether the course is still aligned with the current exam objectives and whether you will need additional study materials or exam fees. A CompTIA Network+ study guide may be relevant to the Network+ path; confirm that any edition you consider matches the current objectives.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What the course descriptions do not establish

  • They do not establish current availability, current pricing, or whether the launch curriculum remains unchanged.
  • They do not report job-placement rates, salary outcomes, certification pass rates, or independent evidence of course effectiveness.
  • They do not promise employment, a Network+ or Security+ credential, or faster career advancement.

The available account is Network World’s December 4, 2024 report by Denise Dubie, which described the launch and quoted CompTIA; its linked CompTIA announcement and store pages were not accessible for confirmation. Read the Network World report.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
SaleBestseller No. 2
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
Ideal for Gifting; Ideal for a bookworm; Compact for travelling
$10.99
SaleBestseller No. 5
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
It can be a gift option; Comes with secure packaging; Helpful in various ways
$9.15
Best Value
Sale
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
  • It can be a gift option
  • Comes with secure packaging
  • Helpful in various ways

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.