Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteChecked August 18, 2026: The best value depends on what you need. The iPad A16 is the lowest-cost choice at a reported $399 through Amazon, while clearance M3 iPad Air models have been tracked around $557 for 128GB Wi‑Fi and $579 for 256GB Wi‑Fi. The M3 Air is now a previous-generation model because Apple’s current Air is the M4, so buy the M3 only when its discount is substantial. The iPad mini (A17 Pro) is the compact specialist, and Apple Pencil compatibility varies by model.
Prices and stock can change by color, storage, connectivity, seller and ZIP code. Verify the exact configuration and return terms at checkout.
Best iPad deals at a glance
| Product | Exact configuration | Retailer or source | Current price | List price | Savings | Condition and stock | Date checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| iPad Air M3 | 11-inch, 128GB, Wi‑Fi | AppleInsider price tracking | About $557 | Not stated | Not stated | Clearance listings; color and stock vary | Aug. 18, 2026 |
| iPad Air M3 | 11-inch, 256GB, Wi‑Fi | AppleInsider price tracking | As low as $579 | Not stated | Not stated | Clearance listings; limited configurations | Aug. 18, 2026 |
| iPad Air M3 | 256GB, Wi‑Fi + Cellular | AppleInsider price tracking | $649 | $849 reported list price | $200 | Limited-order inventory; verify seller and stock | Aug. 18, 2026 |
| iPad (A16) | Storage varies; reported deal coverage concerns the base model | Amazon via AppleInsider deal coverage | $399 | Not stated | Not stated | New listing; seller, fulfillment and stock must be checked | Aug. 2026 update |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro) | 128GB or 256GB; Wi‑Fi or cellular | Retailer pricing varies | Starts at $399 before retailer discounts | Not stated | Not stated | New or open-box availability varies | Aug. 2026 coverage |
| Apple Pencil Pro | All colors | Retailer pricing varies | Not stated | $129 MSRP | Not stated | Check new versus open-box condition | Aug. 2026 |
| Apple Pencil USB‑C | USB‑C model | Retailer pricing varies | Not stated | $79 MSRP | Not stated | Check new versus open-box condition | Aug. 2026 |
The configuration-level M3 figures come from AppleInsider’s price guide. The $399 A16 and $399-starting mini signals come from AppleInsider’s deal coverage; neither is a guarantee that every storage, color or cellular variant has that price.
Best M3 iPad Air clearance deal
The M3 Air can be a strong performance bargain, but it is no longer the latest Air. Apple’s current shopping page presents the M4 Air lineup, while M3 inventory is being discounted or cleared out (Apple; AppleInsider).
#1 Best Overall
- Apple M3 chip — delivers strong performance and power efficiency for apps, multitasking, and creative tasks.
- 11″ Liquid Retina display — bright, detailed visuals with wide P3 color and True Tone for immersive viewing.
- 128 GB storage — local space for apps, media, documents, and files.
- Wi‑Fi connectivity — fast wireless performance (Wi‑Fi 6E) for browsing, streaming, and downloads.
- USB-C Port (10 Gb/s)
What you get
- 11-inch or 13-inch display.
- 128GB, 256GB, 512GB or 1TB storage.
- Apple Intelligence support, subject to compatible software and region requirements.
- Apple Pencil Pro and Apple Pencil USB‑C support.
Apple introduced the M3 Air on March 4, 2025, with availability beginning March 12. Historical U.S. launch prices were $599 for 11-inch and $799 for 13-inch; those are reference prices, not today’s required street prices (Apple newsroom).
When the M3 discount is worthwhile
As an editorial rule, look for roughly $150–$250 below a comparable new M4 Air, provided the M3 is new or has a normal warranty and return window. A $50–$100 gap is weak, particularly for an undesirable color or cellular configuration. Avoid open-box or limited-stock M3 pricing that approaches a new M4 price. A lower-priced 256GB M3 can still make sense over a 128GB M4 if you need room for games, video, photos or creative files.
Best budget choice: iPad (A16)
The A16 iPad is the sensible low-cost tablet for browsing, streaming, email, video calls, reading, schoolwork and light note-taking. Current deal coverage reported $399 through Amazon in August 2026, replacing the $299 price promoted in the May 2025 roundup (current coverage; historical roundup).
It does not support Apple Intelligence or Apple Pencil Pro. It works with Apple Pencil USB‑C and Apple Pencil (1st generation); the first-generation model needs Apple’s USB‑C to Apple Pencil Adapter for pairing and charging (Apple support). Choose the A16 when the lowest upfront cost matters more than demanding apps, advanced handwriting features or long-term performance headroom.
Rank #2
- WHY IPAD AIR — iPad Air with the Apple M4 chip packs even more performance into a beautiful design, and it comes in two portable sizes. It features Apple Intelligence* along with a stunning Liquid Retina display, Touch ID, advanced cameras, and Wi-Fi 7.*
- PERFORMANCE AND STORAGE — The M4 chip delivers advanced graphics and incredible performance for smooth multitasking and complex AI tasks. And with all-day battery life, you can keep working and playing wherever you go.* Choose up to 1TB of storage for apps, music, movies, and more.*
- IPADOS + APPS — Run apps and get more done with the game-changing capabilities and intuitive design of iPadOS. The flexible windowing system lets you control, organize, and manage your workflows like never before.
