The headline refers to a deal announced on August 19, 2020—not a new 2026 acquisition. EQT Infrastructure IV agreed to acquire EdgeConneX from an investor group led by Providence Equity Partners. EQT did not disclose a percentage in its announcement; contemporaneous coverage by Data Center Knowledge reported that EQT Infrastructure IV was expected to control 85% after the deal closed.
What EQT agreed to buy in 2020
EQT Infrastructure IV, a fund managed by Sweden-based investment firm EQT, announced the agreement on August 19, 2020. The seller was an investor group led by Providence Equity Partners. EQT said closing was expected in the fourth quarter of 2020, but its own announcement did not state the size of the stake. EQT’s announcement described the transaction as an acquisition; Data Center Knowledge’s contemporaneous report characterized it as a controlling-stake purchase and said Infrastructure IV was expected to control 85% after completion. The 85% figure should therefore be attributed to that report, not to EQT’s release.
What EdgeConneX does
EdgeConneX develops and operates data centers for cloud, content, network and other service providers. Its portfolio included both large, purpose-built facilities and smaller edge facilities located nearer to consumer and enterprise users, where proximity can support latency-sensitive workloads.
At the time of the 2020 announcement, EQT said EdgeConneX operated and developed more than 40 facilities in 33 markets across North America, Europe and South America. That is the company scale reported in 2020, not a current footprint figure.
#1 Best Overall
How EdgeConneX ownership changed after the deal
| Timing | Ownership event | What the source established |
|---|---|---|
| August 2020 | EQT Infrastructure IV agreed to acquire EdgeConneX from an investor group led by Providence Equity Partners. | EQT said closing was expected in Q4 2020 but did not disclose a percentage. Data Center Knowledge reported that Infrastructure IV was expected to control 85% after completion. |
| August 2021 | EQT Infrastructure V agreed to co-invest alongside Infrastructure IV. | EQT said the two funds would have equal ownership stakes once the transaction completed. Its announcement also identified the original Infrastructure IV acquisition as having occurred in 2020. |
| September 2024 | Funds managed by Sixth Street agreed to acquire a minority stake. | EQT said Infrastructure IV and V would remain the largest shareholder after closing. EQT reported 80 data centers in operation or development in more than 50 markets at that time. |
| July 17, 2026 | EQT reported a minority-stake transfer from Infrastructure IV and V to its AI Infrastructure strategy. | EQT’s half-year report described EdgeConneX as the seed investment for that strategy and listed minority-stake sales among the funds’ exit activity. It did not give a current ownership percentage for each holder. |
What is and is not known about current ownership
The available EQT disclosures trace changes in the investor group but do not provide a definitive, current percentage breakdown for EQT Infrastructure IV, EQT Infrastructure V, Sixth Street or EQT’s AI Infrastructure strategy. EQT’s statement that its funds would remain the largest shareholder after the proposed Sixth Street transaction does not establish the exact stakes, and the 2026 report does not resolve those percentages. The ownership picture could also change after the date of that report.
For the original deal, the clearest distinction is between what EQT formally announced and what contemporaneous reporting added: EQT named Infrastructure IV as buyer and Providence Equity Partners as the lead of the selling group, while Data Center Knowledge supplied the reported 85% estimate.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Rank #4
Rank #3
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




