Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallChoose the IHG One Rewards Traveler if avoiding an annual fee is your priority. Consider the IHG One Rewards Premier if you expect to use its anniversary free night and other benefits enough to make its $99 annual fee worthwhile. Neither card is automatically the better choice: your IHG stays, eligible spending and ability to redeem the benefits matter more than the headline bonus.
IHG Premier vs. Traveler at a glance
| Feature | IHG One Rewards Premier | IHG One Rewards Traveler |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | $99 per year, according to Chase’s comparison page reviewed October 4, 2026 (Chase comparison) | $0, according to Chase’s comparison page reviewed October 4, 2026 (Chase comparison) |
| Welcome offer shown by Chase | 140,000 bonus points after $3,000 in purchases in the first three months from account opening | 80,000 bonus points after $2,000 in purchases in the first three months from account opening |
| Automatic elite status | Gold Elite (Premier card terms) | Silver Elite (Traveler card terms) |
| Anniversary free night | Yes, with a current redemption cap of 50,000 points; points from your IHG account may be added to redeem above the cap, according to Chase’s Premier page reviewed in 2026 | Not stated on Chase’s Traveler page reviewed in 2026 |
| Fourth reward night free | On qualifying four-night award stays | On qualifying four-night award stays |
Chase’s comparison page also lists up to 26X total points per dollar at IHG hotels for Premier and up to 17X for Traveler. These are issuer-stated totals combining card and IHG program components; they are not the cards’ everyday-spending rates.
Offers and benefits can change. Check the live Chase card comparison and the full product terms for the card you are considering before applying, including eligibility requirements.
How the current welcome offers compare
As shown on Chase’s comparison page reviewed October 4, 2026, Premier offers 140,000 bonus points after $3,000 in purchases in the first three months from account opening. Traveler offers 80,000 bonus points after $2,000 in purchases in the same period. The Premier offer has a higher advertised bonus, but also requires more qualifying spend.
#1 Best Overall
Compare each offer with your normal budget and the full eligibility terms rather than spending extra to reach a threshold. A larger bonus is not necessarily more useful if you cannot comfortably meet its requirement or use the points for travel you want.
Compare the cards’ hotel benefits
Premier: Gold Elite status and an anniversary night
The Premier card page lists automatic Gold Elite status and an anniversary free night currently capped at 50,000 points. It says you may add points from your IHG account to redeem for a night above that cap. The value of this benefit depends on whether you can use it for a stay you actually want and on the award-night terms in effect when you redeem.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
Premier also lists five additional Elite Night Credits after $15,000 in annual purchases. That spending threshold is a separate benefit from the anniversary night, so weigh it only if you would reach it through spending you already planned.
Traveler: Silver Elite status
Traveler provides automatic Silver Elite status, according to its Chase product page. It also lists a 10,000-point bonus after $10,000 in purchases each calendar year. Whether that bonus is relevant depends on whether your normal eligible spending reaches the threshold; do not assume it offsets a fee or guarantees a particular cash value.
Recommended Free Tools
Rank #3
Both cards: fourth reward night free
Chase lists a fourth reward night free on qualifying four-night award stays for both cards. Confirm the current conditions and eligibility on the relevant product page before planning a redemption.
Everyday earning depends on your spending
The earning categories differ, so consider where your budget actually goes. Chase lists these rates on the individual product pages:
Rank #4
| Spending category | Premier | Traveler |
|---|---|---|
| Flights booked directly, car rentals, dining, grocery stores and gas stations | 5 points per dollar | Not stated as a 5-point category on the Traveler page |
| Dining, utilities, select streaming services and gas stations | Not stated as a 3-point category on the Premier page | 3 points per dollar |
| Other purchases | 3 points per dollar | 2 points per dollar |
The categories above reflect Chase’s descriptions on its Premier and Traveler pages. Check those terms for the issuer’s complete category definitions. Hotel earning headlines do not tell you which card earns more on your ordinary purchases.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Which IHG card should you choose?
- Choose Traveler as a starting point if a $0 annual fee is the deciding factor and you want to earn IHG points with Silver Elite status.
- Consider Premier if you expect to redeem its anniversary night and use its other benefits often enough to justify paying $99 each year.
- Compare category fit against your real spending: Premier lists higher rates in several everyday categories, while Traveler has its own bonus categories and a calendar-year spending bonus.
- Factor in your IHG use. The cards are most relevant if you stay at IHG properties and can make use of the loyalty benefits. Do not assign a fixed cash value to points without a current, transparent valuation method.
Before applying, review the live offer, eligibility rules and benefit terms on Chase’s comparison page and the appropriate Premier or Traveler page. The bonus, annual fee or benefits shown may change.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




