Apple’s current U.S. iPhone 17 lineup starts at $599 for the iPhone 17e, $799 for the iPhone 17, $999 for the iPhone Air, and $1,099 for the iPhone 17 Pro. The iPhone 17 Pro Max starts separately at $1,199 according to the retrieved launch-price comparison, so it should not be treated as a $1,099 phone.
Those are unlocked Apple list prices observed on August 16–18, 2026, before sales tax. Google’s Pixel 10 is also advertised at $599, but that is a temporary promotion for the 128GB model versus a regular $799 price. Samsung’s current U.S. unlocked prices were not reliably captured in the available research, so Samsung comparisons below identify the closest models without presenting unverified figures as fact.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
iPhone 17 prices at a glance
Apple’s current U.S. price ladder is:
| Model | Starting price | Starting storage | Display | Price type | Closest Google alternative | Closest Samsung alternative |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone 17e | $599 | 256GB, according to Apple’s announcement | Confirm in Apple’s configurator | Apple list price | Pixel 10, currently $599 promotional | Galaxy A-series or base Galaxy S model |
| iPhone 17 | $799 | 256GB | 6.3 inches | Apple list price | Pixel 10, $799 regular price | Galaxy S26 |
| iPhone Air | $999 | Confirm in Apple’s configurator | 6.5 inches | Apple list price | Pixel 10 Pro | Galaxy S26+ |
| iPhone 17 Pro | $1,099 | Confirm in Apple’s configurator | 6.3 inches | Apple list price | Pixel 10 Pro | Galaxy S26 |
| iPhone 17 Pro Max | $1,199 | 256GB according to retrieved comparison material | 6.9 inches | Secondary price cross-check; verify at checkout | Pixel 10 Pro XL | Galaxy S26 Ultra |
Check Apple’s current iPhone shop before publishing or buying. Apple groups the Pro and Pro Max headline as “from $1,099,” which is a family starting price, not the Pro Max price.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
What changed from the iPhone 16 generation?
The iPhone 17e is now the cheapest new iPhone
The iPhone 17e gives Apple a $599 entry point for a new iPhone. That is the relevant answer if your priority is the cheapest current model in Apple’s lineup. Apple still lists some iPhone 16-generation models, so “cheapest iPhone” should not be confused with every older iPhone available from retailers.
#1 Best Overall
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
Apple’s newsroom announcement says the iPhone 17e starts with 256GB of storage. That matters: a lower headline price is more valuable when it does not come with only 128GB, although the exact configuration should be confirmed in Apple’s buying flow.
The standard iPhone 17 starts at $799 with more base storage
The iPhone 17 is listed at $799 and is described in the retrieved comparison material as starting with 256GB, compared with the 128GB starting point associated with the previous base generation. This is primarily a value improvement rather than a headline-price cut.
Apple also highlights a larger, brighter display with ProMotion, faster charging, a 48MP dual-camera system, and a Center Stage front camera. These upgrades can make the same nominal price more compelling, but they should not be described as a price reduction.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallThe iPhone Air replaces the old large-screen non-Pro role
The $999 iPhone Air occupies the position previously associated with Apple’s large-screen non-Pro Plus models, but it is a new design proposition rather than a simple Plus rebrand. Its appeal is thinness, lightness, and a larger 6.5-inch display.
Whether it is good value depends on the compromises Apple makes to achieve that design. Before buying, verify the Air’s camera hardware, battery capacity or claimed battery performance, modem, speakers, charging, thermal behavior, and repairability. A thinner phone is not automatically a better value if you prioritize battery endurance, zoom photography, sustained performance, or lower repair costs.
Pro storage and size still change the price
The iPhone 17 Pro begins at $1,099, while the Pro Max is a separate, larger model beginning at a higher price. Do not compare a $1,099 Pro with a Pro Max or assume the two have identical storage ladders. Apple’s configurator is the final authority for each tier.
Rank #2
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
U.S. SIM configuration changed by region
Apple’s U.S. and Puerto Rico buying information shows eSIM-only activation for the iPhone 17e, iPhone 17, iPhone Air, and iPhone 17 Pro models, with no physical SIM tray. Confirm the Pro Max’s U.S. configuration before publication rather than assuming every regional model is identical. International versions can differ in SIM support, cellular bands, cameras, modems, warranty terms, and storage.
iPhone 17e versus Pixel 10
The closest verified Google comparison is the base Pixel 10, not a Pixel 10a. The available research does not establish a current U.S. Pixel 10a price, so it would be misleading to create a direct 17e-versus-10a price table.
