Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallThe $400 million headline dates to May 4, 2022. Porsche AG led Group14 Technologies’ Series C financing to expand production of its silicon-carbon anode material, SCC55, and support high-performance cells with Porsche’s Cellforce Group. The investment was in a battery-materials supplier—not a finished battery or a new Porsche vehicle.
Group14 is now a substantially larger company. It announced a $463 million Series D led by SK Inc. on August 20, 2025, acquired full ownership of its South Korean factory and said it had raised more than $1 billion in equity. The commercial question has shifted from whether silicon anodes work in a laboratory to whether Group14 can manufacture consistent material economically, qualify it in automotive cells and sustain high-volume production.
What the $400 million financing actually funded
The Series C financing was announced on May 4, 2022, with Porsche AG as lead investor. Named participants included OMERS Capital Markets, Decarbonization Partners, Riverstone Holdings, Vsquared Ventures, Moore Strategic Ventures and other institutional investors. Group14 said the proceeds would accelerate SCC55 production, build its second U.S. Battery Active Materials (BAM) factory in Moses Lake, Washington, and support Porsche and Cellforce’s plans for high-performance lithium-silicon cells.
The original announcement said Cellforce intended to produce high-performance cells in Germany beginning in 2024. That was a 2022 target, not evidence that Porsche vehicles using Group14 material entered volume production on that timetable. The announcements also did not describe a consumer battery launch or provide customer-by-customer production volumes.
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
- Heavy Duty Battery 1.5v
- 20 pcs AA Batteries
- Great for long lasting everyday usage
- Super Heavy Duty Power Carbon Zinc
- Easy to open package
Porsche’s announcement and the financing release provide the original terms.
The update investors need: the 2025 Series D
On August 20, 2025, Group14 announced a $463 million Series D led by SK Inc. The company said the round would expand SCC55 manufacturing in the United States and South Korea. It also acquired the remaining 75% of its South Korean joint venture, giving it full ownership of that facility. Group14 said cumulative equity funding had passed $1 billion.
That financing matters more than the old headline for assessing the company today. It supplied additional capital, brought a major strategic battery partner into the lead-investor role and gave Group14 direct control of an Asian production site. The company’s Series D announcement does not, however, disclose revenue, margins, profitability or recurring volume by customer.
What SCC55 is—and what it is not
Group14 develops SCC55, a silicon-carbon composite used as an active anode material in lithium-ion batteries. The anode stores lithium during charging. Most conventional lithium-ion cells use graphite there.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Why replace some graphite with silicon?
Silicon can store substantially more lithium than graphite. In a properly engineered cell, replacing some graphite can raise energy density and may improve power or charging performance. Those benefits depend on the complete cell: silicon loading, electrolyte, binder, electrode thickness, formation process, lithium inventory, thermal controls and the cell’s mechanical design.
Why raw silicon is difficult
Silicon expands and contracts dramatically as it absorbs and releases lithium. Repeated cycling can fracture particles, break electrical contact, rebuild the solid-electrolyte interphase, consume electrolyte and active lithium, increase swelling and reduce usable capacity.
SCC55 is intended to use a carbon structure to accommodate expansion and preserve conductivity while retaining more of silicon’s capacity. Group14 describes the material and its manufacturing approach at group14.technology. Group14 supplies material; it does not determine the final cell chemistry, format, software, thermal system, pack design or vehicle range.
How to judge the performance claims
Battery claims must be separated into three levels:
- Material: the properties SCC55 contributes to an electrode.
- Cell: energy density, power, charging rate and retention after a manufacturer integrates the material.
- Pack or vehicle: range, weight, charging time, cost and durability experienced by the customer.
A silicon material claim cannot by itself establish a doubled EV range or eliminate charging concerns.
Cycle life
In a June 25, 2025 release, Group14 said data from more than 20 customers showed SCC55-based silicon batteries reaching 1,500 to more than 3,000 charge cycles across applications. Those figures are company-reported customer data. The cited release does not disclose each test protocol, silicon loading, temperature, cell format or capacity-retention threshold—such as whether a cycle result means 80% retained capacity.
