In Bankrate’s July 21, 2025 comparison, Peak Bank had the highest cited new-account offer at 4.44% APY. Other listed accounts ranged from 3.75% to 4.00% APY among the examples below. These are historical rates—not current quotes—and each bank’s terms, regional availability and rates may have changed. Confirm current disclosures and eligibility before applying.
July 2025 savings account rates at a glance
Bankrate reported the following APYs in its comparison published July 21, 2025. Minimums shown are the opening deposits reported in that comparison; they do not establish the balance needed to earn the quoted APY or avoid fees.
| Account | Reported APY | Minimum opening deposit |
|---|---|---|
| Peak Bank | 4.44% for new accounts | Not stated by Bankrate |
| Bread Savings | 4.00% | $100 |
| TAB Bank | 3.95% | $0 |
| EverBank | 3.90% | $0 |
| Bask | 3.90% | Not stated by Bankrate |
| Forbright | 3.85% | Not stated by Bankrate |
| Openbank | 3.80% | $500 |
| BrioDirect | 3.75% | $5,000 |
Source for all rates and stated minimums: Bankrate’s comparison, July 21, 2025. Bankrate reported that some products’ rates may vary by region. Its comparison included monitored accounts as well as Peak Bank’s new-account offer, so the figures are examples from that publisher’s selection, not a universal ranking of every savings account available at the time.
How to compare savings accounts
A headline APY is only one part of the decision. Use the same checks for each account so that a higher advertised rate does not obscure conditions that matter to you.
#1 Best Overall
Check how the APY works
- Find out whether the APY is variable or promotional, and how long any introductory rate lasts.
- Check whether the advertised rate applies only up to a balance cap or requires qualifying activity.
- Look for the balance needed to earn the quoted APY. A minimum opening deposit is not necessarily the same as an ongoing balance requirement.
Compare fees and deposit requirements
Check monthly maintenance fees, the minimum needed to open the account, and any balance required to avoid fees. Match those terms to the amount you can deposit and keep in the account. A $0 opening minimum, for example, says nothing by itself about other fees or rate conditions.
Verify deposit insurance for the actual institution
Confirm the legal institution holding the deposit and whether the specific account is federally insured. Bankrate’s consumer guidance distinguishes FDIC insurance for banks from NCUA insurance for credit unions. Do not assume an account is insured based solely on a brand name or on its appearance in a comparison list; verify its status with the institution and the relevant insurer. See Bankrate’s guidance on online savings account safety and its reviewed-list information.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
Make sure access fits how you save
Consider how easily you can move money in and out, what withdrawal access is available, and whether the bank’s app, website and service options suit you. The best fit is not necessarily the account with the highest quoted APY if its access or service does not work for your needs.
Check location and current disclosures
Bankrate noted that rates for some products may vary by region. Confirm that an account is available in your state and review the institution’s current rate, fee schedule and account terms before opening it. The July 2025 figures above should not be used as a present-day offer.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteRank #3
What Bankrate’s list does—and does not—tell you
The July comparison reflects Bankrate’s editorial selection method rather than a complete market census. Bankrate says its selection requires a minimum score of 4.5 stars and sets its minimum APY threshold quarterly. That approach can help identify accounts meeting the publisher’s criteria, but it does not establish that a listed account is the best choice for every saver. Compare the underlying terms and your own needs.
For context only, the FDIC’s August 2025 national-rate publication identifies $2,500 as the product tier for savings and interest-checking national rates. That is a benchmark category in a later national-rate publication—not an account offer, a July 2025 rate, or a substitute for comparing individual account terms. See the FDIC national rates page.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Rank #4
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




