The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →The “up to $900 off” claim belongs to a Black Friday camera roundup published on November 27, 2025—not a promotion you should assume is still available. The roundup reported a Sony Alpha 7R V at $1,998 after a stated $900 reduction, alongside Sony and Canon cameras at other prices. Those figures were retailer-dependent listings, not proof of a manufacturer-wide discount or a historical lowest price. Treat them as past offers and verify today’s price, stock, condition and included lens before buying. Phandroid’s November 27, 2025 roundup
What the 2025 roundup listed
The prices below are historical figures reported in the roundup. “Not stated” means its article did not clearly specify the price or discount; it does not mean the camera was free or discounted by a particular amount. A listed price is not confirmation that the offer remains available.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Model | Historical price reported | Stated saving | Package and condition noted | Potential fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sony Alpha 7R V | $1,998 | $900 | Body; presented as a new retail product | High-resolution stills, including landscape, studio and commercial work |
| Sony Alpha 7 IV | Below $2,000 | 20% off | Lens kit; exact lens configuration not stated | Hybrid stills and video |
| Sony FX3 | $3,898 | Not stated | Cinema-oriented camera; exact package details not stated | Video production |
| Sony FX30 | $1,798 | 14% | Cinema-oriented camera; exact package details not stated | Video production at a lower entry price than the FX3 listing |
| Sony Alpha 7R IV A | Not stated | Not stated | Body; exact condition not clearly established | High-resolution stills, subject to verifying price and condition |
| Canon EOS Rebel T7 | About $480 | 20% | 18–55mm lens kit | Lower-cost entry to interchangeable-lens photography |
| Canon EOS Rebel SL3 | About $549 | Not stated | Kit with lens; exact lens not stated | Entry-level DSLR photography |
| Canon EOS 5D Mark IV | About $1,799 | $400 | Body only; presented as a new retail product | Existing Canon DSLR users considering a full-frame body |
| Canon EOS R8 | Not stated | Not stated | Body listed; exact condition not clearly established | Buyers considering a full-frame RF mirrorless system |
| Canon EOS R7 | Not stated | Not stated | Body listed; exact condition not clearly established | Buyers considering APS-C mirrorless for reach, sports or wildlife |
| Canon Rebel T6 | Not stated | Not stated | Associated with a renewed or bundle-oriented listing | Only buyers who accept the condition and have checked what is included |
| Canon EOS 4000D / Rebel T100 | Not stated | Not stated | Associated with renewed or bundle-oriented listings | Only buyers seeking a low-cost older DSLR and willing to inspect the bundle |
These prices and package descriptions come from the dated roundup. It also included Nikon cameras, but the figures here focus on the Sony and Canon models named in the title.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
How to interpret the largest Sony discounts
Sony Alpha 7R V: the $900 headline figure
The roundup’s largest stated saving was $900 on the Alpha 7R V, listed at $1,998. That supports describing the claim as a saving cited for this particular listing; it does not establish that Sony discounted the camera by that amount at every retailer, that the price was the lowest ever, or that the offer lasted beyond the promotion. The listing was for a body, so a buyer without compatible lenses would need to include those in the budget.
#1 Best Overall
- 20.1MP stacked back illuminated 1" Exmor RS CMOS sensor w/ DRAM, large aperture 24-70mm1 F1.8-2.8 ZEISS Vario-Sonnar T lens
- Enhanced subject capture: wide 425 Phase/ 425 contrast detection points over 84 percent of the sensor
- Fast and accurate: Up to 11Fps continuous shooting at 24.2 MP raw with crisp, clear natural colors
- Multiple movie functions: Make time lapse movies or slow/quick motion videos without post processing
- Tiltable LCD screen: customizable for vlogging, still photography or recording a professional film
A high-resolution full-frame body can suit landscape, studio and commercial photographers who benefit from detailed files or substantial cropping. The trade-off is system cost: suitable lenses and storage for large image files can add substantially to the camera-body price.
Alpha 7 IV: a kit, not the same comparison
The roundup described the Alpha 7 IV as a lens kit priced below $2,000 after a stated 20% reduction, but did not specify the exact lens configuration in the available price details. A kit price cannot be compared directly with the Alpha 7R V body price: confirm the lens model, whether the seller is offering the exact configuration, and whether it suits the work you plan to do. The Alpha line is positioned here as the stills-and-hybrid choice, unlike Sony’s FX cinema cameras.
