Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

GlobalFoundries’ 2018 Layoff: What the 5% Workforce Cut Meant

GlobalFoundries’ June 11, 2018 announcement targeted about 900 employees—roughly 5% of its workforce—to reduce costs and acquisition-related redundancies, without planned fab closures.
From TheFinanceBase Team3 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

On June 11, 2018, GlobalFoundries announced a workforce reduction targeting about 5% of its employees—roughly 900 people out of a global workforce of 18,000. The company said the move would lower costs and remove redundancies from earlier acquisitions, while keeping its fabs open and continuing existing services.

How many jobs did GlobalFoundries plan to cut in 2018?

The June 11 announcement described a targeted reduction of approximately 5% of GlobalFoundries’ global headcount. EE Times reported that this amounted to about 900 of the company’s 18,000 employees. The figures were approximate; GlobalFoundries did not publish a complete breakdown by site, country, or job function.

The cuts were intended to span functional areas and geographies. The company said a significant portion was expected to come through a voluntary separation program, rather than disclosing a detailed allocation of positions.

Why did GlobalFoundries reduce its workforce?

GlobalFoundries said it wanted to “improve our global cost structure and minimize redundancies that have accrued from previous mergers and acquisitions.” Times Union linked those redundancies to integrating IBM and Chartered Semiconductor facilities acquired after GlobalFoundries was spun out of AMD.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The stated cost objective also reflected competitive pressure in contract chip manufacturing. Times Union cited industry-reported 2017 revenue estimates of about $6 billion for GlobalFoundries and $32 billion for TSMC. Those historical estimates illustrate the scale difference at the time; they are not current revenue figures.

Were fabs, existing services, or Fab 8 affected?

GlobalFoundries said it did not plan to close fabs or cut existing services. In reporting on the announcement, Times Union described the company as having about 18,000 employees at 14 sites, including 10 chip factories.

Fab 8 in Malta, New York, was described as relatively insulated. The report said core manufacturing there and the facility’s 7nm development were not expected to be affected. That was not a published site-by-site guarantee covering every role: the company did not disclose a complete allocation of the planned cuts.

How did the 2018 cuts compare with the later workforce reduction?

GlobalFoundries announced another workforce reduction in December 2022. Times Union described it as roughly 5% of the workforce, or fewer than 800 employees, planned before year-end. The company tied the action to expected weaker semiconductor demand in 2023, announced a hiring freeze, and set a goal of saving $200 million annually.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Action Scale reported Stated rationale and measures Manufacturing impact described
June 2018 About 900 of 18,000 employees, approximately 5%, according to EE Times Improve the global cost structure and reduce acquisition-related redundancies; significant use of voluntary separation was expected No planned fab closures or cuts to existing services; Fab 8 core manufacturing and 7nm development were not expected to be affected, according to Times Union
December 2022 Fewer than 800 employees before year-end; Times Union described this as about 5% of the workforce Prepare for softer semiconductor demand in 2023; hiring freeze and a stated $200 million annual savings goal No specific fab closure or named-facility impact is stated in the cited Times Union report

The two reductions had a similar reported workforce share but different stated contexts: the 2018 action focused on costs and integration redundancies, while the 2022 action was tied to the demand outlook and included a hiring freeze. They were separate announcements, not one continuous program.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What did GlobalFoundries disclose about restructuring in 2026?

In its May 2026 first-quarter results, GlobalFoundries said its definition of structural optimization included employee workforce reductions. It also said a restructuring plan associated with a February 2026 workforce reduction was designed to align its organizational structure with its operating model and strategic priorities. That disclosure confirms further restructuring activity, but does not establish that the 2026 plan continued the 2018 program.

What the 2018 announcement does—and does not—establish

  • Established: the company announced a global target of about 5%, or approximately 900 of 18,000 employees, and said acquisition-related redundancies and cost structure were the reasons.
  • Established: the company said fabs would remain open and existing services would continue; Fab 8’s core manufacturing and 7nm development were not expected to be affected.
  • Not disclosed: a verified site-by-site, country-by-country, or job-family breakdown, or the severance cost of the 2018 action.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase07 OCT 264 minAre You Living in One of These Top 10 Most Expensive Cities to Retire?
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase07 OCT 265 minWhat Is a 457 Plan?
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase07 OCT 265 minTime Value of Money: What It Is and How It Works
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.