October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

Build a Great AMD or Intel Gaming PC Under $1,500: Prime Day Picks and Trade-Offs

A dated 2026 AMD build pairs a Ryzen 5 9600X with an RTX 5070, 32GB DDR5 and 2TB storage for $1,491. See how the Intel alternative differs and what to check before buying.
From TheFinanceBase Team6 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a well-rounded gaming build under $1,500, the stronger starting point in the cited 2026 guides is AMD: GamersNexus priced a Ryzen 5 9600X and RTX 5070 system at $1,491, with 32GB of DDR5 and a 2TB SSD. Tom’s Hardware’s Intel-oriented alternative uses a Core i5-12600KF and RTX 5060 Ti 8GB for a lower-cost, 1080p-focused build, but its cited list does not state a total. These are dated reference prices—not confirmed deals available today. As of October 3, 2026, check live listings before treating any price as a Prime Day offer.

Which under-$1,500 build should you choose?

Choose the AMD parts list if you want the more capable starting specification in the cited guides: an RTX 5070-class graphics card, 32GB of memory and 2TB of storage. The Intel list prioritizes a lower-cost configuration with an RTX 5060 Ti 8GB, 32GB of DDR4 and a 1TB SSD. Tom’s Hardware frames that system as a 1080p-focused option; the supplied source material does not include a standardized AMD-versus-Intel benchmark table, so it cannot establish a reliable FPS advantage for either build.

Prime Day pricing is time-sensitive. The figures below come from articles published in 2026, and are useful for judging a deal’s general shape—not as proof that a sale, price, seller or stock is still available. The AMD total and component choices are from GamersNexus’ February 2026 guide; Tom’s Hardware’s Intel-oriented list is dated June 24, 2026.

What parts are in each build?

Part AMD reference build Intel-oriented reference build
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 9600X (GamersNexus, February 2026) Intel Core i5-12600KF (Tom’s Hardware, June 24, 2026)
Graphics card Nvidia GeForce RTX 5070 12GB (GamersNexus, February 2026) Nvidia GeForce RTX 5060 Ti 8GB (Tom’s Hardware, June 24, 2026); RX 9060 XT 16GB is its cited upgrade alternative
Motherboard Gigabyte B650M Gaming Plus WiFi (GamersNexus, February 2026) B760M DDR4 board; exact model not stated in Tom’s Hardware’s June 24, 2026 list
Memory 32GB DDR5 (GamersNexus, February 2026) 32GB DDR4 (Tom’s Hardware, June 24, 2026)
Storage 2TB SSD (GamersNexus, February 2026) 1TB NVMe SSD (Tom’s Hardware, June 24, 2026)
Case Lian Li Vector V100 Mini (GamersNexus, February 2026) Cooler Master Q300L (Tom’s Hardware, June 24, 2026)
CPU cooler MSI Coreliquid A13 240 (GamersNexus, February 2026) Not stated in Tom’s Hardware’s June 24, 2026 list
Power supply Not stated in the supplied summary of GamersNexus’ February 2026 build 750W (Tom’s Hardware, June 24, 2026)
Published total $1,491 (GamersNexus, February 2026) Not stated by Tom’s Hardware in the supplied June 24, 2026 summary

The table records only what the cited build summaries specify. In particular, it does not establish that the AMD total includes tax, shipping or every possible purchase needed to get a complete, usable system.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What do the cited deal prices actually tell you?

These figures are price snapshots, not guarantees of current availability. Compare the delivered price, including shipping and tax where applicable, rather than relying on a headline price.

Item or system Dated figure How to interpret it
Core i5-12600K listing $179.97 (Tom’s Hardware, 2026) The cited listing is for the Core i5-12600K, not the 12600KF named in its build list. Confirm the exact CPU model before ordering.
RTX 5060 Ti 8GB listing $309.99 (Tom’s Hardware, 2026) A dated listing price; verify the card model, seller and current delivered price.
RX 9060 XT 16GB alternative $419.99 (Tom’s Hardware, 2026) $110 more than the cited $309.99 RTX 5060 Ti listing, which the article describes as roughly a $100 upgrade. That comparison is between dated listings, not a guaranteed current price gap.
MSI PRO X870-P WiFi motherboard $151.99 (TechRadar, 2026) Prime Day price cited by TechRadar; this is an AM5 board for supported Ryzen 7000, 8000 and 9000 processors.
MSI B760 Gaming Plus WiFi motherboard $132.99 (TechRadar, 2026) Prime Day price cited by TechRadar; this is an LGA1700 board for supported Intel 12th-, 13th- and 14th-generation processors. It is not the specific B760M DDR4 board named in Tom’s Hardware’s build list.
Ryzen 7 9700F / RTX 5060 Ti prebuilt $1,299 (PC Gamer, 2026) The cited configuration has 16GB of DDR5, rather than the 32GB in the AMD DIY reference build.
Ryzen 7 8700F / RTX 5070 prebuilt $1,399 (PC Gamer, 2026) The cited configuration also has 16GB of DDR5. Compare the full system specification and purchase terms before deciding it is better value than building.

