Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Fido’s April 11, 2024 plan refresh removed a standout $34-per-month 50GB offer (the price reported with automatic payments) and listed a $39 20GB plan instead. It also added 50GB and 60GB tiers at higher prices. The announcement described a new lineup, not a compulsory migration of every existing subscriber.
What changed in April 2024?
MobileSyrup reported that Fido, Rogers’ flanker brand, replaced the previously reported $34/50GB offer with a 20GB plan priced at $39 per month. The same lineup added 2GB, 50GB and 60GB options. The former $34 price was tied to automatic payments, so it should not be treated as an unconditional regular rate.
| Plan | Monthly price | Automatic-payment price | Eligibility reported in April 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Earlier offer | 50GB for $34 | $34 | Bring your own phone |
| New 2GB | $37.50 | Not stated | Bring your own phone |
| New 20GB | $39 | Not stated | Bring your own phone |
| New 50GB | $49 | $44 | BYOD; also available with a Fido-financed phone |
| New 60GB | $55 | $50 | BYOD; also available with a Fido-financed phone |
Source: MobileSyrup, April 11, 2024. Prices are monthly plan prices before taxes; the discounted figures depend on automatic payments.
The headline’s “swap” does not prove forced downgrades
The report established that Fido’s in-market lineup changed. It did not establish that every customer on the old 50GB plan was automatically moved to 20GB. Existing subscribers may have retained grandfathered terms, but the available report does not document universal grandfathering, forced migration, cancellation fees or every regional exception. Check My Account or your service agreement before changing anything.
#1 Best Overall
- NO CONTRACT: Pay $5 - $25/month for a fully customizable phone plan - choose your talk, text, and data with no strings attached; upgrade, downgrade or cancel your plan anytime with no penalties
- UNIVERSAL SIM CARD INCLUDED: The kit contains one three-in-one SIM card (nano, micro, and standard sizes) to fit most unlocked GSM-compatible smartphones
- NATIONWIDE 5G COVERAGE: Stay connected coast to coast with nationwide coverage on America's largest 5G network
- INTERNATIONAL CALLS TO 60+ COUNTRIES: All Tello plans include international calling to over 60 countries
- EASY ACTIVATION: Bring your own phone and activate your SIM on the Tello website; check your phone compatibility and coverage maps before purchasing to confirm service in your area
Network and included features
The April 2024 plans were reported as 4G plans with an advertised maximum speed of 150Mbps. They included:
- Unlimited Canada-wide calling
- Unlimited texting
- International text messages sent from Canada
- Voicemail
- Call display
Do not describe these historical plans as 5G plans. Fido’s current support documentation says most newer plans include 5G, while basic plans and Wireless Home Phone plans do not; that present-day policy does not change what the April 2024 lineup offered. See Fido’s current 5G guidance.
How much value did customers lose?
Cost per gigabyte is only a rough comparison because coverage, speed, hotspot rules, roaming and promotional conditions also matter. It nevertheless shows why the old offer was difficult to replace.
Rank #2
- (1) Att 5g Nano Size Sim Card included
- (1) SimBros Sim pin for removing old sims included
- Works with all unlocked or Att Devices from the past 10 years
- If your device is very old please check to make sure "NANO" sim is the correct size you need
- Will work on Both Postpaid and Prepaid!
| Plan | Calculation | Approximate cost per GB |
|---|---|---|
| Former 50GB | $34 ÷ 50GB | $0.68 |
| New 20GB | $39 ÷ 20GB | $1.95 |
| New 50GB | $49 ÷ 50GB | $0.98 |
| New 50GB with autopay | $44 ÷ 50GB | $0.88 |
| New 60GB | $55 ÷ 60GB | $0.92 |
| New 60GB with autopay | $50 ÷ 60GB | $0.83 |
The key deterioration was not merely a different selection of tiers: a customer seeking the old $34/50GB value faced $39 for 20GB, while restoring 50GB cost $49 or $44 with the reported automatic-payment discount.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Who might choose each tier?
2GB
This is aimed at very light users who spend most of their time on Wi-Fi. It is a poor match for regular video streaming, hotspot use, heavy navigation or extensive social-media use.
20GB
The 20GB plan can suit moderate users who value Fido’s coverage or an existing account relationship. It is poor value for anyone who previously had 50GB for $34 or who compares plans mainly by data per dollar.
Rank #3
- Includes two US Mobile SIM cards, one for the Warp Network and one for the Dark Star Network.
- Easy activation. Get started in minutes and manage your lines any time!
