What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
The longest 0% introductory APR offers identified for October 4, 2026, run up to 21 months. Several cards match that headline, but their purchase and balance-transfer promotions, transfer deadlines, fees and post-promotion APRs differ. Choose based on the balance you need to finance and whether you can repay it before the offer ends.
Which cards offer up to 21 months at 0% APR?
Chase Slate currently advertises 0% introductory APR for 21 months from account opening on both purchases and balance transfers. Chase says the offer is followed by a variable APR of 18.49%–28.49%, and lists a $0 annual fee. A balance-transfer fee applies, but the offer page does not state its amount in the information checked. See Chase’s current Slate offer; its terms may change.
An October 2026 comparison from NerdWallet lists other cards with 21-month or 21-billing-cycle promotions, including Wells Fargo Reflect, BankAmericard and U.S. Bank Shield. Those figures come from the comparison, not issuer disclosures verified here; check the issuer’s live pricing terms before applying. NerdWallet’s October 2026 balance-transfer comparison also illustrates that not every card gives purchases and transfers the same promotional period.
| Card | Purchase promotion | Balance-transfer promotion and deadline | Transfer fee and ongoing APR |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chase Slate | 0% for 21 months from account opening | 0% for 21 months from account opening; transfer deadline not stated on the cited offer excerpt | Fee applies; amount not stated on the cited offer excerpt. Variable APR 18.49%–28.49%. $0 annual fee. Source: Chase. |
| Wells Fargo Reflect | 21 months, according to NerdWallet | 21 months on qualifying transfers; transfers must be made within 120 days, according to NerdWallet | 5% fee, minimum $5; ongoing APR options 17.74%, 24.24% or 28.49%, according to NerdWallet. Confirm on the issuer disclosure. Source: NerdWallet. |
| BankAmericard | 21 billing cycles, according to NerdWallet | 21 billing cycles; transfers made during the first 60 days are eligible, according to NerdWallet | NerdWallet reports a 5% transfer fee and ongoing APR options; the specific ongoing APR figures are not stated here. Confirm all terms on the issuer disclosure. Source: NerdWallet. |
| U.S. Bank Shield | 21 billing cycles, according to NerdWallet; transfer and purchase details should be checked separately | Not stated in the cited comparison summary. Source: NerdWallet. | Not stated in the cited comparison summary. Source: NerdWallet. |
| Citi Simplicity | 18 months, according to NerdWallet | Not stated in the cited comparison summary. Source: NerdWallet. | Not stated in the cited comparison summary. Source: NerdWallet. |
| Citi Diamond Preferred | Shorter than its transfer offer, according to NerdWallet; exact purchase duration not stated here | 21 months, according to NerdWallet; deadline not stated in the cited summary | Not stated in the cited comparison summary. Source: NerdWallet. |
For Chase, the offer page states: “Enjoy 0% Intro APR for 21 months on purchases and balance transfers, then a variable APR of 18.49% to 28.49% thereafter.” That is the offer shown when checked October 4, 2026, not a guarantee that the same terms will be available later.
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
How to choose between a purchase offer and a balance transfer
If you need to move existing debt
Check the transfer deadline as carefully as the promotional length. A 21-month balance-transfer period does not mean you can move a balance at any time during those 21 months: the cited comparison reports deadlines of 120 days for Wells Fargo Reflect and 60 days for BankAmericard. Confirm how the issuer defines an eligible transfer and when it must be completed.
Calculate the transfer fee before moving debt. A fee reduces the balance’s potential interest savings from day one; the fee can be worthwhile, but the headline 0% rate alone does not establish that. Chase states that its fee applies but the cited offer excerpt does not give an amount, so review its current pricing disclosure rather than assuming a fee.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
If you are financing a planned purchase
Compare the purchase promotion—not the balance-transfer promotion—and build a repayment schedule that clears the amount before the introductory period expires. A card may offer a longer 0% period on transfers than on purchases, as NerdWallet’s listing for Citi Diamond Preferred illustrates.
What to check before applying
- Promotional length: Confirm the duration for purchases and transfers separately, including whether it is measured in months or billing cycles.
- Transfer cutoff: Find the date by which a transfer must be made or completed to qualify.
- Fees: Check the transfer-fee percentage and minimum, as well as any annual fee.
- APR after the offer: Compare the ongoing variable APR with your likely payoff date; any balance remaining after the promotion may accrue interest at that rate.
- Issuer terms: Read the current pricing disclosure and the offer presented for your application. Approval, credit limit and exact terms depend on the issuer and applicant.
Why “up to 21 months” is the accurate headline
The comparison checked for October 2026 shows several offers at 21 months or 21 billing cycles, while other offers are shorter or distinguish between purchases and transfers. Chase Slate is therefore one of the longest offers identified, not the only card at the maximum. Card terms can change, so verify the issuer’s offer on the day you apply.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Rank #4
Rank #3
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