| iPhone 17e | Pixel 10 | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $599 Apple list price | $599 promotional price; $799 regular price |
| Starting storage | 256GB, according to Apple | 128GB; 256GB from $699 |
| Platform | iOS | Android |
| Notable hardware signal | Apple ecosystem and platform integration | 6.3-inch display and built-in 5x telephoto |
| Support | Apple does not state a fixed support guarantee in the supplied evidence | Google states a seven-year commitment for Pixel 10 Pro/Pro XL; confirm the exact wording for the base Pixel 10 |
The Pixel 10 can look cheaper, but the comparison reverses somewhat when storage is matched: its 256GB version starts at $699, while the iPhone 17e is described as starting at 256GB for $599. The Pixel has a broader camera specification, including a 48MP wide, 13MP ultrawide, and 10.8MP 5x telephoto camera. Apple may still be preferable for buyers already invested in iOS, Apple Watch, AirPods, Apple services, or the iPhone resale market. Those real-world advantages require independent testing rather than specification-only claims.
iPhone 17 versus Pixel 10
At regular pricing, both phones begin at $799. The important difference is storage: the iPhone 17 is listed with 256GB starting storage, while the Pixel 10’s regular-price configuration begins with 128GB.
Google’s Pixel 10 specifications list a 6.3-inch OLED display with a 60–120Hz refresh rate, Tensor G5, a 5x telephoto camera, and Google AI features. Apple’s iPhone 17 emphasizes ProMotion, its A19 chip, a 48MP dual-camera system, faster charging, and a Center Stage front camera. Google highlights Gemini tools and AI camera features; Apple markets Apple Intelligence. Feature availability can vary by region, language, account, and software version.
Both phones use USB-C. Other buying factors include wireless-charging standards, satellite and emergency functions, repair policies, cloud storage, and ecosystem accessories. Compare iCloud+ with Google One, and remember that Apple Watch works only with iPhone while Wear OS watches are generally aimed at Android users.
Rank #3
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
iPhone Air versus Pixel 10 Pro and Galaxy S26+
The iPhone Air costs $999 and is aimed at shoppers who want a larger screen and a thin, light design. The closest verified Google price is the Pixel 10 Pro’s $999 starting price, but Google’s $999 configuration has 128GB. Pixel 10 Pro storage rises to $1,099 for 256GB, $1,219 for 512GB, and $1,449 for 1TB.
This is not a straightforward specification victory for either phone. The Air’s value depends on how much you are willing to pay for its design and display size. The Pixel 10 Pro may offer a stronger fit for buyers who prioritize Google’s computational photography, AI tools, and explicit long-term update commitment. The Galaxy S26+ is the natural Samsung size comparison, but verify its current unlocked price, storage, promotion, and trade-in terms at Samsung’s U.S. shop.
Pro versus Pro Max, Pixel Pro XL, and Galaxy Ultra
The iPhone 17 Pro starts at $1,099, while the retrieved comparison material places the iPhone 17 Pro Max at $1,199. The Pixel 10 Pro starts at $999 for 128GB, and the Pixel 10 Pro XL starts at $1,199. These headline prices are not equal-storage comparisons.
| Model | Verified price signal | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|
| iPhone 17 Pro | $1,099 | Confirm storage ladder in Apple’s configurator |
| iPhone 17 Pro Max | $1,199 according to retrieved comparison material | Verify current Apple checkout price |
| Pixel 10 Pro | $999 for 128GB; $1,099 for 256GB | Higher tiers: $1,219 for 512GB and $1,449 for 1TB |
| Pixel 10 Pro XL | $1,199 starting signal | Select size and storage in Google’s configurator |
| Galaxy S26 Ultra | Not stated from the supplied evidence | Verify Samsung’s current unlocked MSRP and promotions |
For a fair comparison, match storage and size before declaring a winner. Then compare telephoto reach, video tools, display characteristics, sustained performance, battery, repair cost, software support, protection plans, and bundled services. Google advertises a one-year Google AI Pro benefit valued at $239 with Pixel 10 Pro and Pro XL, but that is a time-limited bundle and not $239 of cash savings for someone who would not otherwise subscribe.
Where Samsung fits
Samsung’s closest comparison points are the Galaxy S26 for the iPhone 17, Galaxy S26+ for the iPhone Air, and Galaxy S26 Ultra for the iPhone 17 Pro Max. The iPhone 17e may be better compared with a Galaxy A-series phone or a base Galaxy S model, depending on Samsung’s current lineup.
The supplied research does not reliably establish Samsung’s current U.S. unlocked prices. Do not call Samsung cheaper, more expensive, or better value until checking:
Rank #4
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
- Unlocked MSRP and every storage tier.
- Current sale price versus launch price.
- Trade-in maximums and eligible devices.
- Samsung financing and total repayment.
- Galaxy AI subscription or bundle terms.
- Update-support duration.
- Included charger and accessories.
- S Pen availability on the Ultra.
- Display, camera-zoom, repair, and self-repair details.
