What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
AMD has not confirmed that it is moving 4nm production from TSMC to Samsung. A November 2023 report described a narrower, unverified plan: Samsung would make basic versions of a Zen 5c processor program called Prometheus on a 4nm-class process, while TSMC would make more advanced versions on 3nm. That is a reported split between foundries and process tiers—not evidence that AMD transferred existing TSMC 4nm orders.
What the report says AMD may be making with Samsung
In November 2023, Tom’s Hardware, citing DigiTimes and South Korean reporting, reported that Samsung Foundry had landed an AMD order for Zen 5c-based processors. The account described a dual-foundry plan for the processor program codenamed Prometheus: Samsung 4nm-class production for basic versions and TSMC 3nm production for more advanced versions. The report was not confirmed by AMD in that coverage.
The report does not identify a retail model, give wafer volumes, or establish when any Samsung-made chips would ship. It also does not establish whether AMD completed the reported order or the exact Samsung process variant involved.
Does this mean AMD is moving 4nm production from TSMC?
Not on the evidence in the report. Its described arrangement pairs Samsung’s 4nm-class process with TSMC’s 3nm process for different versions of the same program. It does not say that AMD had been making these particular chips on TSMC 4nm and then moved them to Samsung. The headline shorthand can therefore suggest a more definite transfer than the underlying account supports.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minute#1 Best Overall
Manufacturing-node labels also identify each foundry’s process generation; the report does not provide a technical comparison showing that Samsung 4nm and TSMC 3nm are interchangeable or equivalent. It describes different process choices for different product tiers.
How the reported foundry split compares
| Question | Samsung | TSMC |
|---|---|---|
| Reported Prometheus role | Basic versions, on a 4nm-class process, according to the November 2023 report described by Tom’s Hardware. | More advanced versions, on 3nm, according to the same report. |
| Specific AMD model and shipment timing | Not stated in the November 2023 report described by Tom’s Hardware. | Not stated in the November 2023 report described by Tom’s Hardware. |
| Capacity and pricing context | TrendForce said comparable Samsung orders were increasing; Reuters reported regional SF4 price increases in August 2026. | TrendForce expected TSMC’s 5/4nm-and-below capacity to be full through the end of 2026. |
| Verified yield or performance result for Prometheus | Not stated in the November 2023 report described by Tom’s Hardware. | Not stated in the November 2023 report described by Tom’s Hardware. |
Why AMD might consider a second foundry
Capacity is one plausible business reason, but the public reporting does not establish AMD’s reason for this particular program. TrendForce said TSMC’s capacity at 5/4nm and below was expected to be full through the end of 2026, while comparable orders at Samsung were increasing. TrendForce also projected 24.8% growth in global foundry-industry output in 2026, to approximately $218.8 billion. Those are market-wide figures, not AMD-specific production or spending forecasts.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
Reuters reported in August 2026 that Samsung raised prices by up to 15% for some advanced foundry services. For SF4, Reuters reported increases of 10%–15% for customers in China and the United States and 5%–10% for customers in Taiwan. Those regional figures do not show what AMD pays, or whether any price change applied to the reported Prometheus work.
Scale is another consideration: Counterpoint figures quoted by Reuters put Samsung at 7% of global foundry revenue in the first quarter of 2026, versus more than 70% for TSMC. These market shares do not determine whether a particular chip can be made successfully at either company. A second source can diversify supply, but adopting another foundry’s process also requires engineering work and product validation. The cited reporting provides no verified yield or qualification results for this AMD program.
Rank #3
Does a later Samsung report confirm the 2023 order?
No. A separate 2026 report said AMD was in talks to build some future CPUs with Samsung from 2028, citing capacity constraints. That points to continuing interest in Samsung as a manufacturing partner, but it does not establish that the earlier Prometheus order was completed, or that the future discussions concern the same chips or process arrangement.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What this means for Ryzen buyers
The report does not identify a specific Ryzen product that consumers can buy, so it does not support claims that a particular retail CPU is Samsung-made. Manufacturing claims need to be checked model by model: current coverage describes the Ryzen 7 9800X3D as using TSMC N4P and N6 chiplets, not Samsung production.
Rank #4
Nothing in the reports establishes a performance difference, retail price change, or availability effect for a Ryzen product resulting from the alleged Prometheus arrangement. For shoppers, the practical distinction is that a foundry report about a specific Zen 5c program is not a reason to assume that AMD’s broader Ryzen lineup is changing manufacturers.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




