Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

Perplexity Made Comet Free in October 2025; Comet Plus Was Reported at $5 a Month

Comet became free worldwide in Perplexity’s October 2025 announcement. The separate Comet Plus news subscription was reported at $5 a month, but current pricing and eligibility are not confirmed on the official Comet page.
From TheFinanceBase Team3 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Perplexity announced in October 2025 that its Comet browser would be free worldwide. The separate paid product was Comet Plus, an AI-enhanced news subscription that TechCrunch and Axios reported at $5 per month. Those are announcement-era terms: Perplexity’s current Comet page lists supported platforms but does not confirm Comet Plus’s present price or eligibility.

What Perplexity announced

On October 2, 2025, TechCrunch reported that Perplexity was opening Comet to users worldwide at no charge. The browser had launched for Max subscribers about three months earlier, according to the report. The free browser included a sidecar assistant that could answer questions about a page, summarize content, help manage web content, and navigate pages on a user’s behalf. TechCrunch’s October 2, 2025 report also said millions had joined Comet’s waitlist, attributing that figure to Perplexity rather than presenting it as an independently measured user count.

The $5 news subscription was not a fee to use Comet. It was a distinct offering called Comet Plus, described as an AI-enhanced alternative to Apple News. The chronology matters: Axios had reported Comet Plus and its publisher terms on August 26, 2025, before the October announcement that the browser itself would be free.

Comet and Comet Plus: how the reported offers differed

Offer What it covered Price and access reported in 2025
Comet browser Browser with a sidecar assistant for page questions, summaries, and navigation, as described by TechCrunch. Free worldwide, announced October 2, 2025, according to TechCrunch.
Comet Plus A separate AI-enhanced news subscription, described by TechCrunch as an alternative to Apple News. $5 per month; TechCrunch reported that free Comet users could subscribe and Pro and Max subscribers would receive access automatically. These are reported 2025 terms, not confirmed current pricing or eligibility.

The $5 figure and Pro/Max inclusion were reported by TechCrunch in October 2025 and by Axios in August 2025. The official Comet page currently lists platform families, but its captured public text does not state Comet Plus’s price or current subscription eligibility. Check Perplexity’s Comet page for the current product information rather than assuming the 2025 bundle still applies.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What Comet could do—and what was a higher-tier feature

Perplexity’s October 2025 announcement-era browser description centered on assistance while browsing: asking about a page, summarizing it, managing web content, and navigating pages. The company spokesperson described the background assistant introduced to Max users as “a team of assistants working for you,” according to TechCrunch. That report said the Max feature could run multiple computer tasks in the background, with progress visible in a dashboard where users could intervene or take over.

That background-task description is specific to TechCrunch’s account of the Max feature at the time. It should not be read as a promise that all free Comet users had, or currently have, the same automation features. Perplexity’s official page currently presents examples spanning browsing, email, creating, and shopping, and lists Comet for Mac, Windows, iOS, and Android. See its official Comet page for current platform details.

What the news subscription meant for publishers

Comet Plus was pitched not only as a consumer news product but also as a way to compensate participating publishers. Axios reported in August 2025 that publishers would receive 80% of Comet Plus subscription revenue and that Perplexity had set aside a $42.5 million pool for early publishing partners. Axios said allocations would depend on how much a publisher’s content drove traffic through Comet results or the assistant. These are figures and terms reported by Axios about the program at launch, not independently verified current payment terms.

Jessica Chan, Perplexity’s head of publisher partnerships, told Axios: “We’re really offering more of a transparent payment for participation.” The comment addressed the publisher compensation arrangement, not the consumer price.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What to verify before budgeting for Comet Plus

If you are deciding whether to pay for news access, separate what was announced from what is confirmed now. The 2025 coverage described Comet as free and Comet Plus at $5 monthly, with access included for Pro and Max subscribers. The current official Comet page captured for this article lists Mac, Windows, iOS, and Android, but does not state Comet Plus pricing or eligibility. Confirm the offer and billing terms on Perplexity’s current product or account pages before subscribing or assuming an existing plan includes it.

Quick Recap

Rank #4
bishko automotive literature 1965 Comet Fairlane Falcon Mustang Shop Service Repair Manual Engine Electrical
  • Factory Authorized Reproduction
  • Comet, Fairlane, Falcon, Mustang
  • approx 700 pages
  • Body, Chassis, Engine, Drivetrain & Electrical

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase07 MAR 2625 minWhat Is a 457 Plan?
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase07 MAR 2621 minTime Value of Money: What It Is and How It Works
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase07 MAR 2627 minAre You Living in One of These Top 10 Most Expensive Cities to Retire?
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.