For the 2026 Social Security cost-of-living adjustment (COLA) cycle, the Social Security Administration (SSA) made eligible retirement and disability beneficiaries’ notices available online in early December 2026 and mailed paper notices throughout December 2026. The notice states your exact new benefit, effective date and deductions. Sign in to your personal my Social Security account and open the Message Center to check it; if you receive paper mail, SSA advised waiting until January 2026 before contacting the agency about a notice that had not arrived.
The 2026 COLA was 2.8%, but your deposited payment may not rise by exactly 2.8%. SSA applies the adjustment to your primary insurance amount, applies retirement timing factors, subtracts applicable deductions such as the Medicare medical-insurance premium, and rounds the result. Your personalized notice—not a percentage-based estimate—is the authoritative amount.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
You do not need a paid calculator or commercial service to perform this check. Use SSA.gov, the Message Center and the notice sent to you. Keep your Social Security number, password and security codes private, and use Medicare.gov for questions about Medicare premiums.
What happened with 2026 COLA notices
The dates below apply specifically to the 2026 benefit increase and should not be treated as a calendar for the next cycle.
#1 Best Overall
| Item | 2026 cycle |
|---|---|
| Online notice | Available in early December 2026 to eligible retirement and disability beneficiaries with a personal my Social Security account |
| Mailed notice | Sent throughout December 2026 |
| Online-account cutoff cited by SSA | Most beneficiaries needed to create an account by November 19, 2025, to receive the 2026 notice online |
| Social Security benefit increase | 2.8% for benefits payable beginning in January 2026 |
| SSI increase | The increased Supplemental Security Income payment began December 31, 2025 |
SSA’s 2026 COLA FAQ explains that the online availability and account deadline were year-specific instructions. A future deadline may be different.
The 2026 announcement covered about 75 million people receiving Social Security and SSI. It also described an average increase of about $56 per month for Social Security retirement benefits beginning in January 2026. That average does not tell you what any particular person will receive.
How to check your new amount online
Online access is usually the quickest way to see the personalized figure once SSA posts the notice. Use only the official SSA site and your own account.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
- Go to SSA’s official website and select the sign-in option for your personal my Social Security account.
- Sign in using your established account credentials. Do not enter your Social Security number, password or other credentials into a link sent by an unsolicited message.
- Open the Message Center.
- Look for the COLA notice for the relevant benefit year and open it.
- Read the benefit amount, the date the new amount applies and each deduction shown. Save or print the notice for your records if you need it when checking a payment.
The 2026 notice was a one-page document showing an individual’s exact new benefit and deductions. It is more reliable than multiplying your current bank deposit by 1.028, because the deposit can include deductions and rounding that are handled separately.
If you have not created an account
Account eligibility and any sign-up cutoff are set for each notice cycle. For the 2026 cycle, SSA said most beneficiaries needed to create a personal account by November 19, 2025, to receive the notice online. That date has passed and is not a promise about the next cycle. If you create an account later, follow the current instructions on SSA.gov and do not assume that an older deadline or online delivery rule still applies.
What to record from the screen
Write down the benefit year, gross benefit amount, effective date and every deduction. A downloaded or printed copy can help you compare the notice with a bank statement, answer a landlord’s or lender’s benefits question, or explain a change to a household budget. Store it securely because the document contains personal financial information.
What to do if you are waiting for a paper notice
SSA mailed 2026 COLA notices throughout December 2026 rather than on one universal day. Delivery order therefore varied among beneficiaries. For that cycle, SSA’s FAQ instructed people to wait until January 2026 before contacting the agency about a mailed notice that had not arrived.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minutePC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11- Check the address SSA has on file and your household mail for the entire December 2026 mailing period.
- Allow the January 2026 waiting period specified in the 2026 FAQ before treating the missing letter as a non-delivery problem.
- If you have a personal my Social Security account, check the Message Center even while waiting for the letter; the online notice may contain the same personalized figures.
- After the applicable waiting period, contact SSA through the official channels listed on SSA.gov. Have your identifying information available, but do not post it publicly or send it to anyone offering to check your benefit.