Rank #2
- 33MP1 full-frame Exmor R back-illuminated CMOS sensor
- 8x more powerful2, next generation BIONZ XR image processing engine
- Up to 4K 60p11 10-bit 4:2:2 w/ full pixel readout in all rec. formats
- Real-time Eye-AF for humans, animals, birds for photo and movie
- Advanced movie features; Focus Map16, Breathing Comp14., S-Cinetone, S-log3, HLGAF Assist17
FX3 and FX30: production tools with different budgets
The FX3 was listed at $3,898, with no discount amount clearly stated; the FX30 was listed at $1,798 after a stated 14% reduction. These are cinema-oriented cameras, not simply more expensive substitutes for stills-focused Alpha bodies. Production buyers should budget for the full setup—including lenses, batteries, media, audio and rigging—and assess the video features and workflow they actually need.
What the Canon listings mean for DSLR and mirrorless buyers
Rebel T7 and SL3 kits
The T7 listing was about $480 with an 18–55mm lens and a stated 20% discount; the SL3 kit was about $549, without a clearly stated saving in the roundup. These DSLR kits offer an included lens to get started, but a low entry price does not make them equivalent to a current mirrorless body. Consider whether you want to invest in a DSLR setup or begin with Canon’s RF mirrorless system, and compare the specific camera, lens and seller rather than the discount percentage alone.
Rank #3
- 24.2MP APS-C Exmor CMOS Sensor and fast BIONZ X processor
- 4K Movie oversampled from 6k w/ full pixel readout, no pixel binning
- Product Showcase Setting transitions focus from face to object
- Background Defocus button instantly toggles between defocus effect on/off
- Easy live streaming w/ single USB cable and no extra hardware/software
EOS 5D Mark IV: body-only and an older DSLR platform
The roundup put the EOS 5D Mark IV body at about $1,799 after a stated $400 reduction. Existing users with compatible lenses may find a body-only offer more relevant than a beginner would. New system buyers should factor in a lens and compare the total cost and upgrade path against mirrorless options; a large markdown alone does not establish that an older platform is the better value.
EOS R8 and R7: no clear historical deal price
The article included the EOS R8 and R7 but did not give a clearly specified price for either in its body text. The R8 is a full-frame mirrorless option; the R7 is APS-C, which may suit buyers seeking a crop-sensor system for sports or wildlife. Because the historical figures are missing, neither can be ranked as a verified bargain from that roundup. Compare current body and lens prices, and consider the capabilities and costs of the RF/RF-S system.
Rank #4
- 33MP full-frame Exmor R back-illuminated CMOS sensor.Operating temperature : 0 to 40 °C (32 to 104 °F), Rated input : 100 - 240 V , 50/60 Hz, 0.2 A.
- 8x more powerful, next generation BIONZ XR image processing engine
- Up to 4K 60p 10-bit 4:2:2 w/ full pixel readout in all recording formats
- 7K oversampling full-frame 4K 30p 10-bit 4:2:2 w/ no pixel binning
- Beautiful color expression made simple with S-Cinetone color profile
Renewed and bundle listings: read the condition line
The Rebel T6 and EOS 4000D/Rebel T100 appeared in renewed or bundle-oriented listings. “Renewed” is not interchangeable with new, manufacturer-refurbished or seller-refurbished. Check who inspected and sells the camera, what warranty and return period apply, and whether the accessories are useful and specifically identified. Generic cards, bags, filters and tripods can make a bundle look more valuable without adding much practical value. The roundup’s Nikon D750 listing was also explicitly described as renewed, illustrating why condition needs to be assessed product by product.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Which type of buyer might have benefited?
- High-resolution stills: The Alpha 7R V was the standout reported discount for buyers who needed its full-frame resolution and had budget for lenses.
- Hybrid shooting: The Alpha 7 IV kit may have been a more immediately usable option if its included lens matched the buyer’s needs.
- Video production: The FX3 or FX30 may suit dedicated production workflows; they should be compared with one another on production needs, not treated as ordinary stills-camera bargains.
- Lower-cost beginner kit: The Rebel T7’s reported 18–55mm kit price included a lens, but buyers should weigh the DSLR system against their longer-term needs.
- Wildlife or sports: The EOS R7’s APS-C format may be relevant, but the roundup supplied no price to prove it was discounted.
