Yes, the 256GB Pixel 8a was real. Google announced the phone on May 7, 2024, with 128GB storage for $499 and a new 256GB version for $559 in the United States. The 128GB US starting price did not increase from the Pixel 7a; the change was the addition of a larger-storage tier. Sales began May 14, 2024. Google’s launch announcement confirms the final pricing and availability.
What the Pixel 8a rumor got right—and wrong
Pre-launch reports pointed to two possible developments: a 256GB Pixel 8a and a higher price, particularly in Europe. Some leaks cited a potential European starting price of €549, compared with €509 for the Pixel 7a in certain markets. Other reporting suggested that the US 128GB model would remain at $499. These were market-specific leaks, not final worldwide prices. Tom’s Guide’s report, 9to5Google’s report and Android Authority’s US pricing coverage captured the uncertainty before launch.
Country prices can differ because of taxes, currency conversion, distribution costs and local retail strategy. Therefore, “Pixel 8a price increase” is accurate only when tied to a specific country and storage configuration. In the US, Google kept the entry price unchanged.
Google’s official Pixel 8a prices and storage
| Configuration | US launch price | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 128GB | $499 | Same US starting price as Pixel 7a |
| 256GB | $559 | New A-series storage tier; $60 above 128GB |
Google’s specifications list both capacities as UFS 3.1 storage. The Pixel 7a offered only 128GB, so the Pixel 8a doubled the maximum onboard capacity without requiring a higher entry price. Google’s Pixel phone specifications confirm the storage options.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
#1 Best Overall
- 6.1" OLED 428PPI, 1080x2400px, 120Hz, HDR10+, Bluetooth 5.3, 4492mAh Battery, Android 14
- 128GB 8GB RAM, Octa-core, Google Tensor G3 (4nm), Nona-core (1x3.0 GHz Cortex-X3 & 4x2.45 GHz Cortex-A715 & 4x2.15 GHz Cortex-A510), Immortalis-G715s MC10 GPU
- Rear Camera: 64MP, f/1.9 (wide) + 13MP, f/2.2 (ultrawide), Front Camera: 13MP, f/2.2
- 3G: HSDPA 800/850/900/1700(AWS)/1900/2100, 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/14/17/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/41/48/66/71, 5G: 1/2/3/5/7/8/12/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/41/48/66/70/71/77/78 SA/NSA/Sub6 - Nano-SIM and eSIM
- Unlocked for freedom to choose your carrier. Compatible with both GSM & CDMA networks. The phone is unlocked to work with all GSM Carriers & CDMA Carriers Including AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Sprint., Etc.
There is no microSD card slot. Storage is fixed, so choosing 128GB and upgrading later is not an option. Android Authority’s Pixel 8a specifications coverage also notes the lack of expandable storage.
Is the 256GB model worth $60 more?
At launch, paying $60 to double storage was a relatively modest premium. Whether it was worthwhile depended on how the phone would be used and how long it would be kept.
Rank #2
- 6.1" OLED 428PPI, 1080x2400px, 120Hz, HDR10+, Bluetooth 5.3, 4492mAh Battery, Android 14
- 128GB 8GB RAM, Octa-core, Google Tensor G3 (4nm), Nona-core (1x3.0 GHz Cortex-X3 & 4x2.45 GHz Cortex-A715 & 4x2.15 GHz Cortex-A510), Immortalis-G715s MC10 GPU
- Rear Camera: 64MP, f/1.9 (wide) + 13MP, f/2.2 (ultrawide), Front Camera: 13MP, f/2.2
- 3G: HSDPA 800/850/900/1700(AWS)/1900/2100, 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/14/17/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/41/48/66/71, 5G: 1/2/3/5/7/8/12/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/41/48/66/70/71/77/78 SA/NSA/Sub6 - Nano-SIM and eSIM
Choose 256GB if you:
- Record 4K video frequently.
- Keep large offline music, movie or game libraries.
- Store photos and files locally instead of relying mainly on cloud services.
- Plan to keep the phone for many years.
- Want more headroom during Google’s stated seven-year software-support period.
Choose 128GB if you:
- Use Google Photos or another cloud service as your primary media library.
- Take relatively little video and regularly delete or transfer files.
- Already have cloud storage and do not keep many offline downloads.
- Can buy the 128GB model at a substantial discount.
Cloud storage can reduce photo and file pressure, but it does not replace local capacity for apps, games, cached media, downloads or offline content. Google One plans also require an account and can become a recurring expense after any promotion. The official service is available at one.google.com.
What else came with the Pixel 8a?
