Rivian R2 deliveries have begun, but invitations are still being sent in rolling waves. Rivian’s August 2026 ownership guide says most customers should expect delivery 4–8 weeks after confirming a build; trim availability, reservation timing, and location all affect when an individual buyer can order. Here are the current U.S. details on invites, deposits, prices, range, and charging.
When will Rivian R2 deliveries begin?
They have begun. Rivian announced June 9, 2026, as the start of order invitations, demo drives, and first customer deliveries. In an August 7 ownership guide, the company said deliveries were underway and invitations were continuing in rolling waves. Rivian’s newer estimate is that most customers take delivery within 4–8 weeks after confirming their build. That is a manufacturer estimate, not a guaranteed date. Rivian’s launch announcement and ownership guide provide the latest published timing.
How does Rivian decide who gets an invitation?
Rivian says reservation timestamp and delivery location are primary factors. Customers near Rivian Service + Demo Centers would generally receive invitations sooner. The company also said current R1 owners would receive accelerated timing, balanced with invitations to non-owners. Some early batches included randomly selected reservation holders as Rivian refined its estimates. These factors do not establish an exact invite date for any individual customer.
How will I know I got an invite, and how long do I have?
Rivian says an estimated invite window appears in a customer’s Rivian Account. An invitation is an opportunity to place an order, not a delivery appointment. The August guide says customers may wait after receiving an invite without losing their place in line; check the account and invitation for the applicable ordering details.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
Does the delivery window start at the invite or the order?
The 4–8-week estimate applies after you confirm your build, not from the date of your invitation. Rivian’s earlier launch FAQ gave a 2–6-week estimate, but the later August ownership guide is the more current published estimate.
What if my lease is expiring?
Rivian says customers with an expiring lease can enter that information in a Rivian Account. The company has not promised that entering a lease date will guarantee a particular invitation or delivery date.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
How do R2 reservations and deposits work?
Rivian describes a reservation as the first step toward an R2 purchase; the final vehicle order comes later. The company says pricing, options, and specifications may change until it builds the vehicle. The current reservation page states that changes may apply before build.
There is a material inconsistency in Rivian’s deposit wording: its FAQ calls the $100 reservation deposit refundable, while the current checkout page labels it “Non-refundable.” Do not assume the deposit will be returned. Review the Reservation Agreement shown during checkout or ask Rivian which terms apply before paying. Rivian’s reservation FAQ and checkout page show the conflicting language.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Rank #3
Which Rivian R2 trims are available, and what do they cost?
Rivian’s published U.S. schedule puts Performance with Launch Package first, Premium next, and Standard after that. The prices below are starting prices announced in March 2026, not a guarantee of the price for a particular configuration. Taxes and fees may apply, and Rivian says pricing and options can change before the vehicle is built.
| Trim | Published timing | U.S. starting price announced March 2026 | Published range figure |
|---|---|---|---|
| Performance with Launch Package | First to order; deliveries began in 2026 | $57,990 | Not stated in the cited March announcement |
| Premium | Late 2026 | $53,990 | Up to 330 miles, EPA-estimated by Rivian |
| Standard | Following in 2027 | Not stated in the cited March announcement | 345 miles, Rivian-estimated for Standard RWD Long Range |
Timing is Rivian’s published schedule, not a guarantee for every configuration or location. Compare availability and equipment in the live configurator before committing to a reservation or order. Rivian’s March announcement lists the price and range figures; its May launch notice describes the order sequence.
Rank #4
How should I interpret the range numbers?
The 345-mile figure is Rivian’s estimate for the Standard RWD Long Range, not a stated EPA estimate. Rivian lists up to 330 miles for Premium as EPA-estimated. Its March announcement notes that preliminary estimates based on EPA test cycles are not official EPA values, so those figures should not be treated as interchangeable. Actual range can vary with tires, drive modes, HVAC settings, accessories, battery, load, weather, and other conditions. Rivian has not established a real-world range for every buyer’s configuration.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How does Rivian R2 charging work?
Every R2 has a native NACS charge port, according to Rivian. The company says this enables access to more than 21,000 Tesla Superchargers in the United States and Canada, as well as compatibility with its Adventure Network. Rivian says the center display can estimate where and how long to charge using route and drive information. These are manufacturer statements; confirm current station access and conditions when planning a trip. Rivian’s R2 product page describes charging access.
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
How fast can R2 charge on a DC fast charger?
Rivian advertises adding 150 miles in 15 minutes and charging from 10% to 80% in under 30 minutes with DC fast charging. These are conditional manufacturer claims, not guaranteed session results. Rivian says speed varies with battery capacity, state of charge, temperature, charger capacity, weather, and site conditions. Rivian’s charging information includes those qualifications.
Can I charge an R2 at home?
Yes. Rivian says its Wall Charger can add up to 38 miles of range per hour under optimal conditions. Your actual rate depends on the home electrical equipment and charging conditions; Rivian recommends arranging installation with a licensed electrician before delivery. If considering another NACS Level 2 charger, verify the specific model’s compatibility and electrical requirements rather than assuming every product will work with your installation. Rivian’s ownership guide covers home charging preparation.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




