Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteShort answer: Alibaba Cloud’s Hong Kong data-center capacity was announced as more than doubled in February 2017. In September 2026, Alibaba Cloud announced another Hong Kong footprint expansion planned over the following 12 months, but disclosed no new capacity figure, facility count or project cost. The 2026 plan also covers new cloud regions in Türkiye, Finland and the Netherlands and footprint expansions in Malaysia, Germany, the United Arab Emirates and France.
What changed in Hong Kong—and when?
The phrase “doubles Hong Kong data center capacity” refers to Alibaba Cloud’s February 13, 2017 announcement. The company said it had expanded its Hong Kong facility by more than two times to meet demand for secure, scalable computing in Asia Pacific. Alibaba described uses including high availability, disaster recovery, storage, analytics, middleware and cloud security. Ethan Yu, then Alibaba Group vice president and Alibaba Cloud global general manager, said the larger facility would better support digital transformation in local sectors such as hospitality and financial services.
That historical figure should not be presented as a newly disclosed 2026 capacity increase. Alibaba Cloud’s September 2026 announcement says only that it will expand its data-center footprint in Hong Kong over the next 12 months. It does not state how many megawatts or gigawatts will be added, how many sites are involved, where they will be located or what the project will cost.
Alibaba Cloud’s September 2026 regional plan
Alibaba Cloud separates its commitments into new cloud regions and expansions of existing data-center footprints. The company gave the same broad, relative timetable—over the 12 months following its September 2026 announcement—for the markets below.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →#1 Best Overall
| Market | Commitment type | Timing stated | Capacity or site detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| Türkiye | First Alibaba Cloud region | Within the next 12 months from September 2026 | Not stated |
| Finland | First Alibaba Cloud region | Within the next 12 months from September 2026 | Not stated |
| Netherlands | First Alibaba Cloud region | Within the next 12 months from September 2026 | Not stated |
| Malaysia | Expansion of existing data-center footprint | Within the next 12 months from September 2026 | Not stated |
| Germany | Expansion of existing data-center footprint | Within the next 12 months from September 2026 | Not stated |
| United Arab Emirates | Expansion of existing data-center footprint | Within the next 12 months from September 2026 | Not stated |
| France | Expansion of existing data-center footprint | Within the next 12 months from September 2026 | Not stated |
| Hong Kong | Expansion of existing data-center footprint | Within the next 12 months from September 2026 | Not stated |
A “cloud region” is a geographic deployment that hosts cloud services; an expansion of a data-center footprint describes growth at an existing presence. The announcement does not establish that these projects are equal in scale or that each will involve a new campus.
Alibaba Cloud’s reported network size
At the time of the September 2026 announcement, Alibaba Cloud said it operated 107 availability zones across 31 regions. An availability zone is an isolated location within a cloud region intended to support resilience. This count is a company-reported service-network snapshot—not a tally of physical campuses, buildings, power capacity or Hong Kong sites.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
The 2032 capacity target
Alibaba Group CEO Eddie Wu said Alibaba Cloud’s target is for its globally operated data-center capacity to exceed 20 GW by 2032, “fueling the industry’s exponentially rising demand for AI.” This is a corporate target, not a disclosure of current capacity or an independently verified forecast. It also applies globally and cannot be used to calculate the size of the Hong Kong project.
How the 2026 funding announcement fits
Alibaba Group’s August 26, 2026 announcement about a completed HK$80 billion share placement described intended company-wide uses for the proceeds:
Rank #3
- HK$47,871 million, approximately 60%: global computing infrastructure.
- HK$31,914 million, approximately 40%: hyperscale AI data centers and upgrades to traditional cloud infrastructure.
Alibaba did not identify either allocation as a Hong Kong budget. The figures therefore provide investment context for the wider cloud and AI build-out, not a project cost for Hong Kong or any other named market.
What the announcements mean for customers and investors
For cloud customers
Alibaba Cloud says the purpose of expanding its global footprint is to bring computing resources closer to customers and partners and to support model deployment, multimodel workloads and AI applications. A new region can affect data-residency options and network latency, but the announcements do not provide launch dates, service lists or performance measurements for the named markets.
Rank #4
For investors and readers tracking infrastructure spending
The disclosures show strategic expansion but leave the physical scale unresolved. There is no location-level MW or GW figure, site count, project budget, completion date or independently verified construction schedule for the 2026 Hong Kong work. The 20-GW goal and share-placement allocations should be read as long-range and company-wide guidance rather than near-term Hong Kong metrics.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Bottom line on the headline
Alibaba did announce a more-than-twofold increase in Hong Kong data-center capacity—but in 2017. The relevant 2026 news is a planned, unquantified Hong Kong footprint expansion within a broader APAC and international rollout. Alibaba Cloud reported 107 availability zones in 31 regions, while Alibaba Group set a target of more than 20 GW of globally operated capacity by 2032. None of those figures supplies a current Hong Kong capacity number.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




