Recommended Free Tools
The most useful cloud discount depends on how predictable your usage is, which services you run, and how much flexibility you need—not on a provider’s headline percentage. AWS, Azure, Google Cloud and IBM publish specific commitment-based discount terms; Oracle’s Universal Credits are a flexible credit model, but the official information reviewed does not support a comparable discount-rate claim. These offers are not ranked by popularity: the available provider documentation does not establish an adoption ranking.
How the main cloud discount offers compare
| Provider and offer | What you commit to | Term, scope and unused benefit | Capacity and published savings |
|---|---|---|---|
| AWS Savings Plans and Reserved Instances | A Savings Plan commits to a dollar amount per hour. Reserved Instances are another commitment-based option. | AWS documents one- or three-year Savings Plans. Compute Savings Plans cover a broader set of eligible compute usage; EC2 Instance Savings Plans are tied to an instance family and region. Savings Plans cannot be cancelled during the term. | A Savings Plan does not itself reserve capacity. AWS lists maximum discounts of up to 66% for Compute Savings Plans and up to 72% for EC2 Instance Savings Plans, compared with On-Demand rates; these are AWS-published limits, not forecasts of individual savings. AWS’s comparison gives similar maxima for Convertible and Standard Reserved Instances, respectively. (AWS, “Compute Savings Plans and Reserved Instances”; live documentation checked in 2026.) |
| Azure savings plans and reservations | A savings plan commits to a fixed hourly spend; reservations are a separate, more restrictive benefit. | Microsoft documents one- or three-year savings plans. Eligible usage consumes the hourly commitment; unused hourly benefit expires rather than rolling forward. Purchases cannot be cancelled or refunded, and availability is limited to specified agreement types. | Microsoft says eligible savings-plan usage can save up to 65% against pay-as-you-go prices. This is a provider-published maximum, not a prediction for a particular workload. Reservations are applied before compatible savings-plan benefits. (Microsoft, “Azure savings plan for compute” and “How a savings plan discount is applied”; live documentation checked in 2026.) |
| Google Cloud committed use discounts (CUDs) | A commitment is based on a minimum level of resource use or spend; the type depends on the service. | Commitments typically run for one or three years. Geographic and billing-account or project scope vary by service. Commitment fees continue for the term, including when usage falls below the commitment. | A CUD does not itself reserve zonal capacity. Google’s cited CUD documentation does not state one universal discount percentage; terms vary by service. (Google Cloud, “Committed use discounts” documentation; live documentation checked in 2026.) |
| Google Cloud sustained use discounts (SUDs) | No purchase or advance commitment: qualifying Compute Engine use earns an automatic benefit. | Eligibility depends on the VM resource type and sustained monthly use. The rate resets monthly, and use already covered by a CUD does not receive a SUD. | Google says some VM resource types can receive up to a 30% net discount at full-month usage. This is a provider-published maximum for qualifying use, not a general Compute Engine rate. (Google Cloud, “Sustained use discounts”; live documentation checked in 2026.) |
| IBM Cloud Pay-as-you-go with Committed Use | A platform-wide spending commitment, with service-level monthly consumption billing. | IBM says discounts continue after the committed amount is reached. Signup requires contacting IBM Cloud Sales; verify eligibility and commercial terms in a current quote. | IBM’s product page says “save up to 17% based on your usage commitment.” The page was published approximately in 2025 and checked in 2026; the figure is IBM’s claim, not a cross-provider test. |
| IBM Cloud Reservations | Advance reservation of capacity. | IBM describes one- or three-year terms and monthly billing, with no upfront payment. | IBM says reservations provide guaranteed capacity and discounted pricing, but the reviewed page does not provide a percentage suitable for direct comparison. Confirm the quote’s price and conditions with IBM. |
| Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) Universal Credits | Credits to use for IaaS and PaaS services. | Oracle describes use across regions without requiring customers to choose a particular compute type or service or allocate credits to individual services in advance. | The official Universal Credits page reviewed does not state a universal discount percentage or enough comparable rate detail to rank OCI against the other providers. Request a current quote for the services and regions you plan to use. |
The maximum figures above come from provider materials checked in 2026, except IBM’s page, which was published approximately in 2025 and checked in 2026. They are not based on a controlled comparison. Eligibility, service, region, term, account scope and usage shape the price you actually pay.
Which offer fits each kind of workload?