The motherboard prices are not an apples-to-apples comparison: TechRadar’s two boards use different processor sockets and support different CPU families. The prebuilt prices also do not establish what either system costs now or whether its configuration is still sold.

Rank #2
Sale
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
  • Ideal for Gifting
  • Ideal for a bookworm
  • Compact for travelling

How should you choose between AMD and Intel?

Choose the AMD route for the cited higher-spec gaming configuration

The Ryzen 5 9600X, RTX 5070 12GB, 32GB DDR5 and 2TB SSD combination is the better match if you want to start from the $1,491 GamersNexus build and value more storage and graphics memory in the cited parts list. Its guide also presents AM5 as having a clearer CPU-upgrade path. That is a platform consideration, not a promise that every future processor will work with every AM5 motherboard; check the board manufacturer’s support list before a later upgrade.

Choose the Intel route for a lower-cost, 1080p-focused starting point

Tom’s Hardware’s configuration pairs the Core i5-12600KF with a B760M DDR4 board, 32GB DDR4, a 1TB NVMe SSD and an RTX 5060 Ti 8GB. Consider its RX 9060 XT 16GB alternative if the extra graphics memory is important and the current price difference makes sense to you. The source’s dated prices put that alternative $110 above its RTX listing; check live prices before applying that comparison.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Compare the whole system, not just the processor or sale badge

  • Delivered cost: Add the parts, shipping and tax, and account for any other items needed to complete your setup.
  • Target display: Match the graphics card to the resolution and refresh rate you want. The cited Intel guide positions its list for 1080p, while neither supplied source gives a shared benchmark comparison for estimating exact frame rates.
  • Memory and storage: Compare 16GB versus 32GB of system memory and the cited 1TB versus 2TB SSD capacities; the prebuilts listed by PC Gamer have 16GB.
  • Graphics memory: The cited RTX 5070 has 12GB, the RTX 5060 Ti listing has 8GB, and the RX 9060 XT alternative has 16GB. VRAM capacity alone does not determine performance.
  • Platform and board features: Check the socket, memory type, connectivity and manufacturer CPU-support list.
  • Ownership terms: Compare seller, return window and warranty, as well as noise, cooling and case fit where those details are available.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How do you avoid incompatible parts?

The CPU socket and memory generation must match the motherboard. The Ryzen 5 9600X uses AMD’s AM5 platform; Intel’s B760 boards use LGA1700. The cited AMD build uses DDR5, while Tom’s Hardware’s Intel list specifies a DDR4 motherboard and DDR4 memory. Do not pair an AM5 Ryzen processor with a B760 board, or an LGA1700 Intel processor with an X870 board.

Before buying, check these details against the exact models in your cart:

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
SaleBestseller No. 2
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
Ideal for Gifting; Ideal for a bookworm; Compact for travelling
$10.99
SaleBestseller No. 5
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
It can be a gift option; Comes with secure packaging; Helpful in various ways
$9.15
Best Value
Sale
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
  • It can be a gift option
  • Comes with secure packaging
  • Helpful in various ways
  • CPU socket support and the motherboard’s CPU compatibility list.
  • Whether the board takes DDR4 or DDR5, and whether the memory kit matches.
  • Cooler socket mounting support and clearance around the case and motherboard.
  • Motherboard and case form factors, plus graphics-card length and thickness clearance.
  • Power-supply wattage and the connectors required by the specific graphics card and other components.

What to verify before checkout

  1. Open the exact product listing. Confirm the component model and variant—not just the product family—including CPU suffix, graphics-card memory capacity and motherboard memory type.
  2. Recheck the complete cart total. Prices in the 2026 articles are dated snapshots. Confirm current stock, seller, shipping, tax, return terms and warranty for your location.
  3. Run a compatibility check. Match processor socket, memory type, cooler mount, case dimensions, GPU clearance and PSU connectors across the exact parts you selected.
  4. Compare against a prebuilt by specification. The cited PC Gamer systems cost $1,299 and $1,399 in its 2026 roundup, but each has 16GB DDR5. Compare the current configuration, total price and purchase terms rather than assuming a prebuilt or DIY system is automatically the better value.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase07 MAR 2625 minWhat Is a 457 Plan?
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase07 MAR 2621 minTime Value of Money: What It Is and How It Works
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase07 MAR 2627 minAre You Living in One of These Top 10 Most Expensive Cities to Retire?
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.