On March 20, 2025, Chatr and Lucky Mobile launched matching $29 monthly plans with 20GB of regular data plus a conditional 5GB Auto-Pay or Automatic Top-Up bonus. That created a possible 25GB, but only while automatic payments remained active. Public Mobile’s comparable $29 plan offered 20GB on 5G and included Canada-U.S.-Mexico roaming, so the best choice depended on whether you valued domestic data volume, speed or travel coverage.
Important: these are historical launch terms, not the current lineup. Official plan pages viewed August 18, 2026 show materially different prices and allowances.
The March 2025 comparison at a glance
| Provider | Monthly price | Included data | Network and stated speed | Calling and texting | Roaming | Launch promotion |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chatr | $29 | 20GB base + 5GB Auto-Pay bonus | 4G, up to 150Mbps | Unlimited Canada-wide talk and international texting | Not included in the comparable offer | One-month credit for qualifying new activations on plans of $27 or more |
| Lucky Mobile | $29 | 20GB base + 5GB Automatic Top-Up bonus | 4G LTE, up to 150Mbps | Unlimited Canada-wide calling and international texting | Not included in the comparable offer | Credit automatically applied to the third month for qualifying new activations |
| Public Mobile comparator | $29 | 20GB | 5G, up to 250Mbps | Canada-wide service | Canada, U.S. and Mexico roaming included | Not stated in the comparison |
Historical details and the launch incentives were reported by MobileSyrup. The figures describe the offers available on March 20, 2025, not a promise that the plans remained available afterward.
What Chatr launched
Chatr’s offer contained 20GB of regular monthly data. Customers enrolled in Auto-Pay could receive another 5GB, making the advertised maximum 25GB. The plan included unlimited Canada-wide talk and international texting and used 4G data with a stated ceiling of up to 150Mbps.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →#1 Best Overall
- WHAT YOU GET: Three (3) months of unlimited talk, text, and data delivered on the nation's largest 5G network. Data speeds may slow after 50GB when network is busy but data is unlimited. Videos stream at 480p.
- OH, YOU GET THIS TOO: 5G for Free + free mobile hotspot + Wi-Fi calling and text + free international calls to Mexico and Canada
- HOW YOU GET IT: The SIM Kit comes with a 3-in-1 SIM card that includes standard/micro/nano sizes, insert the SIM into your device, and activate on the Mint Mobile website or app. You can activate service on your own unlocked device with our Bring Your Own Phone (BYOP) program. Check your coverage and phone compatibility on the Mint Mobile website.
- WHO SHOULD GET IT: Anyone who hates their phone bill
- WHY YOU SHOULD GET IT: Mint Mobile took what’s wrong with wireless and made it right. We re-imagined the wireless shopping experience and made it easy and online.
The reported launch incentive was a one-month credit for qualifying new activations on plans priced at $27 per month or more. It was a launch-period promotion, not a permanent feature of the plan.
What Lucky Mobile launched
Lucky’s plan was almost identical on headline pricing: $29 per month for 20GB, with 5GB added through Automatic Top-Up. It included unlimited Canada-wide calling, international texting and 4G LTE data with a stated maximum of 150Mbps.
Its reported incentive worked differently: a qualifying new customer received a credit automatically applied to the third month of service. Customers should verify any current offer because Lucky says promotions can change without notice.
Rank #2
- STAY CONNECTED WORLDWIDE: Unlimited calling from the U.S. to 90+ international destinations including India, Mexico, Canada, China, the U.K. and more.
- RELIABLE NATIONWIDE COVERAGE: Enjoy 8GB of high-speed 5G/4G LTE data on the T-Mobile 5G Network.
- TRAVEL ACROSS NORTH AMERICA: Unlimited talk and text in Mexico and Canada plus international roaming credit.
- BRING YOUR OWN PHONE: Activate your compatible unlocked phone with the included 3-in-1 SIM card or eSIM. Keep your number or get a new one.
- NO CONTRACTS: Prepaid wireless with no annual contracts, no credit checks, and no hidden fees.