The storage upgrade was only one part of the phone. Google’s official specification sheet lists:
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Rank #3
- Google Pixel 8a designed with a 6.1-inch Actua OLED display, delivering improved brightness, enhanced outdoor visibility, and smoother color rendering in a compact and lightweight form factor.
- Google Tensor G3 processor.
- 8GB LPDDR5x RAM.
- 6.1-inch OLED display with up to a 120Hz refresh rate.
- 64MP main camera and 13MP ultrawide camera.
- 4,492mAh typical battery capacity.
- Qi wireless charging.
- Titan M2 security chip.
- Seven years of software support, measured from the device’s US Google Store availability date.
Google also promoted Gemini availability, Circle to Search, Best Take, Magic Editor and Audio Magic Eraser. Feature access can vary by region, language, account and software version, so those capabilities should not be treated as identical in every market. Details are in Google’s launch announcement.
Pixel 8a versus Pixel 7a
| Feature | Pixel 7a | Pixel 8a |
|---|---|---|
| US launch starting price | $499 | $499 for 128GB |
| Maximum storage | 128GB | 256GB |
| Display refresh rate | Not stated in the supplied specifications | Up to 120Hz |
| Processor | Not stated here | Tensor G3 |
| Software-support policy | Not stated here | Seven years from US Google Store availability |
The important pricing point is straightforward: the Pixel 8a did not replace the Pixel 7a with a more expensive US base model. It retained the $499 entry price and added a $559 option for buyers who wanted twice the storage.
Rank #4
- 6.7" LTPO OLED 489PPI, 1344x2992px, 120Hz, HDR10+, Bluetooth 5.3, 5050mAh Battery, Android 14
Should you buy a Pixel 8a in August 2026?
The Pixel 8a is now an older A-series phone. Google’s current US store highlights the Pixel 9a, so the relevant question is no longer whether to pay the 2024 launch price. Compare the actual deal on an 8a with the newer model and with certified-refurbished alternatives.
| Option | Observed US price | Why consider it | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pixel 8a, certified refurbished | From $339 | Lowest-cost route into the 8a | Storage, color, condition and inventory vary |
| Pixel 9a, 128GB | $499 | Current A-series model | Price observed August 18, 2026; offers can change |
| Pixel 9a, 256GB | $599 | Newer platform and more storage | Price observed August 18, 2026; offers can change |
| Pixel 8, certified refurbished, 256GB | $509 | More flagship-oriented hardware with 256GB | Older than Pixel 9a and costlier than the lowest 8a refurb price |
Google’s current Pixel 9a pricing is listed at the official Pixel 9a store page. Google describes the 9a as using a newer Tensor G4 platform, a larger battery and newer software features in its product introduction.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
The refurbished Pixel 8a price was observed at $339 on August 18, 2026, through Google’s certified-refurbished device listing. That listing says certified devices are quality tested and receive the same applicable update commitment as new Pixel owners, but inventory and configurations can change.
A certified-refurbished Pixel 8 256GB was observed at $509 through Google’s refurbished Pixel 8 page. Compare its remaining support period, condition and warranty with a newer 9a before deciding.
When the Pixel 8a is a good 2026 buy
- The 8a is substantially cheaper than a Pixel 9a with comparable storage.
- You want Google’s software experience and do not need the newest processor or features.
- The exact refurbished unit has acceptable battery terms, warranty and return protection.
When the Pixel 9a is safer value
- The price gap is small.
- You intend to keep the phone for many years.
- You want newer hardware, a larger battery and current retail availability.
- You need 256GB but cannot find a reasonably priced 8a in that capacity.
Checks before buying a refurbished Pixel 8a
- Confirm whether the phone is 128GB or 256GB; do not infer capacity from the listing title alone.
- Check battery condition or the seller’s replacement policy.
- Verify the warranty length and return window.
- Confirm that the phone is unlocked and compatible with your carrier.
- Inspect the stated physical condition and included accessories.
- Separate the cash price from carrier credits or installment-plan savings.
Carrier promotions can reduce the effective cost, but they may require a new line, an eligible trade-in, a particular unlimited plan, installment billing or monthly credits over a fixed period. Compare total payments, not only the advertised discount.
Bottom line on the Pixel 8a price rumor
The rumor was substantially right about the 256GB Pixel 8a and misleading if read as a US base-price hike. Google launched the 128GB model at $499—the same US starting price as the Pixel 7a—and added a 256GB model at $559. In 2026, buy the 8a only when a discount or certified-refurbished deal creates a clear gap versus the $499/$599 Pixel 9a, and choose storage based on your actual local-media needs because there is no microSD expansion.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




