Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

Affordable Crossovers That Can Tow More Than 3,000 Pounds: 2026 Buyer’s Guide

Three 2026 crossover candidates have manufacturer-supported ratings above 3,000 pounds, while a fourth RAV4 claim awaits Toyota confirmation. Check trim, hitch, drivetrain, and qualifying-model price before buying.
From TheFinanceBase Team4 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Among the 2026 crossovers with manufacturer information verified here, the Subaru Crosstrek Wilderness, qualifying Subaru Outback trims, and Mazda CX-50 2.5 Turbo are rated to tow up to 3,500 pounds. The 2026 Toyota RAV4 is also reported at up to 3,500 pounds for qualifying all-wheel-drive trims, but that figure needs confirmation in Toyota’s own model-year specifications. That is not enough verified evidence to responsibly recommend ten vehicles.

For this guide, “affordable” means an approximate starting price below $55,000, following the selection filter used by a 2026 secondary comparison—not a universal definition of affordability. More importantly, an entry-level price may not buy the engine, trim, drivetrain, or equipment needed for the advertised tow rating. Compare the price of the qualifying configuration before deciding what fits your budget.

Which 2026 crossovers are verified to tow more than 3,000 pounds?

The official manufacturer information available here confirms three crossover candidates. Each reaches the threshold only in a specified configuration or set of trims; the rating does not apply automatically to every vehicle with the same model name.

Model and qualifying configuration Maximum published capacity Conditions and price context
Subaru Crosstrek Wilderness 3,500 lb Subaru’s 2026 information identifies the Wilderness as the qualifying Crosstrek trim. Most other Crosstrek models are rated up to 1,500 lb. Qualifying-trim MSRP: not stated by the cited source. Subaru Crosstrek specifications
Subaru Outback Wilderness, Limited XT, and Touring XT 3,500 lb Subaru identifies these 2026 trims as rated for 3,500 lb. Qualifying-trim MSRP: not stated by the cited source. Subaru Outback specifications
Mazda CX-50 2.5 Turbo 3,500 lb Mazda conditions the figure on engaging Towing Mode and using a genuine Mazda hitch. Qualifying 2.5 Turbo MSRP: not stated by the cited source. The separately stated $29,900 starting MSRP is for the 2.5 S Select, which is rated up to 2,000 lb with a genuine Mazda hitch—not the qualifying Turbo. Mazda CX-50

Subaru Crosstrek Wilderness

The Wilderness is the Crosstrek configuration that clears the threshold in Subaru’s 2026 information: up to 3,500 pounds. The much lower rating for most other Crosstrek models makes it especially important to check the trim rather than rely on the nameplate. Subaru does not state the Wilderness’s qualifying-trim price in the cited specifications, so the base price of a different Crosstrek should not be used as its purchase-price comparison.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Pirelli Scorpion STR 245/50R 20 102H SUV/Crossover Tire
  • The ultra-high performance, all-season tire choice for drivers seeking true, year-round traction; All new Sport Plus Technology provides precise handling; security on wet, slippery roads; and excellent tread life
  • Quick View Indicators visually inform drivers to the level tires are performing in dry, wet and snow and the need to check vehicle’s alignment
  • Traction Grooves improve snow performance through increased pattern edges, while X-Sipe technology improves braking, cornering and acceleration in wet, snow and ice
  • 50, 000 mile Limited Mileage
  • This product is not for sale in the state of Arkansas

Subaru Outback

The 3,500-pound figure applies to the Wilderness, Limited XT, and Touring XT, not necessarily every Outback. Subaru’s specifications do not state the prices of those qualifying trims here. Check the exact trim’s current MSRP and equipment before comparing it with a household budget.

Mazda CX-50 2.5 Turbo

The CX-50 is a clear example of why model-level towing claims and entry prices can mislead: Mazda rates 2.5 S models up to 2,000 pounds and 2.5 Turbo models up to 3,500 pounds. The Turbo rating requires Towing Mode and a genuine Mazda hitch. Mazda lists a $29,900 starting MSRP for the 2.5 S Select, but that is not the price of the qualifying Turbo configuration.

Rank #2
Sale
Vantage SUV 225/65R17 102H SUV/Crossover Tire
  • All-season tire for SUVs
  • Enhanced shoulder design for stability and handling
  • Dense network of sipes and angled grooves provide winter grip
  • All-season tread pattern for year-round performance
  • Tread pitch is tuned for low highway noise

What about the 2026 Toyota RAV4?

An Associated Press story dated August 5, 2026, reporting an Edmunds recommendation, says that 2026 RAV4 SE and higher trims can tow up to 3,500 pounds with all-wheel drive; it says the LE is limited to 1,750 pounds. This is a useful lead, but the figure is not corroborated here by Toyota’s own model-year specifications. Treat it as unconfirmed until Toyota’s current specifications or owner’s manual verify the rating and the exact drivetrain and equipment requirements. Associated Press report on the 2026 RAV4

Why isn’t this a list of ten confirmed picks?