Rank #2
- Fireproof&Explosion-Proof Protection: Fireproof battery organizer storage box is made of high quality non-itchy silicone coated fiberglass which stands up the temperature up to 2000℉. Fireproof materials will keep your batteries 100% safe. We designed this fireproof battery box to minimize the danger and loss caused by battery explosion. It has passed the UL94-V0/5VA flame retardant test. Excess foam padding in compartments has been preremoved, so the bag is ready to use right out of the box
- Stores For more type batteries: This fireproof battery organizer case measures 12" x 8.7" x 4". It can hold 67*AA, 75*AAA, 8*C, 6*D, 8*9V, 18*Button type batteries (3V lithium - CR 2032,CR 2016,CR 1632, CR 2025,LR44 etc.), total over 200 batteries. Keeping your batteries organized and helps extend the life of your batteries. This fireproof battery storage bag also comes with two zippered pockets for convenient storage of battery testers and other types of batteries
- Safely Stores Batteries: Our fireproof battery organizer bag features a double zipper and durable handle to keep batteries from shock. In the event that a defective battery were to swell, leak, or explode our bag is designed to contain this and keep your family safe. Batteries are securely held in well organized foam cutouts, this prevents accidental contact between batteries that can cause fire or explosion, but also makes finding the right battery easy
- Durable and Portable: This battery storage bag can not only be safely hung on a wall, in a storage room, in a drawer, or any other place away from fire sources, but also be carried around. Whether traveling or at home, battery explosion or fire risk during use is real. Our fire bag solves this. If a battery ignites inside, its sturdy build contains flames and heat, giving extra safety. No solution is foolproof, but extra protection always helps and does no harm
- Please note: DocSafe includes a battery tester compatible with all types of batteries as a gift with the storage bag, but does not include any batteries. This makes it very convenient for you to identify which batteries need to be recycled. Battery fires and explosion incidents are increasing. This risk is no longer rare and can never be eliminated. However, a fireproof battery bag provides the necessary protection. Peace of mind should not be a luxury—it should fit easily into your bag
That makes the figures evidence of commercial testing, not an independently audited industry benchmark. The release is available at Group14’s cycle-life announcement.
High-power and fast-charging cells
Group14 identified SCC55 as an enabling material in Molicel’s INR-21700-P50B cylindrical cell. The companies described applications including high-performance EVs, hypercars and electric vertical-takeoff-and-landing aircraft, and linked the material to a combination of power, faster charging and cycle life comparable to lithium-iron-phosphate cells.
Those comparisons should be attributed to Group14 or Molicel. They do not establish a market-wide result, and the release does not provide a complete independent test matrix for every application. See the P50B announcement.
Evidence that the material reached products
Commercial factories and customer shipments
Group14 says its first commercial BAM-1 factory in Woodinville, Washington, has operated since 2021. In September 2024, it said material from its South Korean factory had shipped to more than 100 EV and consumer-electronics battery-manufacturing customers worldwide. The company said that site had initial capacity of 2,000 tons per year, equivalent to roughly 10 GWh of battery material.
Group14 also said battery manufacturers representing more than 95% of worldwide lithium-ion production had received initial shipments for qualification. That describes customer representation in shipments or qualification—not adoption by 95% of the market.
The same announcement said SCC55 from BAM-1 was already used in more than two million smartphones. Read the company’s account at Group14’s customer-shipment release.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →HONOR smartphone deployment
In November 2024, Group14 said SCC55 was powering the HONOR Magic7 Pro and that the material had been integrated into millions of batteries supplied by ATL. The commercial chain is important: Group14 supplies the material, a cell maker builds the battery, and a device maker integrates that battery. Product performance therefore reflects the entire battery and device design, not SCC55 alone.
The announcement appears in Group14’s press-release archive.
Manufacturing is the real scale test
Silicon-anode companies need more than a capable electrode. They need reliable precursor supply, repeatable particle and coating specifications, high factory yield and customer qualification without expensive process disruption.
| Facility or project | What is established | Qualification |
|---|---|---|
| BAM-1, Woodinville, Washington | Company says commercial operation began in 2021 | Company-reported operating history |
| South Korean BAM factory | Initial capacity of 2,000 tons annually, about 10 GWh; shipments reported in 2024 | Group14 later acquired 100% ownership |
| BAM-2, Moses Lake, Washington | Initial module planned for 2,000 tons annually, approximately 10 GWh | Company page says production is expected to begin in 2026; this is not proof of full nameplate operation |
| DOE BAM-2 support | $100 million award concluded in September 2023 | Award announcement |
| Washington silane plant | Planned 7,200-metric-ton facility | DOE selected Group14 for award negotiations of up to $200 million in September 2024; that wording does not establish that the full amount was received |
Group14’s current BAM-2 page gives the 2026 production expectation. Its silane announcement describes the award-negotiation status.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Rank #3
- YDFunHowie Electric Reel Battery Dimensions: 8.26*4.13*1.8 inches. Output Voltage: 14.8V. Capacity: 14000mAh. Weight: 2.42 lbs.Fully charged in about 4 hours.Basically, any electric reel that can be used at 14.8V is compatible with it.
- YDFunHowie Built-in independent chip. With multiple protection mechanisms. Like overcharge, over discharge and short circuit protection. Safe and reliable to use.
