As of October 4, 2026, the federal tax credits for most new, used and commercial clean-vehicle purchases have expired, as has the federal credit for qualifying home EV chargers placed in service after June 30, 2026. A limited transition rule may preserve a vehicle credit for buyers who signed a binding written contract and made a payment by September 30, 2025, even if they took possession later.
1. The new-EV tax credit is no longer generally available
Public Law 119-21, enacted July 4, 2025, ended the federal new clean vehicle credit under Internal Revenue Code section 30D for vehicles acquired after September 30, 2025. The IRS says the credit is available only for vehicles acquired on or before that date. For a typical buyer acquiring an EV now, the former federal credit is not available.
The change is a federal tax-credit cutoff, not proof of a particular effect on vehicle prices or sales. The official sources establish the law and its transition rules, but do not establish a numerical forecast for how much prices or EV adoption will change because of the cutoff alone.
2. Used-EV and commercial vehicle credits ended on the same date
The same September 30, 2025 acquisition deadline applies to the federal previously owned clean vehicle credit under section 25E and the qualified commercial clean vehicle credit under section 45W. Those credits are not generally available for vehicles acquired after the cutoff.
#1 Best Overall
- Flex Level 1 EV Charger - The EVDANCE Level 1 electric car charger is compatible with J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid vehicles (North American Standard). *Tesla requires a SAE J1772 adapter.
- Convenient to Use - This charger has both NEMA 6-20 plug for 16A 240V charging (3.68kW, 10-12 mi/h) and a NEMA 6-20 to 5-15 plug adapter for 12A 120V charging (1.44kW, 2-5 mi/h). The included bag makes it easier to carry on the go. It also has a 25ft cable length, you can use it flexibly from anywhere in the garage or driveway.
- Check Your Outlet Type -This charger works with standard 120V NEMA 5-15/5-20 outlets (2-5 mph charging speed) and 240V NEMA 6-20 outlets (10-12 mph) . It's not compatible with NEMA 6-15/10-30/14-30/14-50/6-50 outlets – you'll need a NEMA 14-50/14-30/10-30/6-50 to 6-20 adapter (sold separately) to connect.
- Compatible EV Models -This EV charger works with most major electric vehicles, including Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Audi, Nissan Ariya, Rivian R1S, Kia, and others. However, it's not compatible with Mini Cooper Electric Hardtop,Toyota Prus Prime/Z4X/RAV4Prime, Porsche Taycan Base/4S/Turbo/Turbo S or Tesla models (Tesla requires a J1772 to Tesla Adapter, sold separately). For a full list of compatible models, check out the Full Compatibility List on our product page.
- Indication Displays - LED display that can tell you the status as well as indicate errors while charging your electric vehicle.
| Federal credit | Who and what it covered | General cutoff |
|---|---|---|
| Section 30D | Individual buyers of qualifying new clean vehicles | Vehicle acquired after September 30, 2025 |
| Section 25E | Qualifying buyers of previously owned clean vehicles | Vehicle acquired after September 30, 2025 |
| Section 45W | Businesses and other qualifying purchasers of commercial clean vehicles | Vehicle acquired after September 30, 2025 |
| Section 30C | Qualifying property owners installing refueling or recharging property, including EV charging equipment | Property placed in service after June 30, 2026 |
The categories had different rules and eligible claimants. The table gives the general federal deadlines, not a determination that any particular vehicle or property would otherwise have qualified. See the IRS guidance on clean vehicle credits and the statutory changes in Public Law 119-21.
3. A contract and payment by the deadline may preserve a vehicle claim
The cutoff is based on acquisition, not necessarily the date the buyer drove the vehicle home. The IRS states: “For purposes of sections 25E, 30D, and 45W, a vehicle is ‘acquired’ as of the date a written binding contract is entered into and a payment has been made.” The IRS says a nominal down payment or trade-in can count as payment.
Rank #2
- [2026 INTELLIGENT CHARGING UPGRADE — PRECISION CONTROL MEETS SMART SCHEDULING] After surveying 100K+ U.S. EV owners, the Raylix R&D team found that nearly all drivers recognized the necessity of adjustable current and scheduled charging. Our upgraded J1772 charger features 4-level adjustable current (8A/10A/12A/16A) and a 1–12 hour smart delay timer. Whether you're charging overnight or during off-peak hours, enjoy smarter energy use, lower costs, and total convenience—on your schedule.
- [ONE CHARGER, ALL J1772 EVs/PHEVs READY!] Compatible with all SAE J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids—whether it’s Ford, GM, Nissan, Audi, BMW, Kia, Hyundai, Honda, Chevy, or more. Perfect for home or on-the-road charging, our 16A Level 1 & 2 charger ensures your EV is always powered and ready for any journey.
- [CHARGE 4× FASTER — NO MORE WAITING] In a rush? Our 16A Level 1 & 2 charger delivers charging speeds up to 4× faster than standard 8A Charger Level 1. Whether it's an early commute, a spontaneous trip, or last-minute errands, your EV will be ready when you are.