Why the 25GB headline was conditional
Neither carrier guaranteed 25GB as the base allowance. The accurate description is 20GB included, plus 5GB of monthly bonus data while automatic payments remain eligible and successful.
Lucky’s current terms say the bonus is applied after a successful payment and depends on eligibility and account standing. Chatr similarly says its Auto-Pay bonus is unavailable if enrollment ends or the payment method cannot be charged. A failed payment can result from an expired card, insufficient funds, a fraud block or changed banking details. Set a calendar reminder and check the first billing cycle rather than treating the bonus as permanent.
Public Mobile’s advantages were different
Public Mobile’s $29 comparison plan supplied less potential data than the 25GB maximum advertised by Chatr and Lucky, but it used 5G and was reported at up to 250Mbps. It also included roaming in Canada, the United States and Mexico.
Rank #3
- We recently increased high-speed data allotments on every plan (but kept the same low pricing)! You may see a 5GB sticker on the front of your 6GB SIM Kit, rest assured your plan will have all 6GB of data loaded each month.
- WHAT YOU GET: Three (3) months of unlimited talk and text + 6GB of 5G-4G LTE data each month delivered on the nation's largest 5G network.
- OH, YOU GET THIS TOO: 5G for Free + free mobile hotspot + Wi-Fi calling and text + free international calls to Mexico and Canada
- HOW YOU GET IT: The SIM Kit comes with a 3-in-1 SIM card that includes standard/micro/nano sizes, insert the SIM into your device, and activate on the Mint Mobile website or app. You can activate service on your own unlocked device with our Bring Your Own Phone (BYOP) program. Check your coverage and phone compatibility on the Mint Mobile website.
- WHO SHOULD GET IT: Anyone who hates their phone bill
Those are separate dimensions of value. A 4G plan with more domestic data may be preferable for ordinary Canadian browsing, video and social media. A 5G plan may be more useful for large downloads, high-resolution streaming, hotspot use or congested locations, although real-world performance depends on the device, location and network load. Included North American roaming can be worth more than 5GB of extra Canadian data for someone who crosses the border regularly.
Public Mobile also uses app-based account management and offers Public Points; those features may appeal to customers who prefer digital self-service and ongoing credits.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteWhich provider fit which customer?
Choose Chatr or Lucky for domestic data volume
- You mainly use your phone in Canada.
- You care more about the largest possible domestic allowance than 5G.
- You are comfortable keeping Auto-Pay or Automatic Top-Up active.
- You want prepaid, no-contract service.
- International texting matters, but included U.S. or Mexico roaming does not.
Chatr may make sense for someone who prefers Rogers-network service, while Lucky may suit someone who prefers Bell-network service or wants its eSIM activation option. Neither preference guarantees better coverage at every address.
Rank #4
- NO CONTRACT: Pay $5 - $25/month for a fully customizable phone plan - choose your talk, text, and data with no strings attached; upgrade, downgrade or cancel your plan anytime with no penalties
- UNIVERSAL SIM CARD INCLUDED: The kit contains one three-in-one SIM card (nano, micro, and standard sizes) to fit most unlocked GSM-compatible smartphones
- NATIONWIDE 5G COVERAGE: Stay connected coast to coast with nationwide coverage on America's largest 5G network
- INTERNATIONAL CALLS TO 60+ COUNTRIES: All Tello plans include international calling to over 60 countries
- EASY ACTIVATION: Bring your own phone and activate your SIM on the Tello website; check your phone compatibility and coverage maps before purchasing to confirm service in your area
Choose Public Mobile for speed or frequent North American travel
- You want 5G on the compared plan.
- You regularly travel in the United States or Mexico.
- You prefer included roaming instead of buying add-ons.
- You are comfortable with eSIM-first activation and app-based subscription management.
Do not decide from the data number alone
- You do not want automatic payments.
- Your phone is often used outside Canada.
- Coverage differs at home, work or along your regular routes.
- You need a specific feature such as Wi-Fi calling, visual voicemail, international calling or hotspot support that is not stated in the headline offer.