A 2026 secondary comparison names ten candidates: Jeep Grand Cherokee, Toyota 4Runner, Nissan Pathfinder, Ford Explorer, Chevrolet Traverse, GMC Acadia, Volkswagen Atlas, Honda Pilot, Subaru Ascent, and Kia Sorento. It reports maximum capacities ranging from 4,500 to 6,200 pounds and uses an approximate under-$55,000 starting-price filter. Those are the comparison’s claims, not a verified set of ten recommendations. The evidence available here does not establish manufacturer ratings, qualifying trim and drivetrain, required tow equipment, and qualifying-configuration price for each vehicle. Presenting all ten as confirmed would risk treating a maximum rating as if it applied to every build.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Vantage SUV 235/65R18 106T SUV/Crossover Tire
  • All-season tire for SUVs
  • Enhanced shoulder design for stability and handling
  • Dense network of sipes and angled grooves provide winter grip
  • All-season tread pattern for year-round performance
  • Tread pitch is tuned for low highway noise

The same caution applies to the Subaru Forester. Subaru’s comparison page gives conflicting Wilderness figures: 3,000 pounds in prose and 3,500 pounds in its model listing. Because the threshold is strictly more than 3,000 pounds, that conflict does not establish a confirmed qualifying rating. Do not count the Forester without an unambiguous model-year specification or manual.

How to compare the real cost of a crossover that can tow

  1. Identify the qualifying configuration. Confirm the model year, trim, engine, and drivetrain tied to the rating. For example, the Crosstrek figure belongs to the Wilderness, while Subaru lists only three Outback trims at 3,500 pounds.
  2. Check required equipment and operating conditions. Confirm whether a tow package or particular hitch is required, and whether the vehicle must use a specified setting. Mazda’s CX-50 Turbo rating requires a genuine Mazda hitch and Towing Mode.
  3. Price that exact configuration. Compare its model-year MSRP—not a base model’s price—with your budget. The cited Mazda $29,900 starting price is for a 2.5 S Select that does not reach the 3,000-pound threshold.
  4. Verify the tow rating in the vehicle’s own documentation. Use the current manufacturer specifications and owner’s manual for the exact build. If a secondary source conflicts with official information or omits conditions, do not assume the higher figure applies.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Does a 3,500-pound rating mean your trailer is safe to tow?

No. A maximum tow rating alone cannot establish that a particular loaded trailer is suitable for a particular vehicle. Before towing, check the exact vehicle’s manual and account for the loaded trailer weight, vehicle payload, tongue load, passengers, cargo, hitch rating, and any required trailer brakes or other equipment. These limits interact: a vehicle can meet its trailer rating while still exceeding a separate payload or hitch limit.

Rank #4
Set of 4 (FOUR) Mastertrack M-TRAC CUV 225/55R18 98V Tires
  • Size: 225/55R18, Tire Only - Wheel/Rim Not Included. Each tire comes with a complimentary Road Hazard Warranty and Tread Wear Out Warranty. Coverage applies to specific failures such as bulges, air leaks, or blowouts occurring within 3 years of purchase and and within the first 4/32nds of an inch of tread wear (Since October 1, 2025).
  • Advanced Tread Blocks: Optimized design delivers superior wet handling and minimizes road noise, ensuring a more refined driving experience.
  • Shoulder Blocks: The increased tread pattern stiffness enhances handling and cornering stability, delivering precise steering response for modern SUVs.
  • Lateral Grooves: Four wide drainage channels effectively prevent hydroplaning while delivering dependable traction in all seasons.
  • Enhanced Siping: Engineered to improve handling performance across diverse road conditions while minimizing uneven wear for enhanced durability and safety.

Use the tow rating as one screening criterion, not as a substitute for the vehicle-specific towing instructions. The trailer’s actual loaded weight and the vehicle’s real configuration matter more than a model’s headline maximum.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
Pirelli Scorpion STR 245/50R 20 102H SUV/Crossover Tire
Pirelli Scorpion STR 245/50R 20 102H SUV/Crossover Tire
50, 000 mile Limited Mileage; This product is not for sale in the state of Arkansas
$160.22
SaleBestseller No. 2
Vantage SUV 225/65R17 102H SUV/Crossover Tire
Vantage SUV 225/65R17 102H SUV/Crossover Tire
All-season tire for SUVs; Enhanced shoulder design for stability and handling; Dense network of sipes and angled grooves provide winter grip
$96.95
Bestseller No. 3
Vantage SUV 235/65R18 106T SUV/Crossover Tire
Vantage SUV 235/65R18 106T SUV/Crossover Tire
All-season tire for SUVs; Enhanced shoulder design for stability and handling; Dense network of sipes and angled grooves provide winter grip
$104.92
Best Value
ATTURO AZ600 All-Season Touring Tire, 235/60R18 107V XL
  • THE CABIN STAYS QUIET. THAT IS THE POINT: You value silence on your commute. The optimized tread pattern and tread design reduce road noise to the level where you hear your music, your podcast, your conversation. The optimized tread pattern keeps it that way for the full life of the tire. UTQG 560 A A.
  • TRACKS STRAIGHT MILE AFTER MILE: You drive long highway stretches and the tire holds its line. Continuous outside ribs maintain a stable contact patch at speed. Steering stays planted and predictable, exit after exit, lane change after lane change.
  • DRY ROADS. WET ROADS. LIGHT SNOW. COVERED: You drive year-round and expect the same confidence in July and January. Dense sipe and groove network grips in rain and clears standing water. The all-season compound stays flexible across temperature swings for stable traction in light winter conditions.
  • 60,000 MILES OF WARRANTY BEHIND EVERY SET: You buy tires expecting them to last. 10/32nds of tread depth across every size. The advanced rubber compound resists heat and distributes wear evenly across the contact patch. Atturo backs the AZ600 with a 60,000-mile treadwear warranty. That is real mileage, backed by the manufacturer.
  • BUILT-IN RIM GUARD PROTECTS YOUR WHEELS: You park on city streets and navigate tight spots. A raised rubber ridge along the sidewall shields your wheels from curb scuffs and light scrapes. 23 sizes from 16 to 22-inch rims, fitting cars, crossovers, SUVs, and pickups.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.