The January 2026 instruction belongs to the 2026 mailing cycle. It does not establish a rule for 2027 or any later year. A later cycle could use a different waiting period or communication schedule.
Online notice versus mailed notice
| Method | What you need | Practical advantage | Practical limitation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Message Center | An eligible benefit and access to a personal my Social Security account under that year’s SSA rules | Can provide the notice before a postal letter arrives and keeps the document available in your account | Requires account setup, sign-in and internet access; eligibility and account deadlines can change by year |
| Postal mail | A current mailing address with SSA | No online account is required; the notice arrives as a physical record | Delivery is spread across the mailing period and can be delayed or lost |
SSA described both channels for 2026 in its COLA FAQ and 2026 COLA announcement. Do not assume that an online opt-in or opt-out deadline from 2026 carries over to a later cycle.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
Online and mail are two ways to receive the same personalized information, not two different benefit calculations. If the figures appear different, compare the benefit year, effective date and deductions and then ask SSA about the discrepancy.
How to read the COLA notice
The new benefit amount
The notice gives the dollar amount SSA calculated for your benefit. Use this figure when reconciling a payment, budgeting for the next month or updating a benefits record. It is individualized; two people receiving the same headline COLA can have different dollar increases.
The effective date
For the 2026 Social Security increase, the adjusted benefit was payable beginning in January 2026. SSI follows a different payment schedule: the increased 2026 SSI payment began December 31, 2025. The date printed on your notice controls your individual record.
When checking a bank statement, match the payment to the correct benefit program and month. A December 31, 2025 SSI payment is associated with the increased 2026 SSI amount, while Social Security retirement and disability benefits were increased for benefits payable in January 2026. Do not assume that the date money reaches your account is the same as the month for which it is payable.
Deductions and the amount deposited
SSA’s notice lists deductions that can reduce the amount actually deposited. A Medicare Supplementary Medical Insurance premium is one example. If a premium or another withholding changes, the net payment can move independently of the gross benefit adjustment. For Medicare-specific changes, SSA directed beneficiaries to Medicare.gov, while the personal COLA amount remains in the SSA notice or Message Center.
Compare the gross amount on the notice with the net deposit only after listing each deduction. A smaller deposit is not, by itself, evidence that SSA failed to apply the COLA. Conversely, if a deduction shown on the notice does not match your statement, contact SSA through an official channel and keep both records available.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Why your payment may not rise by exactly 2.8%
The 2.8% figure is the 2026 COLA announced by SSA; it is not a promise that every bank deposit will be 2.8% higher. SSA’s Office of the Chief Actuary explains that a COLA increases a person’s retirement benefit by approximately the product of the COLA and the benefit amount. The word “approximately” matters because the calculation proceeds through several stages.
- Start with the primary insurance amount. The statutory COLA is applied to the primary insurance amount used in the benefit calculation, rather than directly to the final deposited payment.
- Apply retirement-timing rules. If you claimed early or delayed retirement credits, the applicable reduction or increase is applied to the recalculated benefit.
- Subtract applicable offsets and premiums. Medicare medical-insurance premiums and other deductions can reduce the amount you receive after the benefit is calculated.
- Round or truncate as required. SSA’s rules for rounding and truncation can make the final dollar change differ slightly from a simple percentage multiplication.
The full technical explanation appears in SSA’s Application of COLA to a Retirement Benefit. Because these inputs differ by person, a calculator that applies 2.8% to your last deposit cannot establish your official 2026 amount.
Gross benefit versus net payment
There are three figures readers often confuse: the benefit amount calculated under SSA rules, the total deductions listed on the notice and the amount deposited after deductions. The 2026 COLA percentage concerns the benefit calculation; it does not guarantee a matching change in the final bank deposit. Start with the notice’s dollar figure, then account for the deductions and payment timing shown there.