Fine print that affects the real cost
Taxes and government fees
Advertised prices are before applicable taxes. Lucky’s current page also lists province-specific 9-1-1 government fees in some provinces and territories. Chatr says displayed prices are for new activations and that plan changes, overage or roaming charges may apply where relevant.
Prepaid data does not roll over
Lucky says unused data does not roll over and that speeds may be reduced after the included allowance is used. Chatr also states that unused data does not roll over. Chatr warns that a plan change may need to be made before the plan anniversary date to avoid being charged for both the existing and new plan.
New-customer eligibility
The historical credits primarily targeted new activations. Current Chatr and Lucky pages label several displayed prices as new-activation offers, so an existing customer should check account eligibility before changing plans.
Best Value
- Cellular Service for Just $5: One of the lowest and most affordable subscription plans! Includes 100 talk minutes, 100 texts, and 100MB of ultra-fast data with your prepaid SIM card. No contracts!
- Easy Activation: A valid credit card is required for activation. No contracts, Cancel anytime. SpeedTalk Mobile offers its services through subscription plans. You can also call us for assistance 7 days a week with live technical support when you contact our toll-free number.
- Universal Compatibility: Bring your own phone and use any compatible device on the SpeedTalk Mobile network. The SIM card can be used to activate any unlocked 5G, 4G LTE, and VoLTE-compatible phone, including iPhones, Android devices (Samsung Galaxy, Google Pixel, LG), Windows phones, and non-smartphones. Our triple-cut SIM card is designed in three sizes (Mini/Micro/Nano) to ensure compatibility with a wide variety of devices. Simply punch out the size that fits your device and insert it.
- How does it work: The SIM Kit includes a 3-in-1 SIM card (standard, micro, and nano sim card) to fit all SIM Devices. Also it supports eSIM activation on Apple, Google, Samsung devices.
- eSIM: During activation, you can choose to use your physical SIM or switch to eSIM. The eSIM is available on iPhone 11 and newer models, Google Pixel 2 and higher, and compatible Samsung devices.
SIM, eSIM and device checks
- Confirm the phone is unlocked.
- Check whether it supports eSIM or requires a physical SIM.
- Verify LTE and VoLTE compatibility.
- Check coverage at your actual addresses and frequent travel locations.
- Confirm that hotspot use is supported by the selected plan.
Lucky’s current page advertises free eSIM activation for compatible devices as well as a physical SIM option. Public Mobile emphasizes eSIM activation and app-based management. Compatibility still depends on the specific handset.
Coverage is location-specific
Chatr says it is powered by the Rogers network. Lucky’s service depends on its network coverage, compatible device and local conditions. Public Mobile describes its plans as operating on a national 5G network. None of those statements establishes universally superior coverage; buildings, rural geography, province and device radios can change the result.
What changed by August 2026?
The $29 comparison should not be used as a current shopping list. Official pages viewed on August 18, 2026 show:
| Provider | Current listed offer | Key conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Chatr | $35/month for 30GB | 25GB base plus 5GB Auto-Pay bonus; 4G |
| Lucky Mobile | $35/month for 30GB | 25GB base plus 5GB Automatic Top-Up bonus; 4G |
| Public Mobile | $30/month for 35GB at 4G, or $35/month for 50GB at 5G; a $35 Canada-U.S.-Mexico plan is also listed | Plan features vary by tier |
Check the live pages before signing up: Chatr plans, Lucky Mobile plans and Public Mobile plans. Prices, bonuses and eligibility can change without notice.
Recommended Free Tools
Bottom line
The March 2025 launch was a genuine competitive move: Chatr and Lucky offered up to 25GB of domestic data for $29, while Public Mobile’s comparable plan traded some allowance for 5G and Canada-U.S.-Mexico roaming. Chatr or Lucky fit a Canada-only, data-focused prepaid user who can maintain automatic payments. Public Mobile fit a speed-focused customer or frequent North American traveller. By August 2026, all three lineups had changed, so the historical headline should be treated as a dated market snapshot rather than a current deal.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