- [LEVEL 1 & 2 PORTABLE CHARGER — CHARGE ANYWHERE, ANYTIME] Designed for maximum flexibility, Raylix Level 1 & 2 EV charger features both 5-15 and 6-20 plug compatibility. Whether you're charging in your garage, at a friend's house, or at a roadside motel. NEMA 6-20 plug for Level 2 ev charging (240V, 16A, 3.68kW, 9-12 miles/hr) and a NEMA 5-15 adapter for Level 1 ev charging (120V, 12A, 1.44kW, 3-5 miles/hr) NOTE: In compliance with North American electrical safety standards, the charger automatically limits current to 12A when using a 5-15 outlet—protecting both your vehicle and your home’s electrical system.
- [AT-A-GLANCE CHARGING COMMAND: TOTAL CONTROL, INSTANTLY] While most ev chargers solutions confine vital data to in-car screens, the Raylix tesla charger breaks free with its enhanced TFT color display. This Raylix-exclusive feature delivers crystal-clear, real-time updates—voltage, current, power load, AND critical charging temperature—directly on the unit. Just one glance gives you complete charging insight. It’s not just information; it's the empowering peace of mind and satisfying control that transforms every charge into a masterfully managed experience.
That transition can matter if a buyer completed both steps by September 30, 2025, but took possession later. The buyer must still satisfy the other applicable rules, and the seller must provide and report required information. The IRS defines the placed-in-service point this way: “A vehicle is placed in service when you take possession of the vehicle.”
- Check the contract date: confirm that a written binding contract was entered into no later than September 30, 2025.
- Check that payment was made: retain evidence of a payment made by the deadline; IRS guidance says a nominal down payment or trade-in counts.
- Confirm possession: the vehicle must be placed in service, which the IRS says occurs when you take possession.
- Verify remaining requirements and reporting: check the applicable credit rules and seller documentation before filing.
Keep the contract, payment and seller records with your tax materials. The IRS FAQ offers general information and says it does not control over the law; consult the statute, current IRS forms and instructions, or a qualified tax professional for an individual claim. The IRS FAQ covering the transition and related rules is available at FAQs for modifications under Public Law 119-21.
Recommended Free Tools
Rank #3
- Universal J1772 Compatibility: Designed with a standard J1772 connector, this J1772 charger works with most J1772 electric vehicles and PHEVs, including BMW, Mercedes-Benz, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, Rivian, Ford, Chevy, Volkswagen, Toyota and more. Note: Tesla vehicles require a J1772 to Tesla adapter (not included)
- Flexible Outlet Compatibility: This portable EV charger comes with a NEMA 6-20 plug and a NEMA 5-15/5-20 to 6-20 adapter. Supports Level 1 (8–12A) and Level 2 (16A). Max 12A (1.44kW) on 120V NEMA 5-15/5-20 outlets, and full 16A (3.84kW) with a 240V NEMA 6-20 outlet. One charger is designed to cover home, garage, and travel charging needs with reliable performance
- Adjustable Smart Charging Control: Customize charging safely with adjustable current settings (8A/10A/12A/16A) to match different circuits. The 0–12 hour delay timer helps schedule overnight charging during lower electricity rates. Integrated LCD display shows real-time voltage, current, power, and charging status for clear monitoring without apps. Note: Press 'A' or 'T' for 3s to set and confirm.
- Home Charging & Travel Backup: For daily home use while remaining fully portable for travel. This level 1 ev charger includes a durable 25FT ev charging cord, providing flexible reach for garage or driveway charging. Charge overnight to take advantage of lower utility rates—potentially saving up to $500 annually on electricity costs. The included carrying case makes storage easy and keeps a dependable backup charger available in your trunk for road trips or visiting friends
- Engineered For Safety & Durability: Built for dependable daily use, this electric car charger features an IP65 waterproof rating for all weather operation. Equipped with a UL-listed cable, fully rubberized connector, and advanced protection against overcurrent, overheating, and electrical faults. Designed to ensure safe, stable, and long-term charging performance in demanding environments
4. The federal home-charger credit has also expired
Section 30C covered qualifying refueling and recharging property, including home EV charging equipment, subject to eligibility rules. The credit ended for property placed in service after June 30, 2026. As of October 4, 2026, a newly installed home charger placed in service after that date does not qualify under the expired federal deadline.
This cutoff concerns federal tax treatment, not whether a charger is worthwhile or whether another incentive exists. State, local, utility and manufacturer programs can have separate rules and funding; the federal sources do not determine their current availability. The IRS describes the charger credit and its termination in its alternative fuel vehicle refueling property credit guidance.
