You can earn rewards for reading news on some apps, but the current evidence does not support a list of six comparable, verified platforms—or a dependable income estimate. SmartNews and Mode Earn App document rewards tied to reading articles. NewsCash describes conditional reading activities, but its listing does not establish reliable payouts.
Which services actually reward news reading?
The distinction that matters is whether a service documents a reward specifically for reading articles. General-purpose rewards apps and research panels may offer other ways to earn, but that does not make them paid news-reading services.
| Service | What the source says readers do | Reward and limits | Evidence and qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| SmartNews Rewards | Read articles in the SmartNews app. | Earn points redeemable through Tango Rewards for gift cards or charitable donations. No fixed cash value per article is stated. | SmartNews announced the US feature on March 26, 2026, after beta testing that began in December 2025. The announcement does not fully establish current device or account eligibility. |
| Mode Earn App | Read eligible news articles for at least 30 seconds. Credit applies only to newly published articles the user has not previously earned from. | Variable points; the News feature allows up to 30 articles per hour and also has a daily limit. The cited article gives no universal earnings figure. | Mode Mobile’s help article was updated May 4, 2026. Current geographic and account eligibility should be checked in the app and its terms. |
| NewsCash | The Google Play listing describes reading activities that may require verification. | In-app promotional points; not every article has a reward activity, and reward availability varies by country and eligibility. | The listing does not establish dependable payouts and explicitly does not promise income. Treat it as a conditional rewards option, not a verified income source. |
For SmartNews, the announcement describes the reward model but does not publish a fixed cash conversion. Mode says points vary. Without current redemption values and a documented way to measure time spent, neither service supports a responsible hourly-pay estimate.
How SmartNews rewards work
SmartNews announced SmartNews Rewards for users in the United States on March 26, 2026. Users earn points by reading articles and can redeem them through Tango Rewards for gift cards or charitable donations. The announcement says the feature had been beta-tested in the US beginning in December 2025 before wider expansion.
The announcement does not state how many points an article earns or assign a fixed dollar value to each article. Sho Masuda, SmartNews’ Vice President of US Media Business, described the launch as “another new category in the U.S. news industry.” That is the company’s characterization; the practical takeaway for a reader is that rewards are points with a redemption path, not a stated per-article cash payment.
Before relying on the feature, check the current app and reward terms for availability, eligible articles, account requirements, and redemption options. Those details are not fully established by the announcement.
Rank #2
- Childrens Learn to Read Books Lot 60 - First Grade Set + Reading Strategies NEW
- 60 stapled booklets total. 15 titles each in levels A, B, C, and D
- Each 8-page reader is black and white as designed by a reading specialist to attract attention to the print
- Measures 4 1/2" by 5 1/2"
- This series of books is a Teachers' Choice award winning item as voted by Learning Magazine!
How Mode Earn App rewards work
Mode’s News feature awards variable points for eligible reading. Its help article, updated May 4, 2026, says an article must be read for at least 30 seconds, and a user only receives credit for newly published articles they have not previously earned from. Mode sets an hourly cap of up to 30 articles and also applies a daily limit.
These are eligibility and usage rules, not an earnings rate: the 30-second minimum does not mean every article pays the same amount, and the 30-article hourly cap is not a promise that 30 articles will be available or rewarded. Mode does not give a universal fixed earnings figure in the cited help article. Check the current in-app rules and redemption terms before deciding whether the effort is worthwhile.
Rank #3
Why the other familiar rewards names do not make a six-app list
Several well-known services offer ways to earn online, but their official descriptions do not establish payment for reading news articles:
- InboxDollars documents surveys, emails, offers, games, and shopping—not rewards specifically for news reading.
- Nielsen’s panel rewards participation in device-use research, not reading articles.
- Swagbucks describes surveys, shopping, offers, web searches, and games; the cited help page does not establish paid news reading.
They may be relevant if you are looking for general rewards or research participation, but presenting them as verified news-reading platforms would overstate what their official pages say.
NewsBreak readers are not the same as paid contributors
NewsBreak’s help information says some articles linked through its free service may require a subscription from the publisher. Its contributor policy discusses monetization for approved creators of qualifying content. Those are different arrangements: the cited sources do not say ordinary readers are paid for reading articles.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How to judge whether reading for rewards is worth your time
Since the services do not provide comparable, verified earnings rates, use their actual terms and your own experience rather than assuming a wage. Before spending time on an app, check:
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Best Value
- This collection of compelling informational texts includes comprehension questions—from multiple choice to essays
- Perfect for test practice
- Lexile levels provided for each text
- Authentic texts, originally published in Scholastic News magazines
- What earns credit: Confirm whether rewards are tied to reading an article, rather than ads, surveys, referrals, or other activities.
- Eligibility: Look for country, account, device, and article restrictions. Availability can differ by user.
- Engagement rules and caps: Check reading-time requirements, repeat-reading rules, and hourly or daily limits.
- Redemption: Find the current minimum and available reward options, and determine whether points have a stated cash equivalent. Do not assume points convert one-for-one into money.
- Actual time and value: Track the time you spend and what you can really redeem. If the app does not disclose a stable conversion, you cannot calculate a reliable hourly rate from its advertised points alone.
Do not treat promotional points, an article cap, or the existence of a redemption option as evidence of guaranteed or meaningful income. The documented services are better understood as possible small rewards for eligible app use than as a substitute for paid work.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