- YDFunHowie Equipped with two USB ports, it can charge mobile phones and other electronic products, solving the anxiety of low battery in mobile phones during fishing.
- YDFunHowie It has dual display of power and voltage. allowing you to know the battery status at any time.
- YDFunHowie The electrodes are made of multi-layer galvanized anti-corrosion technology. Equipped with a protective cover and shoulder strap. Protect the battery while freeing your hands to the greatest extent.
Why silane supply matters
Silane-related precursor capacity can constrain silicon-anode output just as surely as electrode technology can. Group14’s planned U.S. silane facility is intended to support domestic production and reduce dependence on imported precursor material. The company also described a European silane-related footprint in its 2025 financing announcement.
Domestic supply could improve resilience, but it does not remove exposure to global equipment, chemicals, logistics and battery-customer supply chains. Nor does a government award negotiation prove that the plant is complete or operating at target cost.
Where Group14 stands financially and commercially
For investors, the strongest evidence is that Group14 reports commercial shipments, a smartphone deployment and a high-power cylindrical cell connection. That is materially further along than a laboratory-only startup.
The unresolved evidence is equally important:
- Public materials do not provide audited revenue, gross margin, profitability or customer-by-customer volume.
- “More than 100 customers” includes qualification and shipment relationships; it does not show how many are in recurring mass production.
- The 1,500-to-more-than-3,000-cycle figures lack disclosed common test conditions and retention thresholds.
- The 2026 BAM-2 target is a forecast, not confirmation of full production.
- The original Porsche/Cellforce 2024 production target remains unverified by the cited announcement.
How to compare silicon-anode approaches
“Silicon battery” is not one technology. The label can describe a modest graphite-silicon blend, a silicon-dominant anode, silicon nanowires, a structured cell architecture or a composite such as SCC55.
| Approach | Potential advantage | Main question |
|---|---|---|
| Silicon-carbon composite | Higher capacity while using a carbon framework to manage expansion | Can cycle life, swelling and cost remain acceptable at scale? |
| Silicon-dominant anode | Greater potential energy-density gain | Can expansion and lithium loss be controlled over automotive life? |
| Silicon nanowire or structured designs | Engineered pathways for conductivity and expansion management | Can specialized manufacturing deliver high yield? |
| Improved graphite or graphite-silicon blends | Lower process risk and compatibility with established supply chains | How much capacity gain is available without sacrificing durability? |
| Solid-state batteries | Different electrolyte and cell architecture with potentially high energy density | When will manufacturing, yield and cost support volume production? |
Group14’s announced collaborations illustrate the ecosystem rather than a consumer product. BASF announced a silicon-anode solution combining SCC55 with its Licity 2698 X F binder at BASF’s release. Enovix announced a collaboration involving SCC55 in its cell architecture at Enovix’s release. These announcements do not make the companies interchangeable: Group14 supplies anode material, while partners may build cells or provide other components.
What would prove the investment has fully paid off?
- Automotive qualification: named programs moving from samples to repeat orders and production vehicles.
- Durability under disclosed conditions: cycle retention, temperature range, charge rate and silicon loading reported clearly enough to compare.
- Manufacturing yield: consistent material specifications at BAM-2 and the South Korean site.
- Economics: cost per usable kilowatt-hour competitive with graphite and other silicon materials.
- Pack-level results: independent evidence on swelling, safety, fast charging and vehicle or storage-system life.
Bottom line for finance readers
Group14’s $400 million Porsche-backed financing was a real 2022 Series C investment that helped move SCC55 toward commercial manufacturing. By 2026, the more relevant facts are the $463 million 2025 Series D, full ownership of the South Korean factory, reported smartphone and high-power-cell deployments, and continued U.S. expansion.
The company appears beyond the laboratory stage, but the decisive investment risks remain manufacturing economics, long-term retention, automotive qualification and high-volume output. Commercial shipments demonstrate progress; they do not yet prove that SCC55 will become a dominant battery material or that every performance claim transfers to mass-market EV packs.
Frequently Asked Questions
Was Group14’s $400 million financing announced in 2026?
No. Porsche AG led the $400 million Series C announced on May 4, 2022. Group14’s later financing was a $463 million Series D announced on August 20, 2025.
Does Group14 sell complete EV batteries?
Generally no. Group14 supplies SCC55 silicon-carbon anode material to battery manufacturers, which integrate it into cells and finished products.
Are Group14’s cycle-life figures independently verified?
The cited 1,500-to-more-than-3,000-cycle range is company-reported data from more than 20 customers. The release does not disclose a common test protocol or capacity-retention threshold.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




