There is no single cheapest cloud-storage service for everyone. For a small Apple library, iCloud+ starts at $0.99 a month. Microsoft 365 Personal is the strongest 1TB total-value deal when you will use Office. Microsoft 365 Family is the household bargain. For privacy, Proton Drive or Sync.com can justify a higher price, while pCloud is worth checking for annual or lifetime storage. Prices below are a U.S. snapshot checked August 16–18, 2026; taxes, promotions, renewal rates and app-store billing can differ.
What “cheap” cloud storage really means
Compare the measure that matches your need, rather than ranking every plan by a headline monthly price:
- Lowest monthly bill for a small amount of storage.
- Lowest annual cost or effective monthly cost after annual billing.
- Lowest cost per 100GB or terabyte.
- Lowest lifetime cost, including the risk of a lifetime vendor commitment.
- Best value after software, family sharing, privacy and recovery features.
- Cheapest plan that works with your devices and intended use.
A $0.99 50GB plan can be the sensible bargain for a light user. Buying 2TB because its price per terabyte looks better is wasteful if you will never use it. Conversely, a bundled Microsoft 365 subscription can cost more than storage-only service while replacing an Office subscription you would otherwise buy.
How much storage do you need?
| Need | Typical starting point |
|---|---|
| Documents, PDFs and light sharing | 50–100GB |
| Phone photos and ordinary files | 100–200GB |
| Large photo library or family documents | 200GB–1TB |
| Video, several computers or family storage | 2TB or more |
| Whole-computer recovery | Consider a dedicated backup service as well as sync storage |
Google storage is shared by Drive, Gmail and Google Photos; Google says a free account includes up to 15GB and paid totals include that allowance (Google One plans). Apple storage is shared by iCloud Photos, device backups, files and other iCloud data.
#1 Best Overall
- Easily store and access 2TB to content on the go with the Seagate Portable Drive, a USB external hard drive
- Designed to work with Windows or Mac computers, this external hard drive makes backup a snap just drag and drop
- To get set up, connect the portable hard drive to a computer for automatic recognition no software required
- This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable
- The available storage capacity may vary.
Quick price comparison
These are standard or observed U.S. prices where the provider displayed them. “Not stated” means the public page did not reliably show a current U.S. amount; verify the checkout total before paying.
| Provider | Free allowance | Useful paid tier | Monthly | Annual total | Effective monthly | Best fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| iCloud+ | 5GB | 50GB | $0.99 | $11.88 | $0.99 | Apple users needing a little extra space |
| Microsoft 365 Basic | Not stated | 100GB | $1.99 | $19.99 | $1.67 | OneDrive storage without full Office |
| Microsoft 365 Personal | Not stated | 1TB plus Office | $9.99 | $99.99 | $8.33 | One person who uses Office |
| Microsoft 365 Family | Not stated | Up to 6TB, 1TB per person | $12.99 | $129.99 | $10.83 | Households with up to six users |
| Google One | Up to 15GB | 100GB Basic | Confirm in U.S. account | Confirm in U.S. account | Confirm in U.S. account | Google Photos, Gmail and Drive users |
| Dropbox Plus | 2GB | 2TB | $9.99 | Not stated | Not stated | Polished synchronization and sharing |
| Proton Drive | 5GB | Drive Plus, 200GB | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | End-to-end-encrypted storage |
| pCloud | Commonly 10GB; verify qualification | Annual or lifetime plans | Verify checkout | Verify checkout | Verify checkout | Buyers considering lifetime storage |
| Sync.com | Verify current allowance | Consumer pricing requires verification | Verify checkout | Verify checkout | Verify checkout | Private sharing and sync |
| MEGA | Commonly around 20GB; verify rules | Paid tiers require verification | Verify checkout | Verify checkout | Verify checkout | Large free allowance |
Source pages: Apple iCloud+, Microsoft OneDrive plans, Google One, Dropbox, Proton Drive, Sync.com, pCloud and MEGA.
Ranked: the cheapest sensible choices
1. iCloud+ — cheapest small plan for Apple users
Apple lists 50GB for $0.99 a month, 200GB for $2.99 and 2TB for $9.99, with 5GB free. It integrates directly with iPhone and Mac photos, backups and file synchronization, making it hard to beat for an Apple household that needs only 50–200GB.
The allowance is shared across iCloud services, and iCloud is less attractive for Linux-heavy or provider-independent workflows. See Apple’s current plans before subscribing.
2. Microsoft 365 Personal — best 1TB total value
Microsoft lists 1TB of OneDrive at $9.99 monthly or $99.99 annually, alongside Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, OneNote, Defender and other benefits. It is not necessarily the cheapest storage-only terabyte, but it can be the cheapest complete subscription if you would otherwise pay for Office.