- APPLE INTELLIGENCE — Apple Intelligence is the personal intelligence system that helps you create, communicate, and get things done effortlessly with groundbreaking privacy protections at every step.*
- 11-INCH LIQUID RETINA DISPLAY — The gorgeous Liquid Retina display features advanced technologies like P3 wide color, True Tone, and ultralow reflectivity, which make everything look stunning.*
Is the iPad mini (A17 Pro) the better deal?
The iPad mini is a size choice, not simply a cheaper iPad. Its 8.3-inch display and A17 Pro chip suit one-handed reading, travel, gaming, portable media and compact handwritten notes. Current deal pages list it from $399 before retailer discounts (AppleInsider).
The mini supports Apple Pencil Pro, unlike the A16 iPad. Its trade-offs are a smaller canvas for split-screen work and a less practical keyboard setup than an 11-inch or 13-inch Air. It can cost more than the base iPad despite having a smaller screen.
Apple Pencil compatibility and value
| iPad | Apple Pencil Pro | Apple Pencil USB‑C | Apple Pencil (1st generation) |
|---|---|---|---|
| iPad Air M3 | Yes | Yes | No |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro) | Yes | Yes | No |
| iPad (A16) | No | Yes | Yes, with USB‑C adapter |
Compatibility is confirmed by Apple’s support chart.
Which Pencil to choose
- Apple Pencil Pro: best for pressure-sensitive drawing, advanced controls and the Air or mini. Apple’s 2025 U.S. reference price was $129.
- Apple Pencil USB‑C: the lower-cost choice for handwriting, document markup and basic sketches. Apple’s reference price was $79.
- Apple Pencil (1st generation): consider only for an A16 at a steep discount; the adapter adds an extra part and charging step.
The May 2025 roundup cited approximately $99 new for Pencil Pro, about $86 open-box, and about $66 open-box for USB‑C. Those are historical examples, not current prices (9to5Mac).
Rank #3
- WHY IPAD AIR — iPad Air with the Apple M4 chip packs even more performance into a beautiful design, and it comes in two portable sizes. It features Apple Intelligence* along with a stunning Liquid Retina display, Touch ID, advanced cameras, and Wi-Fi 7.*
- PERFORMANCE AND STORAGE — The M4 chip delivers advanced graphics and incredible performance for smooth multitasking and complex AI tasks. And with all-day battery life, you can keep working and playing wherever you go.* Choose up to 1TB of storage for apps, music, movies, and more.*
- IPADOS + APPS — Run apps and get more done with the game-changing capabilities and intuitive design of iPadOS. The flexible windowing system lets you control, organize, and manage your workflows like never before.
- APPLE INTELLIGENCE — Apple Intelligence is the personal intelligence system that helps you create, communicate, and get things done effortlessly with groundbreaking privacy protections at every step.*
- 11-INCH LIQUID RETINA DISPLAY — The gorgeous Liquid Retina display features advanced technologies like P3 wide color, True Tone, and ultralow reflectivity, which make everything look stunning.*
Compare the real bundle cost
Tablet-only prices can hide the cost of using the device. Add the Pencil, case or keyboard, optional AppleCare+, cellular service and sales tax or shipping before deciding.
- Lowest-cost note-taking setup: a $399 A16 plus a $79 USB‑C Pencil is $478 before tax.
- Performance-and-drawing setup: an M3 Air plus Pencil Pro costs substantially more even when the Air’s markdown is larger.
- Compact drawing setup: the mini plus Pencil Pro trades workspace for portability.
Cellular discounts deserve special caution: a $200 markdown can be poor value if you never use mobile data or do not want an ongoing plan.
New, open-box, refurbished or clearance?
- New: generally the simplest warranty and return experience.
- Open-box: inspect battery health, cosmetic grade, included accessories and the retailer’s return window.
- Refurbished: confirm who performed the refurbishment and the exact warranty.
- Clearance: colors and storage options may disappear without replacement stock.
Retailer identity matters. Apple is the official MSRP and warranty reference but is often not the cheapest source for outgoing-generation hardware. B&H can have configuration-specific M3 clearance (B&H iPad listings). Best Buy can combine local pickup with open-box inventory (Best Buy search). Amazon listings require checking the seller, fulfillment, warranty and returns.
Which deal should you buy?
- Best budget: iPad A16, if $399 is available in the needed configuration.
- Best performance value: M3 Air when it is at least $150–$250 below a comparable new M4.
- Best portable tablet: iPad mini (A17 Pro).
- Best for drawing: M3 Air or iPad mini with Apple Pencil Pro.
- Best basic note-taking setup: iPad A16 with Apple Pencil USB‑C.
Before paying, match the storage, Wi‑Fi or cellular version, color, condition, seller, warranty and return policy. Prices can change between publication and checkout; this roundup was checked during the August 2026 deal window.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




