As of late September 2026, data-center expansion is showing up in three different places: expanded semiconductor capacity for optical links, localized hiring to build cooling equipment, and laboratory work on metal-foam heat sinks. The commercial announcements describe capacity and jobs; the foam results are controlled experiments, not proof of a ready-to-install data-center product.
Latest chip and infrastructure deals
GlobalFoundries and Marvell expand SiGe capacity
Reuters reported on 17 September 2026 that GlobalFoundries and Marvell expanded a multi-year agreement to increase GlobalFoundries’ silicon-germanium (SiGe) capacity at its Burlington, Vermont, operation. The technology is used for high-speed optical connections, including pluggable optical transceivers, near-packaged optics and co-packaged optics.
“Our expanded collaboration with GF will help ensure we have the SiGe technology and manufacturing capacity to support the significant growth we see ahead,” said Robb Johnson, Marvell’s vice president of foundry technology.
The agreement is about manufacturing capacity for optical connectivity rather than a disclosed purchase of finished processors. The announcement did not state a transaction value.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware match#1 Best Overall
- Save valuable floor space: 6U wall mount server cabinet Dimensions: 13.78" H x21.65" W x17.72" D.Maximum mounting depth is 14.2"
- Keep critical network equipment secure: glass door and side panels are lockable to prevent unauthorized access. Front door can be installed on either side of the front of the cabinet to satisfy your door swing orientation preference
- Easy equipment configuration: Fully adjustable mounting rails and numbered U positions, with square holes for easy equipment mounting with top and bottom punch-out panels for easy cable access
- Durability: Made of high quality cold rolled steel holds up to 110lb (50kg) (Easy Assembly Required)
- PCI & HIPPA and EIA/ECA-310-E compliant
Power and compute capacity are also attracting large transactions
Data Center Knowledge’s September 2026 deals page lists the following headline transactions. Those figures are values shown in that deals listing; the page does not establish that they represent completed payments or the full economic terms of each agreement.
| Transaction | Value reported | What it adds to the data-center buildout |
|---|---|---|
| Flex acquisition of EPC Power | $4.4 billion | Power-delivery capability |
| Core Scientific–AMD deal | $14 billion | Compute capacity |
| GlobalFoundries–Marvell expanded agreement | Not stated (Reuters, 17 September 2026) | SiGe manufacturing for optical-networking links |
Taken together, the listings show that the infrastructure race extends beyond processor supply. Power equipment, computing capacity and the optical connections between systems are all being financed or contracted at large scale.
Rank #2
- Save valuable floor space: 12U wall mount server cabinet Dimensions: 24.25" H x21.65" W x17.72" D. MAXIMUM MOUNTING DEPTH is 14.2".
- Keep critical network equipment secure: glass door and side panels are lockable to prevent unauthorized access; Front door can be installed on either side of the front of the cabinet to satisfy your door swing orientation preference
- Easy equipment configuration: Fully adjustable mounting rails and numbered U positions, with square holes for easy equipment mounting with top and bottom punchout panels for easy cable access
- Durability: Made of high quality cold rolled steel holds up to 110lb (50kg) (Easy Assembly Required)
- PCI & HIPPA and EIA/ECA-310-E compliant
Where data-center jobs are available
Modine is hiring in southeastern Wisconsin
Modine said on 23 September 2026 that it was continuing to hire for up to 300 positions in southeastern Wisconsin to support its data-center cooling business. The announcement is a specific local hiring plan, not a national or global estimate of data-center employment.
| Item | Reported detail | Qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Openings | Up to 300 positions | Modine announcement, southeastern Wisconsin; ongoing hiring |
| Production assembler pay | Starts at $23 per hour | Second-shift premium is available; the announcement did not state the premium amount |
| Franklin facility | 153,000 square feet | Opened in September 2025 for Airedale data-center cooling systems |
For someone evaluating one of these jobs, the practical questions are whether the posting is still open, which shift it covers, how the premium is calculated, and whether the role is permanent or tied to a production schedule. The announcement supplies the starting wage and facility context but not a complete benefits package, hiring deadline or eligibility rules.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsRank #3
- Sturdy:4u server rack is construct from cold rolled steel, with a weight capacity of 110lbs(50kg); Electrostatic powder coat prevents rust and corrosion,quality finish
- Direct use:Open and use, not having to assemble it.Network rack can be placed flat or mounted on the wall,also can be installed vertically under the table
- Design Features:maximum mounting depth of 14 in,cables can be fixed on the side panel;Open frame server rack achieves effortless inspection, replacement and assemble
- Installation:wall mount network rack is easy to install,with instructions or videos for reference;Equipped with multiple accessories, suitable for different needs
- Application:EIA/ECA-310-E Compliant;wall mounted 4u rack fits all 19" racks and cabinets to hold various IT, network, and AV equipment;wall mount rack available in 4U, 6U, and 8U to choose
Can metal foam cool AI data centers?
Potentially, in the right cooling design—but current studies do not show that a generic foam block can be installed in a production AI data center. The 2026 papers below tested specific geometries, coolants and flow arrangements. Their results point to useful design options along with hydraulic and materials constraints.
| Study | Configuration tested | Finding |
|---|---|---|
| Energy (2026) | Metal-foam-assisted heat sinks in high-heat-flux data-center immersion cooling | Lower thermal resistance was reported, but the pressure-drop penalty depended on the dielectric fluid and flow structure. |
| International Journal of Heat and Fluid Flow (2026) | Metal foams with different pore densities and porosity | A 5 PPI sample outperformed a 20 PPI sample for average-temperature reduction in the tested setup; an optimized porosity lowered base temperature by up to 16.7%. |
| International Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer (2026) | Metal foam in impinging-jet electronic cooling | Heat transfer improved, while porosity and jet spacing changed both heat-transfer performance and flow resistance. |
Why the laboratory result does not transfer automatically
A foam that increases heat-transfer area can also make coolant harder to move. Engineers would need to validate at least:
- Thermal resistance: the temperature drop from the device to the coolant under the intended heat load.
- Pumping penalty: pressure drop and the additional pump power required by the foam’s pore structure.
- Pore density and porosity: the tested 5 PPI result is not a universal rule; geometry changes the balance between heat transfer and resistance.
- Coolant compatibility: the dielectric fluid or other coolant must remain stable and compatible with the foam and surrounding materials.
- Validation environment: immersion, impinging-jet and other systems have different flow paths, so a result from one arrangement cannot be assumed for another.
What “metal foam heat sink” means for a buyer
“Metal foam heat sink” is an accurate consumer-facing description for generic electronics-cooling hardware. Such products should be treated as components for a specified device and airflow or liquid loop, not as evidence that an enterprise AI rack can be upgraded without engineering review. The studies establish performance in their test conditions; they do not establish commercial adoption rates or a mature market for standardized data-center foam modules.
Quick Recap
How to interpret this data-center cycle
- Job seekers: local manufacturing announcements can create tangible opportunities even when the broader industry headlines concern chips or cloud capacity. Check the exact plant, shift and wage terms in the live posting.
- People following deals: a headline acquisition or multibillion-dollar contract signals where companies are directing capacity, but it is not by itself a personal investment recommendation or proof that a transaction has closed.
- Facility operators: treat metal foam as an engineering option for testing. Require coolant, pressure-drop, reliability and thermal validation before considering deployment.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.