- Renewed bargain hunting: The T6 or 4000D/Rebel T100 bundles only make sense if condition, seller, warranty, returns and accessory contents check out.
These are use-case matches, not claims that every listing was the best available purchase. The roundup did not provide a consistent price-history comparison, exact retailer terms for every model or complete specifications for assessing value.
Best Value
- A partially stacked Exmor RS CMOS image sensor features high-speed circuitry above and below the sensing layer. Sensor readout is approx. 4.5 x*1 faster than the α7 IV, maximum shutter speed is 1/16000 s, *2 blackout-free bursts at up to 30 fps are available with AF/AE tracking, *3 and video can be recorded at 4K 120p.*4 This advanced sensor contributes up to an unprecedented 16 stops of dynamic range*5 with smooth gradations.
- The new BIONZ XR2 processing engine delivers dramatic improvements in image and sound quality, communication, integration, and operation. It also incorporates AI-based Real-time Recognition AF and*6 Real-time Tracking, *7 plus accurate, stable color reproduction. A lightweight RAW format has been included, while user interface, networking, and file management functions have been refined for smooth workflow.
- The new 33.0-megapixel*8 sensor and BIONZ XR2 processing engine work together to deliver up to 16 stops of dynamic range. *9 Lifelike gradations from shadows to highlights enable highly effective HDR processing when needed, and effective noise reduction applied at all sensitivities achieves high resolution throughout the ISO 100-51200 still and movie range (expandable to 50-204800 for stills and 100-102400 for movies).
- An advanced optical stabilization unit, gyro sensors, and algorithm accurately detect and correct image shake. Up to 7.5-step central and 6.5-step peripheral stabilization*14 allows handheld shooting without having to boost sensitivity. The body also works with compatible lenses*15 for even better stabilization. Even shake that is amplified at telephoto focal lengths is effectively suppressed.
- AI processing in the new BIONZ XR2 processing engine improves recognition by approximately 30% over the α7 IV. Human pose estimation technology uses detailed form and pose data to achieve reliable human eye recognition as well as accurate recognition of body and head position, even with challenging subjects. Multiple subjects can also be recognized, making it possible to track the desired subject.
How to check whether a camera deal is worth buying
- Match the exact model and package. Confirm the full model name and whether the price is for a body or a kit. For a kit, identify the actual lens rather than relying on the word “kit.”
- Confirm condition and seller. Distinguish new, renewed, manufacturer-refurbished, retailer-refurbished and used. Read the seller’s warranty, return window and exclusions before checkout.
- Compare a current street price. A crossed-out list price or percentage saving does not by itself prove a genuine bargain or a record low. Check comparable listings for the same model, condition and package.
- Calculate the complete system cost. Add a suitable lens if the offer is body-only, plus any batteries, memory cards, audio or support gear required for your work. Check mount compatibility before assuming existing lenses will fit.
- Check whether the camera fits the job. Compare autofocus, video requirements, stabilization expectations, battery needs and card setup against your use. Do not assume a cinema body is a better general-purpose camera or that a DSLR discount makes it a sensible mirrorless upgrade.
- Verify stock and delivery at checkout. Retail prices and inventory change; an unavailable or backordered item is not an actionable deal. Include sales tax and shipping in the final cost.
What camera promotions were listed in 2026?
The 2025 Black Friday prices above should be treated as historical unless a retailer independently relists them. A separate Canon camera-deals page showed different offers in the August 2026 snapshot: the EOS R100 body at $479.99 versus $559.99, the 18–45mm kit at $599.99 versus $679.99, and the dual-lens kit at $799.99 versus $929.99. The same page listed the PowerShot V1 at $899 versus $1,029 and the EOS C80 body at $5,599 versus $5,849. Those are distinct promotions, not continuations of the 2025 Black Friday deals. Prices, stock and configurations can change; Canon’s page also marked some products out of stock or backordered. Check the Canon camera-deals page for current terms and availability.
A Best Buy camera search listing in the August 2026 snapshot showed a Sony ZV-E10 at $849.99 with a stated $50 saving and a Canon EOS R100 dual-lens kit at $649.99 with a stated $180 saving. The latter differs from the Canon-direct dual-lens kit price above, so verify the precise configuration, seller and live price rather than treating the listings as interchangeable. See Best Buy’s camera listings for a fresh check. Neither listing establishes that a 2025 promotion remains active.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




