The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →For U.S. businesses, Square is the clearest verified option for getting a first credit card reader at no upfront cost: eligible first-account holders can claim one magstripe reader. It accepts swipe payments only, and card processing still costs money. Vagaro and a Clover Go promotion may also provide hardware free under specific conditions; PayPal is a paid-reader comparison, while Shaw Merchant Group advertises free equipment without enough published pricing to judge its total cost.
That means these six providers are not six equivalent free-reader deals. Compare the device, payment fees, monthly charges, and cancellation terms before signing up.
What “free credit card reader” means
A free device only removes or reduces the upfront hardware price. It does not make card acceptance free. Before choosing, check the processing rate and per-transaction fee, any monthly account charge or minimum, the contract term, and what happens if you cancel. Also confirm whether the reader accepts swipe, chip, or contactless payments and works with your phone or tablet.
The prices below are provider-specific U.S. figures reported on the linked pages as of October 7, 2026, unless a different date is stated. Providers can change rates and promotions; confirm the terms for your account and location before ordering.
#1 Best Overall
- MSR90 is a USB emulation keyboard interface that not need any driver or software,USB simply plug and play
- Reads up to 3 tracks of information,can reads ISO7811, AAMVA, CA DMV and most other card data formats
- Threaded inserts for mounting. LED indicator, green light is on when connecting,green light blinks when cards swiped
- Bi-directional swipe reading, superior reading of high jitter, scratched, and worn magstripe cards, reliable for over 1,000,000 card swipes
- Configuration software makes configuration changes easy,works with: Windows OS and Mac OS
Six providers and what their offers actually include
| Provider | Reader price or offer | Processing or conditions | Best fit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Square (U.S.) | One free magstripe reader for an eligible first Square account; additional readers are $10. | Square lists 2.6% + 15¢ for tap, dip, or swipe transactions on Square Free. The free reader itself accepts swipes only. See Square’s reader page, Square Support, and Square’s fees page. | A small business that can accept swipe payments and qualifies for the first-reader offer. |
| Vagaro (U.S.) | Support documentation describes a free reader when you activate Vagaro credit card processing. | Vagaro’s support page, updated March 16, 2026, says processing is free below $4,000 in monthly volume and $10/month at or above that threshold. Cancelling or deactivating within 12 months can trigger a charge for the reader’s price. Review Vagaro’s processing terms and reader-order information. | A service business already considering Vagaro that has reviewed the processing and 12-month conditions. |
| Clover Go through Clover Pay Processing (U.S.) | The channel advertises a free Clover Go through December 31, 2026, for qualified businesses without a First Data Merchant Services account during 2026. | New accounts require credit approval and underwriting. The offer does not establish that Clover hardware is free through every processor. Get the processor agreement, monthly charges, and equipment terms in writing. See Clover Pay Processing’s offer. | A business that qualifies through this particular channel and can compare the full written agreement. |
| Shaw Merchant Group | The company advertises free equipment, shipping, and setup help. | The cited page does not disclose enough pricing, eligibility, or equipment-ownership terms to establish the offer’s total cost. Request a written quote and agreement before committing. See Shaw Merchant Group’s terminal page. | A business willing to obtain and scrutinize a complete quote; not a proven low-cost choice based on the published offer alone. |
| PayPal Point of Sale (U.S.) | Not free on the cited U.S. pricing page: $29 for a first reader for a new business user; $79 for standard or additional readers. | PayPal lists 2.29% + $0.09 for card-present processing. Its offer can change or be suspended. See PayPal’s U.S. pricing and hardware page. | A paid-reader comparison for businesses evaluating PayPal’s card-present fees and hardware. |
| PayPal Zettle / PayPal Point of Sale (U.K.) | The U.K. page lists a reader from £29 for eligible new business users. | The same page lists a 1.75% transaction fee. This is a U.K.-only paid option, not a U.S. free-reader offer. See PayPal Zettle’s U.K. reader page. | A U.K. business comparing a paid reader in its own market. |
How to choose among the options
Choose Square if swipe-only acceptance works
Square’s published U.S. offer is the most straightforward first-reader giveaway in this group, but the free Reader for magstripe cannot take chip cards. Square Support says, “You are eligible for one free Square Reader for magstripe on your first Square account.” The offer is limited to one redemption for the first account holder. Confirm account eligibility and connector compatibility before ordering. If customers may use chip cards, compare the cost of a chip-capable reader rather than assuming this free model covers that need.
Square’s stated 2.6% + 15¢ rate applies to tap, dip, or swipe transactions on Square Free; the existence of a free device does not waive these processing charges. Check the current Square fee page for applicable terms.
Rank #2
- USB interface, keyboard emulation, no need to install software to read, configuration software for changing settings available.
- Read data from all 3 tracks, high and low coercivity cards, ISO7811, AAMVA, CA DMV and most magnetic card data formats.
- Work on Windows, Mac and other USB capable systems. Work with TXT, notepad, Word, Excel, POS systems and son on.
- Compact size, with 145cm USB cord, two 3mm-diameter screw holes for fixing at the bottom, a LED indicator light
- Perfect for POS, Banking, Loyalty, Access Control, ID verification and other applications.
