There is no single best online bachelor’s degree in human resources. The right choice depends on your state, transfer credits, budget, work schedule and whether you want a standalone HR degree or a broader business credential. Use the programs below as a starting shortlist, then confirm current accreditation, tuition, credit-transfer rules and course delivery with each school.
Online human-resources degrees worth comparing
The following programs appear in the comparison sources for their combination of online access, professional alignment, accreditation information or reported price. A listing is not a guarantee of admission, current availability or total cost.
| School and degree | Accreditation or alignment reported | Delivery features reported | What to verify |
|---|---|---|---|
| Southern New Hampshire University — online BS in human resource management | BestCollegeReviews describes the curriculum as aligned with SHRM competencies. | Fully online and asynchronous, according to BestCollegeReviews. | Institutional accreditation, current tuition, transfer-credit limits and any required synchronous work. |
| Florida State College at Jacksonville — online HR bachelor’s option | GetEducated’s table shows an ACBSP label. | Delivery details were not stated in the comparison table. | Exact degree title, residency rules, course times and how the ACBSP accreditation applies. |
| Florida International University — online BBA in human resource management | GetEducated’s table shows an AACSB label. | Delivery details were not stated in the comparison table. | Whether the BBA is fully online for your location and which courses require scheduled attendance. |
| Western Governors University — BS in business administration/human resource management | GetEducated’s table shows an ACBSP label. | Delivery details were not stated in the comparison table. | Competency-based pacing, term charges, proctoring and transfer or prior-learning policies. |
| Colorado State University Global — online BS in HR management | The university says the program is ACBSP accredited and “aligned with the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) HR Curriculum Guidebook and Templates.” | Online format is stated on the program page. | Current per-term costs, course scheduling, internship or capstone requirements and state authorization. |
| Penn State World Campus — human resources, labor and employment-relations programs | Penn State reports Middle States institutional accreditation. | The brochure says students can take courses “when and where you please, earning your degree at your own pace.” It also says no distance distinction appears on the official transcript or diploma. | Which current bachelor’s path best matches your HR goal, total cost after aid and transfer-credit evaluation. |
| Regent University — HR curriculum | ACBSP accreditation is reported by BestCollegeReviews. | Asynchronous lectures, live faculty meetings and message boards are described. | Required live-meeting times, attendance policy, internship options and availability in your state. |
Accreditation labels and delivery descriptions can change. Treat the table as a research shortlist, not a ranking or an offer of admission.
How much do online HR bachelor’s degrees cost?
GetEducated’s current comparison table, accessed in 2026 and used here to inform a 2024-focused guide, lists 77 online HR bachelor’s options. Its figures are estimated totals rather than guaranteed quotes; they may combine assumptions about residency, enrollment and transfer credit.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
| Program | Estimated total in the GetEducated table | Qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Florida State College at Jacksonville | $13,284 | Estimated in-state total; confirm current tuition, fees and eligible residency. |
| Florida International University | $28,286.72 | Estimated in-state total; the amount can change with course load and transferred credits. |
| Western Governors University | $28,600 | Estimated total; verify how its term-based pricing and transferred competencies affect your bill. |
| Colorado State University Global | $42,000 | Estimated total; not a guaranteed quote and subject to current tuition and transfer treatment. |
Your net price can differ substantially from every figure above. Ask each school for a written estimate that separates tuition, technology or course fees, books, proctoring, graduation charges and financial aid. Request a transcript evaluation before assuming that prior college, military or professional learning will reduce the total.
Accreditation: check the institution and the business program
Institutional accreditation
Institutional accreditation evaluates the college or university as a whole. It can affect transfer acceptance, federal-aid eligibility and how another school interprets your degree. Penn State World Campus, for example, reports Middle States institutional accreditation.
Rank #2
Business-program accreditation
AACSB, ACBSP and IACBE are specialized business-accreditation organizations. The comparison sources show AACSB labels for Florida International University and ACBSP labels for Florida State College at Jacksonville, Western Governors University, Colorado State University Global and Regent University. A business label may apply to a college or specific programs rather than every online major. Confirm the accreditor’s directory entry and the exact degree before enrolling.
Questions to ask admissions
- What is the institution’s current accreditor and accreditation status?
- Is the HR major or its business school covered by AACSB, ACBSP or IACBE, and through what date?
- Will the transcript and diploma identify the program as online?
- Will my intended employer, graduate school or professional certification accept this credential?
