The federal student loan rule once described as “nearly final” is now final: the U.S. Department of Education published it on May 1, 2026, and it took effect July 1, 2026. It creates two repayment options, changes which existing plans remain available, revises loan limits and Graduate PLUS rules, and updates Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) and other loan administration provisions. What applies to you depends on your loan type, when it was disbursed, and your circumstances.
1. A new income-driven option: the Repayment Assistance Plan
The final rule establishes the Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP), a new income-driven repayment plan. Under the Department of Education’s summary of the final rule, RAP calculates payments based on income and provides for forgiveness after 30 years of payments. The plan also waives unpaid interest monthly and provides a matching principal payment of up to $50 per month.
These are RAP provisions, not a description of every federal repayment plan or a promise that every borrower will receive forgiveness after the same number of years. Eligibility and how the plan applies to an individual loan depend on the operative rules and the borrower’s loan history.
2. A new fixed-payment option: the Tiered Standard plan
The rule creates a Tiered Standard repayment plan with a fixed payment and a repayment term linked to the loan balance. For loans made on or after July 1, 2026, the published rule sets terms ranging from 10 to 25 years across balance tiers. The minimum monthly payment is $50, unless the amount due is lower.
#1 Best Overall
The balance tiers determine the term, but the Department’s summary does not provide the tier cutoffs. The plan’s eligibility and transition rules also mean it should not be treated as a universal option for every borrower or every existing loan.
How RAP and Tiered Standard differ
| Feature | Repayment Assistance Plan | Tiered Standard plan |
|---|---|---|
| Payment structure | Based on income | Fixed payment; term linked to loan balance |
| Term or forgiveness endpoint | Forgiveness after 30 years of payments under the plan | 10 to 25 years for loans made on or after July 1, 2026, across balance tiers |
| Interest and principal provisions | Monthly waiver of unpaid interest and matching principal payment of up to $50 per month | Not stated in the Department’s final-rule summary |
| Minimum monthly payment | Not stated in the Department’s final-rule summary | $50, except when the balance due is lower |
This comparison describes the provisions stated in the Department’s summary; it does not determine an individual borrower’s eligibility or whether payments under either plan qualify for PSLF.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
3. Existing repayment plans are being phased out or limited
The final rule restructures the repayment menu, phases out existing income-contingent repayment (ICR) plans, and creates RAP and Tiered Standard. Which plans a borrower may use depends on loan timing and the transition provisions in the regulation; the rule does not make every new option available to every borrower.
If you are already enrolled in a repayment plan, do not assume that a 2025 description of the proposed transition still states your current options. Check your official federal loan account and the final regulation’s provisions for your loan type and disbursement dates before changing plans.
Recommended Free Tools
Rank #3
4. Loan limits change, and Graduate PLUS is phased out
The rule implements revised annual and aggregate borrowing limits for graduate and professional students and parent borrowers, and phases out Graduate PLUS loans. It includes provisions for some existing borrowers, so the change is not simply a blanket cutoff for everyone who has borrowed before.
The Department estimates that the changes will result in 9.9 million fewer non-consolidated student loans being issued between 2026 and 2035 and a $223.9 billion reduction in non-consolidated federal student loan disbursements over that period. These are agency estimates in the final rule, not observed totals or a measured amount of borrower savings. The applicable limits and any grandfathering depend on the governing provisions and a borrower’s circumstances.
Rank #4
5. PSLF qualifying-payment rules and relief periods are revised
The rule amends PSLF eligibility and qualifying-payment provisions, including treatment of some deferments and repayment plans. That does not mean every period of deferment or hardship forbearance counts toward PSLF, or that every payment made under a new plan automatically qualifies.
For a specific employment, loan, payment, deferment, or forbearance scenario, consult current official PSLF guidance and the operative regulation. A borrower should verify how a period is treated before relying on it to reach the required qualifying-payment total.
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
6. Other changes cover consolidation, relief, and default rehabilitation
The final rule also updates provisions involving loan consolidation, deferment, forbearance, and borrower relief. It allows a second rehabilitation opportunity for borrowers who have previously rehabilitated a defaulted loan. These are administrative and default-related changes within a broad program update; they are not, by themselves, a general expansion of loan forgiveness.
How to work out which changes affect you
- Identify your loans. Confirm loan type, disbursement dates, and whether a loan is consolidated in your official federal loan account.
- Check plan eligibility and transition rules. Compare your loan details with the final regulation’s provisions rather than assuming that RAP or Tiered Standard is available to you.
- Compare the payment mechanics. Consider how a plan calculates the monthly amount, its repayment term or forgiveness endpoint, and its treatment of unpaid interest and principal.
- Verify PSLF separately. Check the current official guidance for whether your plan and any relevant deferment or forbearance period count toward PSLF.
- Confirm before acting. Use your official account information and the Department’s final rule for case-specific application; the rule’s broad descriptions do not resolve an individual borrower’s eligibility.
What changed since the “nearly final” reporting?
The phrase “nearly final” came from Adam S. Minsky’s Forbes article published November 17, 2025. It is no longer an accurate description of the rulemaking status: the Department published the final regulations on May 1, 2026, with an effective date of July 1, 2026. The final regulation—not the earlier forecast—is the controlling source for the provisions and their application.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




