Recommended Free Tools
Blackout Coffee is a family-owned coffee company that John and Rachael Santos say they started in a home garage in Southwest Florida in September 2018. The company now says it operates from Fort Pierce, Florida, roasts its coffee there in small batches, and supports deployed troops through care packages. It is not veteran-owned, according to its current FAQ. Its sourcing and roasting descriptions are company claims; the available company pages do not identify bean origins or establish that its process is technically unique.
How Blackout Coffee grew from a garage startup
Blackout Coffee’s account of its growth is a company-reported timeline. John and Rachael Santos started the business in their home garage in September 2018, according to the company’s about page. The page places its current facility in Fort Pierce, Florida.
| Date | Company-reported milestone |
|---|---|
| September 2018 | John and Rachael Santos started the business in their home garage in Southwest Florida. |
| April 2019 | The company opened its first roasting facility, an 1,800-square-foot site in Punta Gorda. |
| September 2021 | It moved to a 5,000-square-foot operation in LaBelle. |
| January 2024 | It moved to a 36,000-square-foot headquarters in Fort Pierce. |
| December 2024 | The Fort Pierce facility expanded to 64,000 square feet. |
The about page also reports more than 1,000,000 orders shipped, more than 350,000 customers and 43,000-plus five-star reviews. It does not specify the year or measurement period for those figures, so they are best read as current company-page metrics rather than independently audited results for a defined period. The same page lists a No. 353 ranking on the 2024 Inc. 5000 and 1,244% three-year growth, but does not specify the period behind the growth figure.
Earlier figures provide a dated snapshot, not a current run rate. A March 6, 2023 company-provided release distributed by PR Newswire said Blackout Coffee recorded $2.4 million in sales and received 98% of its revenue from online purchases in 2022. The release also reported more than 45,000 customers, more than 100,000 fulfilled orders and more than 40 roasts and flavors at the time of its March 2023 publication.
#1 Best Overall
- SUPER CREMA: A 2.2 lb whole bean coffee bag ideal for espresso preparation
- INTENSITY AND ROAST: This full-bodied medium roast offers a bold and creamy finish
- BLEND: Made from Arabica and Robusta beans, this naturally caffeinated blend is sourced from 15 coffee-growing countries around the world
- PREPARATION: Ideal for espresso preparation.
- BREWING GUIDE FOR SINGLE ESPRESSO: 0.28 oz of ground espresso delivers a 1 oz espresso shot
What the company says about its coffee
Blackout Coffee says every batch is roasted at its Florida facility and that it monitors roasts for consistency, flavor and freshness. Its FAQ describes the roasting as small-batch. The company’s 2023 release likewise promoted attention to sourcing and a meticulous roasting process, calling the beans “premium specialty coffee beans.” Those descriptions communicate the company’s positioning; they do not, by themselves, establish a distinction from other roasters.
The reviewed company pages do not name bean-origin countries, farms or cooperatives, list certifications or grades, or explain supply-chain traceability. They also do not publish technical roast details such as roast curves, temperatures or equipment. Readers looking for a specific origin, certification or independently demonstrated process should not infer one from terms such as “premier,” “premium,” “meticulous” or “unique.”
Rank #2
- INTENSITY AND ROAST: With a 5/10 intensity, this fragrant medium roast offers a sweet and aromatic finish
- PREPARATION: Ideal for espresso machines, moka pot, drip coffee machines, or French press.
- LAVAZZA ESPRESSO: A 2.2 lb whole bean coffee bag ideal for espresso or drip preparation (pack of 1)
- INGREDIENTS: Lavazza Espresso contains only coffee and is produced in facilities that exclusively make coffee
- BLEND: A 100% Arabica, naturally caffeinated blend sourced from South America and Africa
Blackout Coffee’s current FAQ lists whole-bean, ground, pod and instant options. The practical choice is mostly about preparation: whole beans let customers choose their grind, ground coffee skips that step, pods suit single-serve machines, and instant coffee is made for quick preparation and portability. These are format differences, not an independent ranking of taste. The FAQ also lists subscriptions, gear and limited-edition releases.
Product availability and bundles can change. The Coffee Club page currently lists a starter kit of three boxes of 1776 Dark Roast Pods, totaling 54 pods, as well as whole-bean or ground starter kits and recurring deliveries. The storefront features Brewtal Awakening as a dark roast and describes it as low-acid and zero-sugar; “low-acid” is a product description, not evidence of a medical benefit.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsRank #3
- Balanced, full-bodied medium roast with a smooth finish
- One 32-ounce bag of whole bean coffee
- 100% Arabica coffee grown in Colombia
- Roasted and packed in the U.S.A.
- Shown as a serving suggestion
Is Blackout Coffee veteran-owned?
No. Blackout Coffee’s current FAQ explicitly says the company is family-owned and not veteran-owned. It says the company supports military members and first responders, but the available information documents military care packages more concretely than first-responder support.
The company’s Operation Blackout page describes care packages for deployed troops and units that have requested support. The listed package includes six bags of coffee, a thank-you postcard, decals, packing and delivery logistics. The page lists a price of $129, with no year specified, and reports more than 12,000 bags shipped and more than 2,000 care packages sent, also without a stated measurement year. These are company-reported figures and terms that may change.
Rank #4
- One bag of 2.2lb Lavazza Espresso Barista Gran Crema Whole Bean Coffee Blend
- Roast: Dark
- Intensity: 7/10
- Taste: Full-bodied
- Aromatic Notes: Honey and roasted coffee
The storefront also says two cups of coffee are sent to deployed troops with every bag purchased. That is the company’s description of the program; it should not be read as a cash donation or as a quantified contribution to first responders. The reviewed pages do not name a first-responder beneficiary, quantify support to first responders or independently audit the company’s charitable impact.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What the company’s story does—and does not—show
Blackout Coffee’s public account combines a Florida family-business origin, an expanding roasting footprint, a range of coffee formats and a defined program for sending care packages to deployed troops. The company’s own milestones and growth metrics describe its trajectory, but they are not independent financial verification. Its claims about freshness, sourcing and roasting are also company statements, while the available pages leave bean provenance and technical roast methods unspecified.
Best Value
- SMOOTH MEDIUM ROAST: Sweet, Fruity flavor with a well-balanced finish—crafted to deliver a satisfying, flavorful cup every brew
- 100% ARABICA: Our Master Roasters carefully search the world for premium Arabica coffee beans, delivering consistent taste and aroma in every cup
- WHOLE BEAN: Grind just before brewing to control strength and preserve freshness based on your personal preference
- VERSATILE BREWING: Perfect for drip coffee makers, pour-over, French press, espresso machines, and cold brew once ground to your preferred coarseness
For readers assessing the business rather than choosing a brew format, that distinction matters: the documented history and listed program details can be reported as company-published facts, while claims of a uniquely superior roast or measurable charitable impact require evidence beyond the pages reviewed here.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