Use Samsung’s Galaxy S hub and U.S. mobile shop for final verification. Samsung can be especially compelling for Android customization, multitasking, DeX, S Pen use, and ecosystem integration, but the best effective price may depend on a trade-in, carrier activation, or financing promotion.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsMSRP is not the same as the price you pay
Manufacturer discounts
Apple’s figures above are list prices. Google’s Pixel 10 price is different: $599 was displayed against a $799 regular price. Google product pages also showed promotions with a July 26, 2026 end date in the retrieved material. Because the research date is August 16–18, do not assume those offers remain available; confirm the final cart price before publication or purchase.
Trade-in credits
Apple displayed approximately $205–$720 toward an iPhone 17, Air, or 17 Pro when trading in an iPhone 13 or newer, depending on model and condition. Apple also advertised up to $800–$1,100 in carrier credit, subject to terms. These are not universal instant discounts.
A trade-in value can fall after inspection, while a carrier credit may arrive as monthly bill credits over 24 or 36 months. A “free” phone may require an eligible unlimited plan, a qualifying trade-in, installment billing, and continued service. Leaving early can make the remaining installment balance due.
Financing
Apple advertises eligible 0% APR financing over 24 months. Google and Samsung also offer financing through their buying flows, but compare total repayment rather than the monthly figure. A 36-month installment can make a more expensive phone appear cheaper each month.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Protection and cloud costs
Google’s retrieved configurators show Pixel Care+ at $9 per month or $179 for two years for Pixel 10, and $13 per month or $239 for two years for Pro and Pro XL models. Availability and state restrictions apply; the displayed terms noted that some two-year plans were unavailable to New York residents.
Best Value
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
Also budget for AppleCare+, Samsung Care+, iCloud+, Google One, or Microsoft OneDrive where relevant. AI bundles should count as savings only if you would otherwise pay for the subscription. Add cases, chargers, earbuds, and smartwatch costs when comparing ecosystems.
Which phone should you buy?
- Cheapest new iPhone: iPhone 17e at $599, with 256GB reported as its starting storage.
- Best mainstream iPhone value: iPhone 17 at $799 if you value 256GB, ProMotion, and a more capable camera package without Pro pricing.
- Best thin and light option: iPhone Air if design and a 6.5-inch display matter more than potential camera, battery, thermal, or repair trade-offs. Verify those specifications first.
- Best iPhone for advanced cameras or battery: iPhone 17 Pro or Pro Max, depending on whether you prefer the smaller Pro or the largest display and battery. Match storage before comparing the price.
- Best Android value when the promotion is active: Pixel 10 at $599, but remember that price is for 128GB. Compare the $699 256GB version with Apple’s 256GB entry models.
- Best Android for long explicit support: Pixel 10 Pro or Pro XL if Google’s stated seven-year update commitment, AI tools, and camera processing are priorities.
- Best Samsung choice: Galaxy S26, S26+, or S26 Ultra when Samsung’s display, customization, DeX, S Pen, or ecosystem matters most. Verify current pricing and promotions before deciding.
Buyer’s final price checklist
- Write down the unlocked cash price and storage capacity.
- Check the equivalent-storage price on every competing phone.
- Separate regular MSRP, manufacturer sale price, trade-in value, and carrier bill credits.
- Calculate the required carrier plan for the entire installment period.
- Check protection-plan cost, deductibles, exclusions, and state restrictions.
- Add cloud storage, accessories, and ecosystem replacements.
- Confirm SIM configuration, warranty, cellular bands, and regional compatibility.
- Recheck the final checkout total because promotions can expire or be account-specific.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the cheapest current iPhone in the U.S.?
The iPhone 17e is the cheapest new iPhone in Apple’s current U.S. lineup, starting at $599 before tax. Apple’s newsroom says it starts with 256GB of storage.
Is the Pixel 10 really cheaper than the iPhone 17?
Only temporarily and at a different storage tier in the supplied pricing. Pixel 10 was advertised at $599 for 128GB versus a $799 regular price; its 256GB version starts at $699. The iPhone 17 is listed at $799 with 256GB starting storage.
Does the iPhone 17 Pro Max cost $1,099?
No. Apple’s $1,099 headline is the starting price for the Pro family. Retrieved comparison material places the Pro Max at $1,199, but confirm the current exact price and storage in Apple’s configurator.
Are carrier ‘free phone’ offers actually free?
Usually not without conditions. They may require a qualifying plan, eligible trade-in, installment billing, and monthly bill credits for 24 or 36 months. Calculate the plan cost and remaining balance if you leave early.
The Bottom Line
The iPhone 17 price story is a value comparison, not simply a price-increase story. Apple’s new entry point is $599, the standard iPhone 17 brings a reported 256GB starting tier at $799, and the Air introduces a $999 thin-and-light option. Google can undercut Apple when its Pixel 10 promotion is active, but that headline price buys 128GB. Samsung may be the better Android fit for customization and S Pen features, although its current U.S. pricing must be verified before publication. Compare equal storage, total ownership cost, and promotion conditions—not just the largest number on a product page.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Recommended Free Tools




