Digital Realty announced a liquid-cooled bare-metal server service at its SIN11 data center in Singapore in 2021, developed with Singapore startup CoolestDC. The system used direct-to-chip cooling, and Digital Realty later reported that the servers could use up to 29% less power than conventional air-cooled servers. That figure is a company-reported upper bound—not a guaranteed saving for every workload or a measure of total facility energy use. The available sources confirm the historical offer, but not whether customers can still book it in 2026.
What Digital Realty announced for Singapore
The November 2021 announcement concerned hosted enterprise infrastructure, not a consumer cooling product. Digital Realty said its bare-metal service with liquid cooling would initially be available at Digital Loyang 1, also known as SIN11, in northeast Singapore. The service was developed with CoolestDC, a Singapore startup. Digital Realty stated an intention to extend the approach to other data centers, but the sources do not establish where that rollout occurred. Data Center Knowledge’s 2021 report described the announcement, partnership and initial location.
Digital Realty’s 2022 proxy statement also identifies SIN11 as offering liquid-cooled racks. Its SEC-filed proxy statement specifies direct-to-chip cooling.
How direct-to-chip cooling works
In direct-to-chip cooling, a cold plate transfers heat from the server chip to circulating coolant. This removes heat at the component rather than relying only on air moving through the server. It is distinct from immersion cooling, in which equipment is submerged in liquid; the SIN11 offering should not be described as immersion cooling. Nor does the documentation establish that every rack in the facility used liquid cooling.
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
- Liquid cooling radiators: Support up to 360mm
- M/B size: EATX/ATX/MicroATX/Mini-ITX
- Drive Bays: 2*3.5 (internal)
- Expansion Slots: 8xslots PCI/PCIE full height
- Sliding rail: Not support, suggest to use rack shelf
CoolestDC describes its work in liquid cooling and cold-plate engineering. The method is a data-center infrastructure design, not a plug-in retail accessory for an ordinary desktop or an independently verified compatibility claim for generic PC liquid-cooling kits.
What the reported power savings mean
Digital Realty reported that SIN11 servers using direct-to-chip cooling could reduce server power consumption by up to 29% compared with conventional air-cooled servers. The 2021 trade report also attributed the figure to the pilot. “Up to” matters: the number is a company-reported maximum, not a promised result for each server or workload. The sources do not provide the test’s sample size, server configuration, workload, or full methodology. It should not be read as a 29% reduction in the facility’s total energy use.
Rank #2
- Spacious Chassis: This huge 4U server case comes with 15 internal 3.5" HDD bays.
- Expandable & E-ATX Compatible: 7 PCI expansion slots and E-ATX compatibility gives you growth options for all of your needs.
- Exceptional Cooling: 8 pre-installed cooling fans provide excellent airflow and heat protection. 3 front 120mm PWM fans, 3 middle 120mm fans and 2 rear 80mm fans ensure your drives and chassis avoid overheating.
- Desired Features: Front panel LED indicators for power, HDD, and LAN status monitoring allow quick, easy visual assessment. Additional utility with 2 USB 3.0 port and built-in front panel lock.
The same 2021 report estimated annual electricity savings of up to $25,000 for a 25 kW rack. That was a historical estimate; the cited material does not state the electricity tariff, utilization, or calculation assumptions. It is not a current savings forecast, particularly given changes in electricity costs since 2021.
In that report, CoolestDC founder Dr Poh Seng Lee separately described potential energy reductions of 20–30% and water-use reductions of up to 50%. Those were his broader claims, not reported measurements established for the SIN11 pilot. They should not be treated as verified outcomes of this deployment.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Rank #3
- Customizable Depth Design: Enjoy flexible configuration with 4-post 27U Network rack pen frame featuring 4 vertical rails and adjustable 22"-35" depth range. Offers ample clearance for AV systems, network gear, and cable management while providing multi-angle access to ports and equipment
- Strong Load Capacity: 27U Network Rack is constructed from durable cold rolled steel for better weldability performancedesigned for ventilation with 27U mounting height and 1200lbs (550kg) weight capacity
- Enterprise-Grade Compatibility: Full 27U height (43.5"H) accommodates standard 19" rack-mount equipment. Features pre-installed square holes with included M6 screws/cage nuts. Universal depth adjustment (21"W x 22"-35"D) works seamlessly with switches, patch panels, and UPS systems.