Consider Vagaro only after checking the commitment
Vagaro’s reader offer is connected to activating its processing service, not an unconditional hardware giveaway. Its U.S. support documentation sets out a $10 monthly processing charge at or above $4,000 in monthly volume and says cancelling or deactivating within 12 months can result in a charge for the reader. Read the current activation details and reader terms for the full conditions.
Treat the Clover offer as channel-specific
The advertised Clover Go promotion is through Clover Pay Processing and runs through December 31, 2026, for qualified businesses meeting the stated account condition. Credit approval and underwriting apply. Ask for the actual processor agreement and written details of recurring charges, equipment ownership, and cancellation terms; the promotion is not evidence of a free reader from every Clover provider.
Rank #3
- [CAC & NFC Smart Card Reader 2-IN-1] This USB 2-in-1 nfc reader writer supports both traditional contact-based CAC cards and new contactless NFC cards. Simply tap to read compatible NFC IDs, access cards, debit, credit, driver license, in addition to standard inserted military and government smart cards. Connects to your computer/laptop via a USB cable. Plug-and-play.
- [Dual Technology] NFC reader and CAC reader, designed for secure authentication in high-risk environments. CAC contact smart card reader interface supports: Supports PC/SC standards, ISO7816 Class A (5V) and Class B (3.3V), T=0, T=1. NFC contactless smart card reader interface supports: ISO14443A&B type, ISO14443-4 compatible card T=CL, and MIFARE
- [Broad Application] FCC/CE/VCCI/CCID/ Micro soft WHQL certified for secure transactions. Perfect for government, banking, enterprise, and personal use. Smart id card reader Ideal for contactless verification with NFC-enabled ID cards, as well as for identity verification applications such as tax returns, pension insurance, vehicle registration, and criminal records.NOTE: 1.Applications for tax returns, credit card payments, etc., are not included; 2.Does not include third-party card editing software. 3.Not compatible with health insurance cards. Health insurance cards cannot be used with health apps.
- [Universal Compatibility] Plug and Play, no drivers needed for most systems; supports Windows XP+, MacOS 11.1+, Linux Fedora FC8+, Android. CCID-certified for seamless performance on laptops, PCs, and USB-A devices.
- [Compact and Portable] CAC & NFC reader has 3ft cable length for more space at your workspace. Thanks to its compact size and lightweight design, our USB ID card reader is ideal for professionals who need to access secure systems at work or on the go. This gives you access to your data anytime, anywhere. The integrated, reinforced cable and rugged housing ensure ultimate durability, making it a reliable companion for your needs. (Use one at a time)
Get Shaw’s complete terms before comparing
“Free equipment” is not enough to determine total cost when eligibility, processing rates, monthly fees, and ownership terms are not stated on the cited page. Request a written quote covering all charges and the device terms. Compare that quote with other providers’ full agreements, not just the advertised hardware price.
Use PayPal as a paid alternative, not a free offer
PayPal’s cited U.S. pricing lists a $29 first reader for a new business user, $79 standard or additional readers, and 2.29% + $0.09 for card-present transactions. The U.K. Zettle page instead lists a reader from £29 for eligible new users and a 1.75% transaction fee. These are separate markets and offers: do not apply U.K. pricing to a U.S. business.
Rank #4
- Plug and Play: MSR123 Magnetic credit card reader is easy to operate.USB interface, keyboard emulation. Connect it to your laptop or desktop computer with the provided USB cable, and you're ready to go– no further software or power supply necessary. The swiper light turns green, and it's ready to go.
- Powerful:Read data from all 3 tracks, high and low coercivity cards, ISO7811, AAMVA, CA DMV and most magnetic card data formats.
- Compact size: with 145cm USB cord, two 3mm-diameter screw holes for fixing at the bottom, a LED indicator light
- Cost effective: This low-cost card reader has three tracks, allowing it to perform triple duty in your business, accept payments, collect data, limit access, verify identification, and keep track of time using it. Compatibility: Work on Windows, Mac and other USB capable systems. Work with TXT, notepad, Word, Excel, POS systems and son on.
- Application extensive:Perfect for POS, Banking, Loyalty, Access Control, ID verification and other applications.
Questions to ask before ordering
- Is the reader actually free? Confirm eligibility, whether the offer is limited to a first account or a particular processor, and whether a later charge applies.
- Do I still pay transaction fees? Yes, a free device does not itself eliminate processing fees. Compare both the percentage and fixed per-transaction fee that apply to your account.
- Does the free reader take chip cards? Square’s free magstripe reader is swipe-only. Confirm the exact model’s capabilities with any other provider.
- Can I use it with my phone? Check the required connector and compatibility with your specific phone or tablet before claiming an offer.
- What will I owe if I stop using the service? Ask about contract duration, cancellation charges, equipment recapture, and whether you own the device once it is supplied.
U.K. readers: two paid comparisons
The U.K. pages cited here do not establish free-reader deals. SumUp’s comparison page lists a reader starting at £25, while PayPal Zettle’s U.K. page lists a reader from £29 for eligible new business users and a 1.75% transaction fee. These are market-specific figures, not U.S. prices. See SumUp’s U.K. comparison page and Zettle’s U.K. card reader page.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.