Rank #4
- Road-Trip Ready & Apartment-Friendly: Comes with a 20ft heavy-duty cable that easily spans a standard parking space, plus a NEMA 5-15 adapter for plug and play convenience. Whether you're charging at home or hitting the highway, this portable EV Charger is your ultimate travel companion for weekend getaways and camping trips
- Delay Timer & Adjustable Current: Use the built-in timer to delay your start by 1-12 hours and easily harvest off-peak energy savings. Then pick from 6/8/10/12/16A (Level 2) to match your garage grid. It automatically locks in your favorite setting and never forces you to re-adjust. No complicated apps or Wi-Fi needed, just straightforward, reliable control
- Tactile Buttons & LED Screen: No glitchy smartphone apps or finicky touchscreens that lag, freeze, and misfire in winter. Our EV charger is engineered with a high-definition LED display that tracks critical real-time data, including live voltage and current. Tactile buttons deliver direct, satisfying click feedback that remains highly responsive even when wearing heavy winter gloves or operating in torrential downpours—conditions where standard touchscreens completely fail
- ETL Certified Safety & IP65 All-Weather Shield: ETL certified to meet US safety standards for charging. Engineered with a certified IP65 dust-and-waterproof enclosure and a heavy-duty TPE cable that operates reliably across a wide -22°F to 130°F range. An intelligent multi-protection defense system (GFCI, over-voltage, over-current, surge, short-circuit, and over-temp) keeps a 24/7 watch for 100% safe, unattended overnight charging in any weather
- J1772 Compatible + Dual-Level Charging: Works with all J1772 EVs (Tesla requires a separate J1772 adapter). Level 2: built-in NEMA 6-20 plug. Level 1: included NEMA 5-15 adapter fits any standard outlet. Please confirm your outlet is NEMA 6-20 or 5-15 before purchase
5. Historical credit use shows what changed—not what buyers get today
Congressional Research Service figures illustrate the former individual-credit programs’ scale. They are historical 2023 figures, not current benefits or estimates of what a present-day buyer can claim.
| Credit category | Maximum credit described by CRS | 2023 recipients | 2023 average credit |
|---|---|---|---|
| New clean vehicle, section 30D | $7,500 | 487,990 | $6,709 |
| Previously owned clean vehicle, section 25E | $4,000 | 28,180 | $3,392 |
| Commercial clean vehicle, section 45W | $7,500 for light-duty vehicles; $40,000 for heavy-duty vehicles | Not stated in CRS’s table | Not stated in CRS’s table |
CRS’s 2025 report, citing IRS Statistics of Income data, reports the 2023 recipient counts and average amounts for the individual credits. The commercial credit figures are category maximums; the CRS table did not provide recipient data there. These values describe the programs before their termination, not a current entitlement.
Best Value
- 【Delay Timer - Adjustable Current】Ev charger can adjust the current (8A/10A/12A/16A) through the physical button of level 1 ev charger. Charging power can reach up to 3.68KW (240V/16A). One-touch switch for ev charger operation. Built-in 2–8 hour delay timer for off-peak charging to save on electricity bills.
- 【NEMA 6-20 Plug & NEMA 5-15 Adapter】Nema 6-20 plug for 240V outlets and 5-15 adapter for standard 120V realize plug-and-charge (With 5-15 adapter, need to adjust the current to 12A or below, otherwise the charger may be demeged). Overall length of ev charger level 2 is 27FT, providing enough charging distance across garages at home or outdoor. Portable storage bag supports you take portable EV Charger during travel, business trip, electric vehicle charging stations anywhere.
- 【ETL/FCC and IP67 Safety】J1772 charger is equipped with advanced safety functions such as overvoltage, overheating, and short-circuit automatic shutdown. IP67 waterproof and dustproof, extreme temperature protection level for withstanding harsh weather conditions from -40°F to 131°F in sunny, rain, snow and sandstorm. Electric car charger has ETL certified, FCC listed, meets UL safety standards. Industrial-grade construction with high-strength TPU-coated cables and 99.95% oxygen-free copper cores.
- 【J1772 Connector】J1772 charger works for all J1772 standard electric vehicles, Ford, GM, Nissan, Audi, Kia, Honda, BMW, Hyundai, Gmc, Chevy, Mercedes, and all PHEV/BEV. [Not fits Tesla cars/Nacs connector]
- 【One-Touch Charging Operation】16A electric car charger supports plug-and-charge functionality and features one-touch scheduled charging and current adjustment. Its intuitive and user-friendly operation allows flexible customization of personalized charging plans. Level 1 ev charger automatically shuts off when your car is fully charged.
The same CRS report attributes projected fiscal-year 2026–2034 federal revenue increases to Joint Committee on Taxation estimates: $77.8 billion from ending the new-vehicle credit, $7.4 billion from ending the used-vehicle credit, $104.5 billion from ending the commercial credit, and $2.0 billion from ending the refueling-property credit. These are projections of federal fiscal effects, not realized savings or household savings. See the Congressional Research Service report, “IRA Tax Credit Repeal in the FY2025 Reconciliation Law: Part 2”.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