- 5G plans starting from $4/month
- Unlimited Premium plan with up to 10 GB International Data
- 24/7–365 world-class customer support. Get help from a real person within seconds
50GB
The 50GB option restores a larger data bucket and has a lower reported price with automatic payments. It remains materially more expensive than the former $34/50GB deal and carries the historical 4G/150Mbps ceiling.
60GB
Among the three principal tiers, 60GB offered the best raw data-per-dollar calculation, especially at the reported $50 automatic-payment price. The regular price was $6 higher than 50GB for only 10GB more, and a competing plan may offer 5G or different roaming benefits.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →How Fido compared with rival flanker brands in April 2024
MobileSyrup’s contemporaneous comparison said Public Mobile and Chatr still had $34/50GB offers at that time. It also said Fido’s $55 60GB plan, or $50 with automatic payments, undercut similar 60GB plans from Koodo and Virgin Plus, while those comparable Koodo and Virgin plans offered 5G.
Rank #4
- STAY CONNECTED WORLDWIDE: Unlimited calling from the U.S. to 90+ international destinations including India, Mexico, Canada, China, the U.K. and more.
- RELIABLE NATIONWIDE COVERAGE: Enjoy 4GB of high-speed 5G/4G LTE data on the T-Mobile 5G Network.
- TRAVEL ACROSS NORTH AMERICA: Unlimited talk and text in Mexico and Canada plus international roaming credit.
- BRING YOUR OWN PHONE: Activate your compatible unlocked phone with the included 3-in-1 SIM card or eSIM. Keep your number or get a new one.
- NO CONTRACTS: 1-Month prepaid wireless plan with no annual contracts, no credit checks, and no hidden fees.
Those were April 2024 market comparisons, not verified August 2026 prices. Today, check each carrier’s current price, network technology, coverage, autopay requirement, hotspot terms and activation restrictions. Public Mobile and Chatr may appeal to data-focused shoppers; Koodo and Virgin Plus remain relevant flanker alternatives; Freedom Mobile can make sense where its coverage and roaming terms fit; Rogers proper may offer broader roaming or device promotions at a higher price.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.BYOD, financing and switching risks
The reported 2GB, 20GB, 50GB and 60GB prices were for bring-your-own-phone customers. Fido’s current BYOD page explains the current route for customers with an unlocked, compatible device, but it does not preserve the historical April 2024 prices.
The 50GB and 60GB plans were also reported as available with a Fido phone purchase. Current Fido Payment Program guidance says upgrading can require an eligible in-market plan and that an outstanding device balance may become payable when circumstances change. Fido’s current FAQ says moving between plan categories can trigger payment of that balance, while some changes within the same category may be permitted. These are current policies, not proof that April 2024 contracts had identical terms. Review your agreement before switching:
Recommended Free Tools
Best Value
- T-MOBILE NETWORK SIM - 4G/5G prepaid SIM card ready to activate on the T-Mobile network in minutes
- TRI-CUT FITS ANY PHONE - Nano, Micro, and Standard sizes built into one card
- PREPAID & POSTPAID READY - Start a new T-Mobile line or replace an old or damaged SIM
- BYOD - BRING YOUR OWN PHONE - Works with T-Mobile-compatible unlocked GSM and LTE devices
- NO CONTRACT, NO CREDIT CHECK - Activate online in minutes; new activations are non-refundable
- Confirm whether your displayed price includes automatic payments.
- Ask whether the offer is limited to new activations or a particular province or postal code.
- Check whether changing plans affects device financing or an outstanding balance.
- Verify 5G eligibility, hotspot use, roaming and data-sharing rules.
- Record when any bill credit ends and what the price becomes afterward.
See Fido’s Payment Program information and its Payment Program FAQ.
Is the April 2024 lineup a good deal?
For a customer comparing directly with the former $34/50GB offer, the $39/20GB plan was a clear deterioration in data value. The 50GB plan was a way to buy back capacity at a higher price, and the 60GB plan was the strongest of the new tiers on a simple cost-per-gigabyte basis. Whether either was worthwhile depended on the value of Fido’s coverage, the 150Mbps 4G limit and the customer’s need for 5G or roaming.
Current-status note: do not treat these as Fido’s 2026 plans
This article describes the April 11, 2024 change. Fido’s lineup has since changed. A Fido promotion page seen August 18, 2026 advertised 60GB for $50 on a primary line and a second 60GB line for $45 after a $5 bill credit, subject to automatic payments, BYOD and new-activation conditions. That promotion is not the same product as the historical $55/60GB plan. Check the live offer at Fido’s promotion page before signing up.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