Flexibility for students who work
Asynchronous study
BestCollegeReviews describes SNHU’s HR program as fully online and asynchronous, which can make weekly work easier to schedule around a job. Asynchronous does not mean no deadlines: expect readings, assignments, discussion participation and exams within set windows.
Rank #3
Mixed asynchronous and live instruction
Regent is described as combining asynchronous lectures with live faculty meetings and message boards. Before enrolling, obtain the meeting days, time zone, attendance rules and recording policy. A single required live session can matter if you work shifts or travel.
Self-paced language
Penn State World Campus states that adult students can take courses “when and where you please” and earn a degree at their own pace. Confirm what “pace” means in the current catalog: many online programs still use fixed semesters, maximum course loads or registration deadlines.
Rank #4
- Explains every topic covered on each of the four individual 2022 CPA licensing tests
- Offers answer rationales so you can understand why your answer is correct or incorrect, and where any errors are located
- Shows you how exam questions are presented on the real exam
Curriculum and professional alignment
SHRM alignment is a useful comparison signal, not a substitute for checking the actual course list. CSU Global says its BS follows the SHRM HR Curriculum Guidebook and Templates; SNHU is described as aligned with SHRM competencies. Compare the catalog for the subjects you will need in practice:
- Human-resource management, staffing, training and total rewards
- Employment law, labor relations, ethics and workplace investigations
- People analytics, statistics, information systems and data privacy
- Accounting, finance, economics, operations and organizational behavior
- Strategic HR, risk management and a senior project, internship or capstone
Program pages should state whether these are required, electives or unavailable. Also check whether coursework prepares you for the experience requirements of certifications such as SHRM-CP; a degree alone does not automatically confer certification.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Best Value
A practical comparison process
- Define your constraints. Record your state, target completion date, weekly study hours, available budget and the number of credits you may transfer.
- Confirm authorization. Ask whether the school may enroll students in your state and whether placements or internships have additional location rules.
- Get a transcript evaluation. Request a written list of accepted credits, remaining requirements and the expiration policy for older coursework.
- Verify accreditation. Check institutional status and, where applicable, the business-program accreditor and scope.
- Map the schedule. Mark asynchronous courses, live meetings, proctored exams, group projects and any mandatory residency.
- Audit the curriculum. Identify HR, labor-law, analytics, business-core and experiential requirements, then compare them with your career target.
- Calculate net price. Include tuition, fees, books, technology, exam proctoring and lost work time; subtract only aid for which you are actually eligible.
- Check career support. Ask about internship placement, employer partnerships, career coaching, alumni access and outcomes reporting. Do not infer results from a ranking alone.
How rankings should influence your choice
BestColleges says its methodology considers flexibility, real-world experiences, employer connections and curriculum relevance. Those criteria can help you organize a search, but a ranking cannot account for your residency, transfer evaluation, schedule or net price. Use rankings to generate questions, then make the decision from current official program information.
Is an online HR degree respected by employers?
Employers generally evaluate the school’s accreditation, the degree’s content, your relevant experience and your ability to demonstrate HR skills. Penn State’s stated policy that its transcript and diploma make no distance distinction illustrates how some universities present online study, but policies differ. An online label by itself neither guarantees nor disqualifies a candidate.
Strengthen the degree’s signal by choosing a properly accredited institution, completing substantive labor-law and analytics coursework, gaining internship or workplace experience and keeping evidence of projects such as policy writing, workforce dashboards or recruiting-process analysis. No authoritative, comparable 2024-wide salary or employment statistic covers all of these programs, so avoid treating one school’s outcome figure as representative of the category.
Which type of program may fit you?
- Lowest published estimate: Start with Florida State College at Jacksonville, whose table estimate is the lowest listed, but confirm that you qualify for in-state pricing.
- Business-school accreditation: Compare FIU’s AACSB label with ACBSP-labeled options, checking the exact scope and current status.
- SHRM-oriented curriculum: Examine CSU Global’s stated SHRM Guidebook alignment and SNHU’s reported SHRM competency alignment against the courses you need.
- Maximum scheduling control: Investigate SNHU’s reported asynchronous format and Penn State’s adult-flexibility language, while confirming deadlines and exam arrangements.
- Live faculty interaction: Regent may suit students who value scheduled meetings, provided those times work with employment and family obligations.
The Bottom Line
The best online HR bachelor’s degree is the accredited, affordable program whose transfer evaluation, schedule and curriculum fit your circumstances. Compare current net price and requirements directly with each school before you enroll.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