Rank #2
- Easily store and access 1TB to content on the go with the Seagate Portable Drive, a USB external hard drive.Specific uses: Personal
- Designed to work with Windows or Mac computers, this external hard drive makes backup a snap just drag and drop. Reformatting may be required for Mac
- To get set up, connect the portable hard drive to a computer for automatic recognition no software required
- This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable
- The available storage capacity may vary.
Microsoft supports PC, Mac, iPhone, iPad and Android. Linux-first users and people who do not need Office should compare storage-only alternatives. Pricing and renewal terms are shown at Microsoft’s plans page.
3. Microsoft 365 Family — best household economics
The Family plan is $12.99 a month or $129.99 a year and allows up to six people, with 1TB per person (up to 6TB total) and Office applications. At the annual price, two genuine users pay about $65 each per year; six users pay about $21.67 each. Each person uses a separate Microsoft account and quota, so this is not an unrestricted shared bucket.
4. Google One — best Google ecosystem choice
Google One combines storage across Drive, Gmail and Google Photos. The official page confirms a 100GB Basic tier and up to 15GB free, but the retrieved page was region-sensitive; confirm the U.S. amount while signed in at Google One. It is a natural fit for Android, Google Photos and Gmail users, but ordinary account encryption is not the same as default end-to-end encryption.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →5. pCloud — check it for 2TB or lifetime value
pCloud offers annual and lifetime choices and is frequently competitive at 500GB, 1TB or 2TB. Calculate the break-even period by dividing the lifetime price by the verified annual price. “Lifetime” describes the product terms, not a guarantee that the company will operate forever. Check whether encryption is included or a separate add-on at pCloud’s pricing page.
6. Sync.com — privacy-focused value when the verified price fits
Sync.com emphasizes private storage and secure sharing. Its public page prominently showed team and promotional offers rather than a clean consumer comparison, so verify the exact individual U.S. plan at Sync.com. Its privacy features may justify paying more per terabyte than mainstream services.
Rank #3
- High capacity in a small enclosure – The small, lightweight design offers up to 6TB* capacity, making WD Elements portable hard drives the ideal companion for consumers on the go.
- Plug-and-play expandability
- Vast capacities up to 6TB[1] to store your photos, videos, music, important documents and more
- SuperSpeed USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps)
7. Proton Drive — inexpensive privacy, not necessarily lowest cost
Proton offers 5GB free with end-to-end encryption and a 200GB Drive Plus tier. The public pricing page did not reliably render every current U.S. dollar amount, so do not rely on an unverified figure. Proton is compelling when provider access to file contents matters, especially for users already paying for Proton services. Check Proton’s plans.
8. MEGA — generous free capacity with transfer trade-offs
Secondary comparisons commonly place MEGA near 20GB free, subject to qualification rules. Verify what is permanent, whether bonuses expire and what transfer limits apply at MEGA’s pricing page. It suits users prioritizing free capacity more than office collaboration.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware match9. Dropbox Plus — pay for workflow quality
Dropbox lists 2TB at $9.99 a month and only 2GB free. Plus includes 30-day file recovery and transfers up to 50GB. It is rarely the cheapest capacity, but mature synchronization, link sharing and transfer tools can be worth the premium. See Dropbox plans.
10. TeraBox — capacity outlier requiring caution
Third-party comparisons report unusually large free capacity and low paid prices, but those claims do not establish current U.S. checkout terms, speed, advertising, privacy, inactivity or recovery policies. Treat TeraBox as a candidate to investigate, never as the default home for sensitive or irreplaceable files.
Cheapest choice by storage size
50GB
iCloud+ at $0.99 monthly is the clearest mainstream choice, particularly for an iPhone owner whose photos and backup already live in iCloud.
Rank #4
- Plug-and-play expandability
- SuperSpeed USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps)
100GB
Microsoft 365 Basic is explicitly $1.99 monthly or $19.99 annually. Google One Basic is a comparable candidate, but confirm its U.S. price in your account.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems200GB
Apple lists 200GB at $2.99 monthly. Proton Drive also offers 200GB, but its current U.S. dollar amount must be checked directly; choose it for end-to-end encryption rather than assuming it is cheaper.
500GB
No universally cheapest mainstream U.S. plan is established in the available pricing snapshot. Compare verified pCloud, Sync.com and other annual offers at checkout, including renewal terms and whether encryption costs extra.
1TB
Microsoft 365 Personal is the best total-value answer when Office is useful: $99.99 annually for 1TB plus applications. A storage-only buyer should compare the verified annual prices of pCloud, Sync.com and other providers rather than treating the bundle as a storage-only winner.
