There is no single best small-business checking account: the right choice depends on whether you need branches and cash deposits, how much you keep in checking, and whether you can reliably meet a fee-waiver requirement. The available provider terms here are current as of October 8, 2026—not verified April 2026 terms—so this guide compares them as current reference points rather than describing what was available in April.
Compare the account features that affect your business
Start with the way money moves through your business, not the headline APY. A monthly fee that can be waived is still a cost if the balance, card spending, or other activity needed for the waiver is outside your normal routine. Similarly, a yield matters only if your balance qualifies and the account’s payment and cash-handling features fit.
- Cash and branches: If you regularly deposit cash or need teller service, confirm nearby branch access and the account’s included cash-deposit allowance.
- Transactions: Check included checks, debits, and deposits, plus any per-item charge after the limit.
- Payments: Consider ACH, wires, bill pay, and payment acceptance based on the channels your business actually uses.
- Balances and yield: Compare the APY alongside eligibility and activity conditions; do not assume the advertised rate applies to every balance or account holder.
- Bookkeeping: Verify that the account connects to the accounting tools you use and understand any promotional conditions.
- Bank and insurance: Identify the institution holding deposits and the terms under which deposit insurance applies.
Current terms at a glance
The figures below come from provider pages accessed October 8, 2026, except Bank of America’s fee schedule, which is effective September 23, 2026. They do not establish the terms that applied in April 2026. Confirm the latest disclosures and eligibility before applying.
| Account | Monthly fee and waiver | Yield | Transaction and cash details | Access and provider |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bluevine Standard | $0 monthly fee. | 1.3% APY; eligibility terms apply. | Not stated on the cited pricing page. | Bluevine is a financial technology company, not a bank. Coastal Community Bank provides banking services. [Bluevine plan and pricing page] |
| Bluevine Plus | $30 per month. Waived only by meeting both a $20,000 average daily balance and $2,000 in monthly debit-card spend. | 1.75% APY. | Not stated on the cited pricing page. | Banking services provided by Coastal Community Bank. [Bluevine plan and pricing page] |
| Bluevine Premier | $95 per month. Waived only by meeting both a $100,000 average daily balance and $5,000 in monthly debit-card spend. | 3.0% APY. | Not stated on the cited pricing page. | Banking services provided by Coastal Community Bank. [Bluevine plan and pricing page] |
| Chase Business Complete Banking | $15 per month; one published waiver route is a $2,000 minimum daily ending balance. Chase lists other qualifying routes. | Not stated on the cited account page. | Up to 20 paper and teller transactions and $5,000 in in-branch cash deposits per statement cycle are included. | Chase reports access to more than 14,000 ATMs and 5,000 branches. Check local access and current terms. [Chase Business Complete Banking] |
| Bank of America Business Advantage Fundamentals | $16 per month under a fee schedule effective September 23, 2026. Waiver routes include a $5,000 combined average monthly balance in eligible linked business deposits, at least $500 in qualifying net business debit-card purchases, or Preferred Rewards for Business eligibility. | Not stated on the cited fee page. | First 20 relevant checks, debits, and deposited items have no fee; additional items cost $0.45 each. Cash deposit processing is free for the first $5,000 per statement cycle, then $0.30 per $100. | See the fee schedule for the account’s terms. [Bank of America business deposit fees] |
“Not stated” means the cited page used for this comparison did not establish the detail; it does not mean the service is unavailable. The providers’ pages are not a complete, like-for-like account disclosure, so review each account’s current fee schedule and terms.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →#1 Best Overall
- Manage your payments and deposit transactions
- Check balances and generate reports to monitor your business finances
- Email and fax reports to your accountant
- Create and track quotes, invoices and more
- Connect to the app with secure web access
Which account may fit your business?
Bluevine Standard: a no-monthly-fee option with conditional interest
Bluevine’s October 8, 2026 pricing page lists Standard at $0 per month and 1.3% APY, subject to eligibility terms. That makes it a candidate if you want an online-first account and do not want a monthly plan charge, but the cited pricing page does not establish its transaction limits, cash-deposit arrangements, or branch access. Check those details against your workflow before choosing it.
Bluevine Plus or Premier: higher listed yields, but demanding fee waivers
As of October 8, 2026, Plus lists 1.75% APY with a $30 monthly fee, while Premier lists 3.0% APY with a $95 monthly fee. Each plan’s fee waiver requires both the stated average daily balance and debit-card spending threshold. Do not treat either plan as free unless your business can consistently meet both conditions. Compare the value of the yield on your expected balance with the fee you would pay if a condition is missed.
Rank #2
- You can now print to blank check stock. Customization of the check layout is "not" possible at this time. Check the Help file for additional details.
- Electronic form filing for W-2, 1099-NEC and 1099-MISC is available through a third party service (there is a nominal fee for this service).
- Tax forms for 2022
- Includes tax tables for 2023
- Support for new 1099-NEC form
Bluevine says deposits are insured up to $3,000,000 per depositor through Coastal Community Bank and program banks, subject to pass-through insurance conditions. This is Bluevine’s description of its arrangement, not a guarantee of unconditional coverage; review the applicable terms and how your funds are held.