Rank #3
What the 2026 increase meant in dollars and scale
SSA’s October 24, 2025 announcement described the 2026 COLA as a 2.8% increase. It estimated an average increase of about $56 per month for Social Security retirement benefits beginning in January 2026. That $56 is an average across beneficiaries, not an individual guarantee; your amount depends on your benefit calculation and deductions.
Recommended Free Tools
The announcement said the increase covered about 75 million people receiving Social Security and SSI. SSA also reported that the average annual COLA over the preceding decade was about 3.1%. That historical average is context, not a forecast or a replacement for the announced 2026 percentage.
“Social Security is a promise kept, and the annual cost-of-living adjustment is one way we are working to make sure benefits reflect today’s economic realities and continue to provide a foundation of security,” Commissioner Frank J. Bisignano said in SSA’s announcement.
See the SSA 2026 COLA announcement and its 2026 COLA Fact Sheet for the agency’s published figures.
What is known about the next COLA
SSA’s Office of the Chief Actuary COLA page says the next COLA would be announced in October 2026. The retrieved SSA material does not state the resulting percentage, the 2027 online-notice date, a new account-creation cutoff or the precise 2027 mailing schedule.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Do not use the 2.8% 2026 figure, the November 19, 2025 account deadline or the December 2026 mailing pattern to predict your 2027 amount or notice date. Before relying on a new-year figure, check SSA’s current COLA information page, your Message Center and the notice SSA mails to you. Actuarial estimates published in a Trustees Report are assumptions-based estimates, not the actual COLA determination; SSA’s estimate page is available at SSA’s Trustees Report assumptions page.
Common problems and the right response
The online notice is not visible
- Confirm that you are in the personal account’s Message Center, not a general benefits-information page.
- Check that the benefit type and year match the notice you expect.
- Review SSA’s current instructions for that cycle’s eligibility and account deadline; the 2026 rules do not automatically apply later.
- If the notice should be available under the current instructions but is missing, use SSA’s official contact options rather than a third-party service.
The mailed notice has not arrived
For 2026, SSA said to wait until January 2026 before contacting the agency about a missing mailed notice. For a later cycle, follow the waiting period SSA publishes for that year.
The deposit is lower than expected
- Compare the gross benefit and deductions shown on the notice with the amount deposited.
- Look for Medicare medical-insurance premiums or another withholding that changed.
- Check whether you are comparing the correct payment month: Social Security benefits increased for January 2026, while the increased SSI payment began December 31, 2025.
- Use the notice’s dollar amount as the starting point for questions to SSA. Do not infer an error solely from a percentage calculation.
You receive a suspicious message about a COLA
SSA does not require you to disclose account credentials in a comment, social-media message or unsolicited email to verify a COLA. Close the message, type SSA.gov yourself or use a saved official bookmark, and sign in there. Never share your Social Security number, password or security codes publicly.
You moved or changed banks
A notice can be correct even if delivery or deposit is affected by outdated contact information. Verify that SSA has your current mailing address and that your financial institution information is current through official SSA procedures. Do not provide account details to a caller or website that cannot be verified as SSA.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesRank #4
A safe checklist for verifying your benefit
- Identify the benefit year printed on the notice.
- Confirm whether the document came through your personal Message Center or by postal mail.
- Record the new gross benefit, effective date and every deduction.
- Compare the notice with the corresponding bank deposit, allowing for payment timing and deductions.
- For Medicare premium questions, consult Medicare.gov; for the benefit calculation or a missing notice, use SSA’s official channels.
- Store the notice securely and remove sensitive information before discarding a paper copy.
Frequently asked questions
When did 2026 COLA notices arrive?
Eligible retirement and disability beneficiaries could view the 2026 notice online in early December 2026 if they had a personal my Social Security account under SSA’s rules. Paper notices were mailed throughout December 2026. SSA advised waiting until January 2026 before asking about a mailed notice that had not arrived.
What was the 2026 Social Security COLA?
SSA announced a 2.8% COLA for benefits payable in January 2026. The increased 2026 SSI payment began December 31, 2025. Neither date means every beneficiary saw the same deposit date or dollar increase.
How do I find my exact new benefit?
