The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Intel received the largest finalized direct CHIPS Act award identified in U.S. Department of Commerce announcements: up to $7.865 billion, announced November 26, 2024. TSMC Arizona, Micron and Samsung follow. These are federal direct-funding awards—not the companies’ total investment plans—and each is an “up to” amount rather than a guarantee that the full sum has already been paid.
Largest finalized direct CHIPS Act awards
The ranking below compares finalized direct funding announced by the U.S. Department of Commerce. Proposed loans and company investment plans are listed separately so they are not mistaken for grants.
| Rank | Company | Finalized direct funding | Proposed loans | Announced investment plan | U.S. projects and role |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Intel | Up to $7.865 billion; announced November 26, 2024 (U.S. Department of Commerce). | Not stated in the cited Commerce announcement. | Intel expected nearly $90 billion in U.S. investment by the end of the decade, as described in the November 2024 announcement. | Projects in Arizona, New Mexico, Ohio and Oregon. |
| 2 | TSMC Arizona | Up to $6.6 billion; announced November 15, 2024 (U.S. Department of Commerce). | Up to $5 billion proposed; this is separate from the direct award. | More than $65 billion in planned investment, as described in the November 2024 announcement. | Three leading-edge fabs in Phoenix, Arizona. |
| 3 | Micron | Up to $6.165 billion; announced December 10, 2024 (U.S. Department of Commerce). | Not stated for this award in the cited Commerce announcement. | A wider $200 billion U.S. manufacturing and R&D plan was described by Commerce in June 2025; it is not the grant amount. | Facilities in Idaho and New York. The December 2024 announcement also included preliminary terms for up to $275 million for a Virginia DRAM expansion; that Virginia amount was preliminary, not part of the finalized $6.165 billion figure. |
| 4 | Samsung | Up to $4.745 billion; announced December 20, 2024 (U.S. Department of Commerce). | Not stated in the cited Commerce announcement. | More than $37 billion in planned U.S. investment, as described in the December 2024 announcement. | Two leading-edge logic fabs and an R&D fab in Taylor, Texas, plus expansion of Austin operations. |
| 5 | SK hynix | Up to $458 million; announced December 19, 2024 (U.S. Department of Commerce). | Up to $500 million proposed; separate from direct funding. | Not stated in the cited Commerce announcement. | An Indiana AI-memory packaging plant and an advanced-packaging fabrication and R&D facility. |
Why Intel’s figure is $7.865 billion, not $8.5 billion
Both figures appeared in Commerce announcements, but they describe different stages. In March 2024, the department announced preliminary memorandum-of-terms funding of up to $8.5 billion for Intel. After due diligence, the finalized direct award announced November 26, 2024, was up to $7.865 billion. The earlier proposal explains why older coverage may use $8.5 billion; the finalized figure is the appropriate one for a ranking of completed award agreements.
Grants, loans and investment plans are different measures
Direct funding
The ranking counts finalized direct federal funding under the CHIPS program. “Up to” matters: the announced amount is a ceiling, and disbursements are milestone-based. It should not be described as money already paid in full.
#1 Best Overall
Proposed loans
Commerce separately described proposed loans of up to $5 billion for TSMC Arizona and up to $500 million for SK hynix. These are not direct awards and should not be added to the grant figures when ranking recipients.
Company investment commitments
Investment plans refer to broader company spending, not federal grant totals. Commerce’s January 2026 accomplishments page listed $200 billion for Micron, $165.1 billion for TSMC and $60 billion for Texas Instruments as investment commitments. Those figures do not change the direct-award ranking. Different announcements can describe investment plans at different dates and scopes, so compare them as commitments rather than as funding received from the government.
Which semiconductor companies are building U.S. facilities?
The largest awards support different parts of the semiconductor supply chain. Intel’s award spans projects in four states; TSMC’s is tied to leading-edge fabs in Phoenix; Micron’s covers facilities in Idaho and New York; Samsung’s supports fabs and R&D in Texas; and SK hynix’s Indiana project focuses on AI-memory packaging and advanced packaging. The projects therefore are not interchangeable: the companies are investing in distinct locations and manufacturing or research capabilities.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How to interpret the ranking
- Use finalized direct funding when asking which company received the largest announced CHIPS award.
- Keep preliminary terms separate from finalized awards, as shown by Intel’s March and November 2024 figures and Micron’s preliminary Virginia terms.
- Do not add proposed loans or private investment plans to direct-funding amounts.
- Read award totals as maximum amounts subject to milestone-based disbursement, not as evidence that every dollar has already been paid.
The amounts and project descriptions above reflect U.S. Department of Commerce releases and summaries retrieved October 1, 2026. Awards and company commitments can change through amendments, later disbursements or new announcements.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