AWS: choose the scope that matches the workload
AWS’s Compute Savings Plan is the broader Savings Plan option: AWS says it applies across EC2 instance families and regions and also covers eligible Fargate and Lambda usage. Its EC2 Instance Savings Plan has a narrower scope, tied to a particular instance family and region. The trade-off is scope versus price: a narrower commitment may carry a higher published maximum, but only if your future usage continues to fit its boundaries. Neither option is a substitute for capacity planning.
AWS recommendations rely on historical usage rather than a forecast of future demand. Use a lookback period that resembles the workload you expect to have, and reassess after a material migration or usage change. A recommendation based on a past pattern can mislead if that pattern is no longer representative.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
Azure: layer reservations and a savings plan carefully
Microsoft describes reservations as more restrictive and usually carrying larger discounts than savings plans. Where both benefits are held, compatible reservation benefits are applied first, leaving a savings plan available for eligible usage not covered by reservations. Azure savings-plan compute benefits do not cover software, networking or storage charges. Eligible licensing costs may instead be addressed through Azure Hybrid Benefit, subject to its eligibility rules.
Google Cloud: separate purchased commitments from automatic savings
Google CUDs can be resource-based or spend-based, and the details depend on the service. Some terms are regional; others can cover eligible projects under a Cloud Billing account. Check the service’s scope and terms rather than assuming a commitment bought for one service or region will apply elsewhere.
Rank #2
SUDs are different: they are automatic benefits for qualifying sustained Compute Engine use, not a commitment you purchase. Google describes incremental usage thresholds, and the benefit is calculated on eligible monthly use. A CUD-covered portion of usage does not also qualify for SUD treatment.
IBM Cloud: distinguish spend commitment from reserved capacity
IBM’s Committed Use offer is described as a platform-wide spend commitment while consumption is billed monthly at the service level. Cloud Reservations, by contrast, are advance capacity reservations. The latter’s stated guaranteed-capacity feature may matter when capacity availability is part of the requirement, not just price. Since IBM directs prospective customers to Sales and asks readers to verify quote terms, treat the published maximum as an initial point of comparison rather than a complete offer.
Rank #3
OCI: assess Universal Credits through a workload quote
Universal Credits are a way to consume OCI services across regions without pre-allocating the credit to a specific service or compute type, according to Oracle’s description. That flexibility does not establish how its effective price compares with another provider’s commitment program. Compare an OCI quote for the intended services, regions and usage pattern rather than inferring a discount from the name of the credit program.
How to judge whether a cloud discount will save money
A discount only reduces your bill if the eligible usage uses the benefit at a price below the alternative rate. A commitment can instead add cost when future demand falls short, while an hourly benefit that expires unused cannot be carried into a busier period. Before purchasing, compare the offer with the bill you expect to incur without it, not just with its advertised maximum.
Rank #4
- Define the usage you expect to keep. Review historical consumption, then adjust for planned migrations, scaling changes, retirements and new services. For AWS recommendations in particular, remember that they are based on historical usage, not a future forecast.
- Map the commitment to eligible usage. Check covered services, resource types, regions, projects or billing accounts, and any licensing or other excluded charges. Confirm whether the commitment is measured in dollars per hour, resource use, or broader spend.
- Model underuse and overage separately. Estimate the cost if usage falls below the commitment and what happens to use above it. For Azure savings plans, unused hourly benefit expires; for Google CUDs, commitment fees continue through the term. Do not assume unused benefit can be recovered later.
- Check term, exit rights and capacity needs. A lower rate may not justify a long commitment if you cannot cancel, refund or readily change it. If guaranteed or zonal capacity matters, check that separately: AWS Savings Plans and Google CUDs do not themselves reserve capacity.
- Account for benefits that interact. Check how reservations, savings plans, CUDs, licensing benefits and other discounts are applied together. A benefit may not stack with another one on the same usage.
- Validate the commercial offer. Use the provider’s cost tools and billing history, and obtain a current quote where pricing is negotiated or eligibility is account-specific. Recheck regional availability and purchase rules before committing.
Why the biggest advertised percentage is not a winner
The rates in the comparison are not directly interchangeable: they use different reference prices, commitment units and eligibility rules. A published “up to” maximum describes a possible provider-defined case, not the savings a typical customer should expect. The useful comparison is your net cost for the same workload, over the same period, after accounting for unused commitment, excluded charges and any benefits already applied.
For a relatively steady workload, a longer commitment may be worth evaluating if the projected eligible use is dependable and the terms fit your plans. For variable demand, a broader or shorter commitment—or an automatic discount that requires no purchase—may preserve more flexibility, though it may provide a lower maximum benefit. This is a decision framework, not a guarantee that a particular offer will be cheaper.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




