Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallThere is no single best cloud provider for every startup. The right choice depends on whether a program accepts your company, whether its credits cover your actual workload, and what the service will cost once the credits run out. This guide separates current program terms documented on September 28, 2026, from historical examples reported in 2024, so the two are not mistaken for one another.
Which cloud providers offer startup credits?
AWS, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud, Civo, OVHcloud, DigitalOcean, and Scaleway all describe startup programs on their current pages. Their offers are not directly interchangeable: eligibility, application routes, covered services, support, and award size differ. The current-page details below were accessed on September 28, 2026; they should not be read as the exact terms available in 2024.
| Provider and program | Current offer described on the provider page | Eligibility and practical details |
|---|---|---|
| AWS Activate | As of September 28, 2026, Activate Founders starts with $1,000 for eligible self-funded startups; selected applicants may receive up to $5,000. Activate Portfolio advertises up to $200,000 for eligible applicants. | Portfolio requires an Activate Provider organization ID and is for pre-Series B startups. AWS also cites company age, account status, and prior credits as eligibility considerations. Its invite-only AI startup credit path is for eligible companies ready to scale after Portfolio. (AWS current program page, accessed September 28, 2026.) |
| Microsoft Azure / Microsoft for Startups | As of September 28, 2026, the program describes up to $200 at entry, with the possibility of unlocking up to $150,000 over time. | Increases depend on verified progress, service adoption, sustained Azure use, and business verification; the maximum is not an automatic account-opening award. The program also describes Azure AI capabilities, technical resources, startup guidance, and Marketplace and co-sell opportunities. (Microsoft current documentation, accessed September 28, 2026.) |
| Google Cloud / Google for Startups Cloud Program | As of September 28, 2026, the page advertises $2,000 for pre-funded MVP building, up to $200,000 for early-stage startups, and up to $350,000 for AI-first startups. | The program distinguishes pre-funded, early-stage, and Series B+ companies; Series B+ companies are offered customized support. Amounts depend on eligibility and company stage. (Google Cloud current program page, accessed September 28, 2026.) |
| Civo Startup Program | As of September 28, 2026, its Launchpad, Propel, and Elevate stages advertise ceilings of $1,000, $10,000, and $50,000, respectively. | The program targets startups, especially cloud-native businesses. Credits cover core services such as compute, storage, and managed databases; GPU instances are excluded. (Civo current program page, accessed September 28, 2026.) |
| OVHcloud | The current US page describes 12-month program tiers, but the amount varies by tier and region; a single worldwide award is not stated. | The program describes selected pre-seed and seed startups as well as later-stage scaleups, with technical support. Check the page for the applicant’s region rather than applying a US offer elsewhere. (OVHcloud current US program page, accessed September 28, 2026.) |
| DigitalOcean | The current startup page describes variable credit awards; a fixed award amount is not stated in the available program description. | Access is through approved startup partners, and the current program has its own terms. These current terms are not a verified record of the offer available in 2024. (DigitalOcean current startup page, accessed September 28, 2026.) |
| Scaleway | The current page describes staged, time-limited startup support and cloud-service credits; a single award amount is not stated in the available program description. | Technical and community support are also described. Confirm location, current terms, and workload fit before applying. (Scaleway current program page, accessed September 28, 2026.) |
What did startup cloud credits look like in 2024?
A 2024 Ofcom cloud-services market study gives historical examples, but its underlying provider-page information was accessed on September 19, 2023. It reported AWS credits of up to $100,000, Google credits of up to $200,000 total over two years, and Microsoft credits of up to $150,000. These are examples in that report—not verified terms for all of 2024, and not a substitute for the providers’ current eligibility pages. (Ofcom, 2024.)
A separate 2024 document from France’s Autorité de la concurrence described Google AI startup credits of up to $350,000 over two years. That is the authority’s account of programs at the time, not a present-day guarantee. The examples illustrate why a date and source matter whenever a credit ceiling is compared.
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
How do startup cloud credits work?
Credits reduce eligible cloud charges under a provider’s program terms; they are not cash, a guaranteed grant, or evidence that a workload is affordable after the award expires. The advertised ceiling may be conditional, limited to particular services or a defined period, or available only after an application, referral, verification, or adoption milestones. A founder should budget from the offer actually approved for the company, not the headline maximum.
