The right online bartending course depends on what you need: broad, self-paced instruction; cocktail-making technique; physical practice materials; or training in responsible alcohol service. The six options below serve different purposes, and their published features and prices come from the providers—not independent course testing. ServSafe Alcohol is included as a responsible-service certification, not as a complete bartending school.
Compare the six options at a glance
| Program | Best fit | Provider-published details | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|
| ABC Bartending College Online | Broad, self-paced foundation | 40+ hours, 200+ video lessons, 150+ cocktail recipes, certificate, and lifetime access, according to the provider. Curriculum includes bar setup, mixing fundamentals, cocktails, wine, beer, and spirits. | $149 tuition, per the provider page accessed in 2026; confirm current price and checkout total. |
| Professional Bartending School (PBSO) | Lower-priced entry or optional printed and practice materials | Online course, with separate combo packages that the provider says include a printed manual, recipe guide, and home practice kit with bottles and glassware. | $39.95 for the online course, per the provider page accessed in 2026; package prices may differ. |
| Bartending College Online | Video-led learning with premium physical or hybrid options | Provider describes video lessons, recipes, support, and premium options such as a mixing kit, hardcover textbook, or in-person hybrid training. It reports more than 35,000 online enrollments since 2004; this is not an independently audited figure. | Not stated on the cited provider pages. |
| A Bar Above Fundamentals of Bartending | Bar operations and service foundations | Self-paced, approximately 15–20 hours, six lessons, quizzes, and final exam; provider says certification follows passing. Topics include tools, setup and closing, inventory, maintenance, guest service, spirits, and classic drinks. | $199, per the provider page accessed in 2026; confirm current price and checkout total. |
| A Bar Above Mixology Certification | Cocktail design and flavor | Self-paced video lessons, quizzes, printable guides, and exam focused on ingredient selection, flavor balance, cocktail design, and recipe development. | $249, per the provider page accessed in 2026; confirm current price and checkout total. |
| ServSafe Alcohol | Responsible alcohol-service training and certification | Online training and exam options; covers alcohol laws and responsibilities, evaluating intoxication, ID checks, and difficult situations. The provider describes Primary and Advanced Proctored exam choices. | Not stated on the cited provider page. |
These are use-case matches, not a ranking based on independent assessments of teaching quality, completion rates, or employment outcomes. Providers’ descriptions, certificates, and enrollment claims should be read as provider statements.
Which online bartending course best matches your goal?
ABC Bartending College Online: broad self-paced training
ABC is the broadest course description in this group: the provider lists bar setup, mixing fundamentals, classic and modern cocktails, and wine, beer, and spirits. Its page advertises 40+ hours of instruction, 200+ video lessons, more than 150 recipes, a certificate, and lifetime access. Those counts and the $149 tuition are current provider-published claims, not independently verified measures of course depth or value. See the ABC Bartending College Online program page.
Professional Bartending School (PBSO): low-cost online entry with separate kit options
PBSO lists its online bartending course at $39.95. It also sells course-combo packages with printed materials and a home practice kit; the provider’s comparison page describes a printed manual and recipe guide and says the kit includes bottles and glassware. Check the exact package before enrolling: the $39.95 listing should not be assumed to include those extras. PBSO also advertises state-specific alcohol-server certification. Its “nationally recognized” and “state-approved” descriptions are provider claims, so confirm the exact credential with your regulator or prospective employer. Start with the PBSO course page and PBSO comparison page.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors#1 Best Overall
Bartending College Online: video learning with premium and hybrid choices
Bartending College Online describes video content, recipes, and support, alongside premium options that may add a mixing kit, hardcover textbook, or in-person hybrid training. Its homepage reports more than 35,000 online enrollments since 2004, a provider-reported figure rather than an independently audited count. Compare the exact package and training format before paying; an online-only course is not the same experience as a hybrid option. See Bartending College Online.
