The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →vXchnge announced the opening of its Philadelphia data center at 1500 Spring Garden Street on September 15, 2015. The company pitched the 70,000-square-foot site as a place for carriers, internet service providers, cloud providers and content companies to connect, but it did not disclose how many providers were in the building or how much of its 2 MW total power capacity was live for customers at launch.
What vXchnge announced in Philadelphia
The September 2015 opening followed vXchnge’s 2014 announcement that it planned to build at 1500 Spring Garden Street and expected the facility to begin operating by mid-2015. The opening was reported by Data Center Knowledge and announced by the company in a statement republished by Telecom Ramblings.
CEO Keith Olsen described the intended role in the 2014 announcement: “Our Philadelphia vXchnge facility will provide a marketplace for local and global companies that require a robust data center that serves the Philadelphia metro area.” That statement expressed the company’s aim, not evidence of an established interconnection marketplace at opening.
Why vXchnge chose Philadelphia
Olsen said vXchnge selected Philadelphia for its population density and location between Washington, D.C., and New York City. This was the company’s stated site rationale; the announcement did not provide an independent assessment ranking the city’s importance as a network hub.
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
The 2015 launch coverage also described Philadelphia at the time as having about 1.5 million residents and being the fifth-largest U.S. city. Those are historical figures from that coverage, not current population statistics.
Facility size and power: total capacity was not live capacity
| Measure | What was reported |
|---|---|
| Address | 1500 Spring Garden Street, Philadelphia |
| Facility area | 70,000 square feet, as reported by Data Center Knowledge in September 2015 |
| Total power capacity | 2 MW, as reported by Data Center Knowledge in September 2015 |
| Power live and available to customers at opening | Not stated; the company declined to disclose this figure in the launch coverage |
The 2 MW figure describes total capacity, not the amount of power then commissioned, available for customer use or occupied. The launch report did not establish any of those latter figures.
Rank #2
- Superior Load Capacity: 42U server rack supports up to 1800lbs,max mountable depth is 18.5in, ideal for heavy IT equipment like 19-inch servers, switches, routers, and PDUs
- Comprehensive Accessories: This 42U IT cabinet Includes 8 outlets power strip (PDU), cooling fans, shelf, rack rails, cable management panels, casters with brakes for an organized, dust-free setup
- Quick and Easy Assembly: this 42U server rack enclosure can be assembled in under 30 minutes with included bolts screws, instructions, and a video guide
- Enhanced Security & Access: Fully lockable polycarbonate front door offers quick visibility of status indicators to this 42U network cabinet while protecting against impact and extreme temperatures
- Expandable & Mobile: Pre-installed casters and leveling feet ensure mobility and stability; connect multiple 42U network cabinets for scalability
Carrier-neutral intent, undisclosed provider count
vXchnge presented the facility as carrier-neutral and hoped carriers, ISPs, cloud providers and content providers would interconnect there to serve the Philadelphia metro. When asked how many carriers or local ISPs were present at launch, Olsen declined to disclose the number. The available launch reporting therefore does not establish a carrier roster or a count of interconnecting providers.
There is one later named-provider datapoint: in a July 11, 2016 announcement, vXchnge said Level 3 had a point of presence in the Philadelphia facility. The announcement, carried by PR Newswire, documents that company’s reported presence at that time. It does not establish how many other providers were there, or the facility’s present-day carrier count or operating status.
Timeline
- July 15, 2014: vXchnge announced plans for a Philadelphia facility at 1500 Spring Garden Street, with operations expected by mid-2015.
- September 15, 2015: vXchnge announced the facility’s opening; launch coverage reported 70,000 square feet and 2 MW of total power capacity.
- July 11, 2016: vXchnge reported that Level 3 had a point of presence at the Philadelphia site.
What the launch record establishes—and what it does not
The documented story is a 2015 opening, a stated ambition to make the site an interconnection point, and a later company report naming Level 3 as a point-of-presence provider. The cited announcements do not establish the amount of customer-ready power at launch, the initial carrier count, or the facility’s current ownership, capacity, tenant roster or operating status. The evidence supports the historical launch story, not a claim about the site today.
Quick Recap
Rank #4
- 📎 Rugged & Durable: The structure and finish of the server cabinet are built to perfection. The lock-in electronics/data cabinet is constructed of SPCC cold-rolled steel with a black powder coat finish that makes the 6U cabinet resistant to scratches and rust.
- 📎 Efficient Storage: Wall-mounted server cabinet is a must-have for anyone who needs to manage servers efficiently. The removable top panel allows for cable management, the removable and lockable side panels make it easy to organize your cables and protect your equipment.
- 📎 Ventilation Design: There are ventilation holes on the top and front door of the 6U server cabinet, and mesh design on the sides to increase airflow and prevent equipment from overheating.
- 📎 Space Saving: Wall-mounted/ floor-mounted dual-purpose network cabinet with compact design to maximize available space.
- 📎 Adjustable Rails: Adjustable mounting rails and square rack holes for easy equipment installation, suitable for 10-inch routers, switches, and AV/video equipment, etc.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