Chase Business Complete Banking: consider it when cash and branch access matter
Chase’s current account page lists a $15 monthly service fee and describes several ways to qualify for a waiver, including maintaining a $2,000 minimum daily ending balance. It also lists up to 20 paper and teller transactions and $5,000 in in-branch cash deposits per statement cycle, plus access to more than 14,000 ATMs and 5,000 branches. These features may be useful if your business handles cash or needs in-person service; verify a convenient branch and the latest account disclosure before opening.
Rank #3
- TRUSTED ACCOUNTING SOFTWARE: For 42 years, Sage has supported small businesses with reliable accounting software to grow their business. Sage 50 Premium Accounting (formerly Peachtree Accounting) includes a one-year Sage Business Care plan with access to online support. Trusted by accountants and bookkeepers for decades.
- SIMPLE TO START: Powerful 1-User Accounting Software designed for small businesses. Choose from various business models to create the right chart of accounts, easily pay bills, invoice customers, and track costs with confidence using Sage 50 Accounting.
- PAY BILLS & INVOICE: Spend less time on administrative tasks with bookkeeping and invoicing software that lets you easily pay bills and invoice customers while tracking billable and non-billable costs for each job. Streamline daily financial management and reporting.
- CALCULATE JOB COSTS & MANAGE INVENTORY: Use job costing by phase and cost type to calculate job profitability and make informed business decisions. Track inventory to ensure you have what you need, when you need it, with powerful inventory management software and reporting tools.
- MANAGE FINANCES: Audit trails and advanced budgeting tools help you stay on top of business performance and finances. Create purchase orders, manage expenses, track spending, and utilize payroll and financial reporting capabilities to support business growth.
Bank of America Fundamentals: check the transaction and cash thresholds
Bank of America’s fee schedule, effective September 23, 2026, lists a $16 monthly fee for Business Advantage Fundamentals and several waiver routes. Its stated included transaction and cash-deposit thresholds can help estimate costs, but businesses exceeding them should account for the additional per-item and cash-processing charges. These are October-current details, not evidence of April 2026 pricing.
How to choose based on your cash flow
- Estimate a typical month. Write down your average checking balance, cash deposits, check and debit activity, and incoming and outgoing electronic payments.
- Price the fee you are likely to pay. For each candidate, test whether your ordinary balance or activity meets a waiver. If a waiver requires multiple behaviors, confirm you can meet all of them every month.
- Model yield against fees. Use your expected eligible balance and the provider’s current APY conditions. If a paid plan’s fee is not waived, compare the interest earned with the recurring charge rather than looking at the APY alone.
- Confirm the operational fit. Check cash-deposit locations, ATM and branch access, included transactions, overage fees, wire and ACH options, and payment acceptance.
- Check the bank, eligibility, and insurance terms. Review who holds the funds, how coverage is structured, who may apply, and whether the account’s terms fit your business entity and location.
- Verify integrations and offers directly. Confirm accounting connections and the conditions of any promotion through the provider before relying on them.
What to know about accounting integrations and comparison pages
Bluevine’s pricing page describes a Xero promotion: six months free for Plus and Premier customers and three months for Standard customers when signing up through the Bluevine dashboard. This is a provider promotion; check its current eligibility and terms. It is not evidence that Xero is included permanently or that the offer applies through other signup routes.
Rank #4
- TRUSTED ACCOUNTING SOFTWARE: For 42 years, Sage has supported small businesses with reliable accounting software to grow their business. Sage 50 Pro Accounting (formerly Peachtree Accounting Software) includes a one-year Sage Business Care plan with access to online support. Trusted by accountants and bookkeepers for decades.
- SIMPLE TO START: Powerful 1-User Accounting Software designed for small businesses. Choose from various business models to create the right chart of accounts and customize reports in real time with no prior accounting knowledge required.
- PAY BILLS & INVOICE: Spend less time on administrative tasks with bookkeeping and invoicing software that lets you easily pay bills, invoice customers, and track billable and non-billable costs for each job. Improve efficiency with Sage 50 Accounting.
- IMPROVE CASH FLOW: Use job costing to calculate job profitability and make more informed business decisions. Monitor cash flow, track payments and expenses, and manage finances with confidence using accounting software for small business.
- MANAGE INVENTORY: Keep track of inventory to ensure you have what you need, when you need it. Create purchase orders, manage expenses, and track spending with ease using inventory management software designed for growing businesses.
Bluevine’s feature comparison, published May 19, 2026, discusses Bluevine, Mercury, Axos, Chase, Relay, and Novo; its July-verified Novo and Mercury comparison was published August 4, 2026. These provider-authored pages can suggest features to compare, but their characterizations are not independent rankings. Verify each competitor’s current terms with that provider before making a decision. [Bluevine feature comparison] [Bluevine comparison of Novo and Mercury]
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Can this guide establish which account was best in April 2026?
No. The available account terms include information published or effective after April 2026, and the cited material does not establish dated April disclosures for these accounts. In particular, Bank of America’s fee schedule is effective September 23, 2026, while Bluevine’s named yield and plan figures and Chase’s listed fee and access details are current reference points accessed October 8, 2026. Use them to compare the stated current terms, not to infer historical April prices, rates, or features.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- See business, rental & personal finances together & separately
- Get built-in Schedule C & E tax reports, P&L, cash flow & more
- Manage your rental properties
- Plus get our best-in-class personal finance tools
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