A Bar Above Fundamentals: bar workflow and service
Choose Fundamentals if your priority is how a bar operates, not only how to make cocktails. The provider describes a self-paced course of approximately 15–20 hours, six lessons, quizzes, and a final exam, with certification on passing. Its subjects include bar tools, setup and closing, inventory, maintenance, guest service, spirits, and classic drinks. The listed fee is $199. The course certificate is a course credential, not proof of a state alcohol-server permit. Details are on the A Bar Above Fundamentals page.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
A Bar Above Mixology Certification: recipe development and flavor
This is the more focused fit for people who want to learn cocktail design: selecting ingredients, balancing flavors, and developing recipes. The provider describes video lessons, quizzes, printable guides, and an exam in a self-paced format. Its page lists $249. It is aimed at mixology rather than jurisdiction-specific alcohol law or a complete introduction to every bar operation. See the A Bar Above Mixology Certification page.
ServSafe Alcohol: responsible-service add-on
ServSafe Alcohol addresses a different need from cocktail instruction: responsible service. Its official page describes training and exams for bartenders and other front-of-house workers, with content on alcohol laws and responsibilities, recognizing intoxication, checking identification, and handling difficult situations. The provider describes Primary and Advanced Proctored exam options. Confirm with your state or employer which course and exam, if any, satisfies the applicable requirement. ServSafe is best treated as a complementary certification, not a full bartending school. See ServSafe Alcohol certification.
Rank #3
What an online bartending certificate does—and does not—prove
A school completion certificate or mixology certificate is not automatically a government-issued bartender license, alcohol-server permit, or approval to serve alcohol in every state. A course can teach recipes and workflow while local service requirements remain separate. Ask the relevant regulator or employer what credential is required and whether the provider, course, and exam are accepted for your location.
Approval can be jurisdiction-specific. For example, Oregon’s OLCC maintains a list of approved online server-education providers; the linked PDF is dated, so check the OLCC’s current requirements and list rather than relying on an old copy. PBSO advertises state-specific server certification, but that statement alone does not establish acceptance for every state or employer. Oregon OLCC approved online provider list (PDF).
Rank #4
How to choose before you pay
- Start with your goal. For general foundations, compare ABC and Bartending College Online. For operations and service, consider A Bar Above Fundamentals. For cocktail creation, consider A Bar Above Mixology. For responsible-service rules, investigate ServSafe Alcohol or a state-specific approved course.
- Check what is actually included. Confirm whether tuition covers video lessons, readings, quizzes, instructor support, physical materials, an exam, and certificate. For PBSO and Bartending College Online, distinguish the base online option from packages that add a kit, manual, textbook, or in-person training.
- Verify practice expectations. Watching a demonstration is not the same as practicing with tools. If a course does not include equipment, you can practice with basic items such as a shaker and jigger, but do not assume a kit is required or included.
- Check the access period and credential terms. ABC advertises lifetime access. For other providers, confirm the access window and whether any certificate requires passing an exam. Do not infer lifetime access, instructor availability, or credential acceptance where the provider page does not state it.
- Ask about employer or regulator acceptance. Before relying on a certificate for a job or legal requirement, verify it with the employer or the state/local alcohol-control authority. A course’s marketing language is not a substitute for that confirmation.
- Keep job-support claims in perspective. Assistance with job searching, if offered by a provider, is not the same as guaranteed placement. The available course pages do not provide a comparable, independently audited employment or completion-rate statistic.
Do you need hands-on practice?
Online lessons can explain techniques and show demonstrations, but they cannot by themselves provide the experience of working behind a real bar. PBSO and Bartending College Online describe optional physical or hybrid materials; package terms determine whether those are included. ABC’s comparison page also contrasts online video learning with the real-bar environment and hands-on practice available through in-person training. If you are new to mixing, plan to practice techniques yourself and seek supervised, real-world experience where appropriate. ABC’s comparison of online and in-person training.
What the published prices can—and cannot—tell you
The listed figures are provider-published prices captured on pages accessed in 2026, not guaranteed checkout totals. Confirm current tuition, taxes or fees, exam charges, package inclusions, and any equipment costs at enrollment. A low base price can be a sensible way to start, but compare what it includes rather than treating headline tuition as a complete measure of value.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