- Quick-Lock Assembly System: Assembly is required, but it's simple. With all the included hardware & witty instructions, you'll have your server rack ready for servers & networking gear in under 20 minutes.
- Multi-Environment Ready: Enterprise-grade solution for server rooms, data centers, broadcast studios, and commercial spaces. Ideal for consolidating IT infrastructure in offices, schools, retail stores, or home lab setups with space-saving vertical organization
How the offer was tested—and what is known later
Data Center Knowledge reported that the pilot ran for six months and was funded by Temasek Foundation. CoolestDC’s timeline dates the SIN11 test start to September 2020. These details establish a pilot behind the subsequent offer; they do not supply a complete performance methodology. CoolestDC’s site provides its timeline and company context.
Digital Realty’s 2024 announcement describes broader high-density deployment capability, including direct liquid cooling and rear-door heat exchangers for power densities from 30 to 150 kW per rack and beyond. Those figures describe company-wide capability, not the SIN11 bare-metal service’s rack specification. See Digital Realty’s 2024 high-density deployment announcement.
Rank #4
- SPECIFICATIONS - The NavePoint 18U 4-post open frame rack ensures versatility with its adjustable depth from 22.5" to 40.7", fitting a wide range of server sizes. This rack, crafted from Cold Rolled Steel with a black powder coat, stands at 37.21"H x 20.67"W x 22.5-40.7"L and supports up to 1322 lbs, providing a durable and stable platform for mounting heavy-duty 19" rack equipment.
- DESIGN & VENTILATION - This 4-post network rack's open frame design supports unobstructed airflow, critical for maintaining equipment at optimal temperatures. It's ideal for setups where quick access to hardware and efficient cooling are priorities, supporting effective thermal management and easy maintenance.
- MOBILITY & ASSEMBLY - The rack's mobility is enhanced with casters, allowing for smooth relocation and adjustment in the workspace. Although assembly is required, it's facilitated by a self-squaring design and numbered, square-hole mounting positions. The rack arrives flat-packed with all necessary hardware included, making assembly straightforward.
- CABLE MANAGEMENT - Cable management is simplified with the inclusion of cable hooks, which aid in keeping cables organized and accessible. This feature contributes to a cleaner and more organized installation, which is essential for system reliability and ease of service.
- SAFETY & COMPLIANCE - All NavePoint products are built to industry standards.
Digital Realty’s Singapore location page lists SIN10, SIN11 and SIN12, but a facility listing does not confirm that the original liquid-cooled bare-metal service remains bookable. A February 2026 announcement about Innovation Lab expansion in Singapore and Japan specifies 20 direct-liquid-cooled racks for the Japan location; that rack count is not a specification for Singapore. The announcement discusses both locations.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What enterprise buyers should verify
For a buyer assessing this type of hosted infrastructure, the historic announcement is not a substitute for a current service specification. Confirm availability and fit directly with the provider, including:
Best Value
- Service status and location: whether direct-to-chip bare-metal service is currently offered at SIN11, and what hardware and service terms apply.
- Workload and hardware compatibility: supported server configurations, accelerators, thermal limits and workload assumptions behind any performance claim.
- Rack and facility requirements: available rack power density, cooling interfaces, coolant and facility-side requirements, and operational resilience arrangements.
- Energy accounting: whether quoted savings apply to server power alone or include cooling and other facility loads, and what air-cooled baseline is used.
The public sources establish the historical SIN11 offer and reported comparison, but do not provide comparable vendor test data or a current service specification. A buyer therefore needs current, workload-specific terms before using the historic figures in a procurement or cost model.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