Sign in to your personal my Social Security account, open Message Center and select the COLA notice for the relevant year. You can also read the paper notice SSA mailed. The notice’s dollar amount and deductions are more authoritative than a percentage applied to your bank deposit.
Why is my increase different from 2.8%?
The 2026 COLA is applied to the primary insurance amount, then retirement-timing factors, deductions and SSA rounding or truncation rules affect the result. Medicare medical-insurance premiums and other withholdings can further change the net deposit.
Is the $56 increase guaranteed?
No. About $56 per month was SSA’s average increase for Social Security retirement benefits beginning in January 2026. It is not a promise for an individual beneficiary.
Can I use a third-party COLA calculator?
A calculator may illustrate why a percentage and a dollar amount differ, but it cannot replace your SSA notice. Do not pay a service to retrieve a benefit amount that SSA provides through a free account or mailed notice.
What if my notice is missing online?
Check the correct personal account and Message Center, confirm the benefit year and review that year’s eligibility and account rules. If the notice should be present, contact SSA through SSA.gov rather than sending credentials to a third party.
What if my paper notice is missing?
For the 2026 cycle, check mail through December 2026 and wait until January 2026 as SSA instructed before contacting the agency. Follow a different waiting period if SSA publishes one for a later cycle.
When will the next COLA be announced?
SSA’s COLA information page said the next COLA would be announced in October 2026. The percentage, 2027 notice dates and any new account deadline were not stated in the material cited here, so check current SSA guidance for those details.
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Where should I ask about a Medicare premium?
SSA directed beneficiaries to Medicare.gov for Medicare-specific changes. Keep the SSA COLA notice available because it shows the benefit amount and deductions used in your personal calculation.
Bottom line for 2026 beneficiaries
The verified 2026 schedule was early-December 2026 online access for eligible account holders and December 2026 postal delivery. The 2.8% COLA produced an individualized amount, not a uniform 2.8% increase in every deposit. Open the Message Center or read the mailed notice to find your exact figure, compare gross benefits with deductions, and treat any 2027 date or percentage as unconfirmed until SSA publishes it.
Frequently Asked Questions
When did 2026 COLA notices arrive?
SSA made eligible online notices available in early December 2026 and mailed paper notices throughout December 2026. For a missing 2026 mailed notice, SSA advised waiting until January 2026 before contacting the agency.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →How do I check my exact new Social Security amount?
Sign in to your personal my Social Security account, open Message Center and select the COLA notice for the relevant benefit year. You can also use the paper notice SSA mailed. It lists the exact benefit amount, effective date and deductions.
Why did my payment not increase by exactly 2.8%?
The 2.8% 2026 COLA is applied to the primary insurance amount, not directly to your final deposit. Retirement-timing factors, Medicare premiums, other deductions and SSA rounding or truncation can change the net increase.
Is the 2026 average increase of $56 guaranteed?
No. SSA’s about-$56 figure is an average increase for Social Security retirement benefits beginning in January 2026, not an individual guarantee.
What should I do if the online notice is missing?
Verify that you are in the personal account’s Message Center, that the benefit year is correct and that you meet that cycle’s eligibility rules. If it should be there, use SSA’s official contact options rather than a third-party service.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
What should I do if my mailed notice is late?
For the 2026 cycle, check mail through December 2026 and wait until January 2026 as SSA instructed. A later cycle may publish a different waiting period.
When is the next COLA announced?
SSA’s COLA information page said the next COLA would be announced in October 2026. The percentage and 2027 notice calendar were not stated, so check current SSA guidance.
Where do I ask about Medicare deductions?
SSA directed beneficiaries to Medicare.gov for Medicare-specific changes. Your SSA notice or Message Center still provides the personal benefit amount and deductions.
The Bottom Line
For the 2026 cycle, check the Message Center in early December 2026 or watch for SSA’s mailed notice throughout December 2026. The 2.8% COLA is not the same as a guaranteed 2.8% increase in your deposit; rely on your personalized amount and deductions. Confirm any 2027 dates or percentage on SSA.gov.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