2TB
Compare annual prices for pCloud, Sync.com, Google One, iCloud+ and Dropbox on the publication date. Apple and Dropbox each show a $9.99 monthly 2TB signal, while pCloud and Sync.com are often among the lower-cost storage-only candidates; exact rankings depend on current checkout prices.
Recommended Free Tools
Best Value
- 【Upgraded version】 - The mirror logo strip is combined with the striped non-slip design. The rounded corners of the shell are more suitable for holding. The strips play a heat dissipation function to ensure a stable and fast transmission process.
- 【Ultra-thin and quiet】 - The motherboard adopts JMicron 578 noise-free solution, giving you a quiet working environment. Lightweight and portable size designed to fit in your pocket for easy portability.
- 【Ultra-Fast Data Transfers】 - Pairing this external hard drive with JMicron 578 solution USB 3.0 and USB 2.0 interfaces enables blazing-fast data transfer. It boasts theoretical read speeds of up to 125MB/s and write speeds of up to 103MB/s.
- 【Plug and Play】 - With no software to install, just plug it in and the drive is ready to use.The hard disk chip is wrapped with an aluminum anti-interference layer to increase heat dissipation and protect data.
- 【What You Get】 - 1 x Portable Hard Drive, 1 x USB 3.0 Cable, 1 x User Manual, Gift-type shell packaging ,Three-year manufacturer's warranty and free technical support services.
Family storage
Microsoft 365 Family provides up to 6TB total at $129.99 annually, with 1TB allocated to each of up to six people. It is most economical when at least two household members genuinely use both storage and Office.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Storage, synchronization and backup are different
- Sync storage mirrors changes across devices; deleting or encrypting a file can propagate.
- Cloud backup retains a separate recovery copy, often with version history and restoration controls.
- Photo backup is optimized for camera libraries and may not behave like ordinary folders.
- Archive storage can be inexpensive but slower or less convenient to retrieve.
None of the consumer sync plans above should be your only protection for irreplaceable files. Keep an independent local or second-cloud copy, and check version-history and deleted-file retention before relying on a service against ransomware or accidental deletion.
Security and privacy that affect the price
“Encrypted” can mean encryption in transit and at rest, where the provider may technically access content. End-to-end or zero-knowledge encryption is designed so the provider cannot read files, but private-key recovery can be harder. Proton states that its free Drive storage includes end-to-end encryption (Proton Drive).
For any provider, inspect two-factor authentication, version history, deleted-file recovery, ransomware protection, sharing controls and account-recovery procedures. A cheaper plan with weak recovery may cost more after a data-loss incident.
Monthly versus annual billing
- Record the monthly list price and the full annual charge.
- Divide the annual charge by 12 to find the effective monthly cost.
- Separate introductory discounts from the renewal price.
- Check whether taxes are added and whether an iOS or Android app-store subscription costs more than direct checkout.
- Confirm what happens after cancellation; many services retain access until the paid period ends, then restrict new uploads or remove over-quota data.
Microsoft explicitly displays monthly and annual options and says subscriptions renew automatically unless canceled. Annual billing lowers the effective monthly rate but requires paying upfront.
Free plans: capacity is not the whole deal
Commonly cited free allowances include MEGA around 20GB, Google up to 15GB, Apple 5GB and Dropbox 2GB. Recheck current account terms because referral bonuses, verification steps, inactivity rules and temporary promotions can change the permanent amount. Also compare advertising, transfer quotas, desktop clients, sharing limits and recovery options; the largest number is not automatically the most usable free plan.
Quick Recap
How to lower your real cost
- Buy only the capacity you will use in the next year, leaving room for growth.
- Use annual billing when you trust the provider and can afford the upfront charge.
- Use a family plan only with real household users and understand per-person quotas.
- Count Office, VPN or other bundled services only if you would otherwise pay for them.
- Compare direct web checkout with app-store billing.
- Set a calendar reminder before renewal and recheck the post-promotion price.
- Export a copy of important data before downgrading or leaving.
Final decision table
| If you want… | Choose… |
|---|---|
| The cheapest small Apple plan | iCloud+ 50GB |
| 1TB plus desktop Office | Microsoft 365 Personal |
| Storage for a household | Microsoft 365 Family |
| Google Photos, Drive and Gmail integration | Google One, after confirming U.S. pricing |
| Privacy-first storage | Proton Drive or Sync.com, priced at equal capacity |
| A lifetime-payment option | pCloud, only after checking terms and break-even |
| Polished synchronization and sharing | Dropbox |
| A large free mainstream allowance | MEGA or Google, after verifying qualification rules |
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