Before counting an award as runway, get the terms that determine its usable value in writing or from the official program page:
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
- Eligibility: company age, funding stage, geography, prior credits, account status, and any business-verification requirement.
- Access route: whether the application is direct, requires a provider or partner organization ID, or is limited to approved startup partners.
- Credit mechanics: approved amount, start date, expiry, eligible services, exclusions, and whether later increases require milestones.
- Account and billing: which billing account receives the credit, what charges remain payable, and what happens when the balance or term ends.
Which cloud provider is best for a startup?
“Best” depends on the workload and the company’s operating constraints. A large credit ceiling can have little practical value if it excludes the service you need, access depends on a route you do not have, or the team would need to rebuild its operating practices around the offer. None of the program descriptions above establishes a universal winner for performance, price, or service quality.
Match the offer to the workload
List the services the product needs now and expects to need soon: compute, object or block storage, managed databases, AI services, or GPUs. Check the provider’s eligible-service rules against that list. For example, Civo explicitly excludes GPU instances, so its advertised credits cannot be treated as GPU funding. For the other providers, the program information summarized here does not establish a complete service-by-service eligibility matrix; verify the exact terms before committing.
Rank #3
Account for the team and the company stage
Compare the offer’s stage definition and application path with the company’s actual status. A self-funded founder, a pre-Series B company with a qualifying partner connection, and a later-stage startup may face different routes. Also weigh support and technical resources if the team needs help operating the services; do not assume that credit size alone measures the support available.
Check geography and data requirements
Confirm that the program accepts applicants in the company’s jurisdiction and that the provider’s available regions and data arrangements suit the product. OVHcloud’s US page, for example, is not evidence that the same tier or amount applies worldwide. The program descriptions do not provide a complete comparison of regional coverage or data-residency terms, so those must be checked for the intended deployment.
Rank #4
How should a startup budget for the bill after credits?
Model the expected bill both during and after the credit period. Estimate usage from the product’s likely traffic and development needs, include storage, database, network, and support-related charges where applicable, and identify which of those costs the program actually covers. Then calculate the recurring bill using the provider’s ordinary pricing for the intended region and configuration. The program descriptions cited here do not provide a comparable workload-based price analysis, so a credit maximum cannot be used to rank providers by total cost.
Run at least two scenarios: expected usage and a higher-usage case. The higher case helps expose whether growth, data transfer, or a change in service mix would make the post-credit bill difficult to fund. Set a calendar reminder before credits expire and make the budget owner responsible for reviewing actual usage and projected recurring costs.
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
How much does cloud-credit lock-in matter?
Credits can make one provider’s ecosystem attractive during a cash-sensitive stage, but moving later may require engineering work and create technical or price barriers. In its 2024 commitments document, France’s Autorité de la concurrence warned that credits “could therefore have the effect of locking the companies concerned into hyperscaler ecosystems, against a backdrop of technical and price barriers to migration.” That is a regulator’s stated concern, not proof that every startup will be unable to migrate.
Reduce avoidable switching costs by documenting service dependencies, keeping backups in a usable format, and identifying which parts of the architecture rely on provider-specific services. Portability has a cost too: choosing less provider-specific components can involve trade-offs in convenience, operations, or access to managed features. Decide deliberately rather than treating migration as either effortless or inevitable.
A practical selection checklist
- Define the workload: list required compute, storage, database, AI/GPU, region, and data needs.
- Confirm eligibility: check stage, company age, geography, prior-credit rules, account requirements, and any partner route.
- Value the usable award: distinguish the amount you are likely to receive from the program’s ceiling; verify duration and eligible services.
- Price the steady state: estimate normal monthly costs for realistic usage after the credit period, using the required region and configuration.
- Assess operating fit: compare the team’s expertise, support needs, and integration work against the provider’s platform.
- Plan for exit: identify the services that would be hardest to replace and the data or architecture work a move would require.
- Apply only after comparing the terms: revisit the provider’s official page immediately before applying because program rules can change.
The providers named here are a practical selection, not an exhaustive list of cloud companies or local providers. The cited material does not establish a neutral, independently tested price-performance ranking across them.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.




