Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run Scan×
Skip to the guide
THE FINANCEBASE List yours

Guide

UPI QR Payments vs Card Payments for Small Businesses in India (2026): Costs and Trade-offs

By TheFinanceBase Team 13 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Short answer: For many small Indian businesses, a provider-issued UPI QR remains the lowest-friction way to accept digital payments, especially when the merchant qualifies for the small-merchant P2PM category. Cards can add customer choice and support card-present sales, but their cost depends on the card type, your acquiring agreement, terminal and service charges, and settlement terms. Neither option has one universal price.

The Ministry of Finance announced a new select UPI merchant-discount-rate (MDR) schedule on September 15, 2026, but the public release does not state when those rates start. Treat the figures below as announced policy until the Department of Financial Services FAQ or operative NPCI and bank instructions confirm the commencement date. Do not change your pricing or provider contract solely on the announcement.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What you are actually comparing: merchant cost, not a customer surcharge

MDR is the fee taken from the merchant-side payment ecosystem. The Ministry of Finance release published by the Press Information Bureau on September 15, 2026, states: MDR is a charge within the merchant payment ecosystem. It is not a charge on customers making UPI payments. The same release says banks have been advised to ensure that merchants do not pass MDR on to customers.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Your real acceptance cost is broader than MDR. It can include a one-time onboarding or setup charge, terminal purchase or rental, connectivity, software or service fees, settlement-related terms, and the way refunds and disputes are handled. Compare the complete written offer, not just the headline percentage.

Separate three questions when comparing offers. First, what is deducted from each successful transaction? Second, what fixed costs are paid even when sales are quiet? Third, how quickly and predictably does the money reach your account, and what happens when a payment is reversed, refunded or disputed? A provider can look inexpensive on one question and expensive on another.

UPI QR costs under the September 15, 2026 announcement

The announcement separates small-merchant eligibility, transaction value and sector. The following is what it says, with the effective-date qualification attached.

Situation MDR stated in the announcement Important qualification
Small merchant in the P2PM category receiving up to ₹1 lakh a month through UPI QR Zero MDR on all transactions The business must be classified in the P2PM category by its provider; the release does not describe every onboarding test.
Merchant payment up to ₹2,000 Zero MDR This is the announced general threshold for the covered P2M schedule.
Specified P2M payment above ₹2,000 0.4% of transaction value, capped at ₹300 for transactions of ₹75,000 and above Confirm that the transaction and merchant fall within the specified P2M scope.
Listed essential or thin-margin sectors, above ₹2,000 ₹5 per transaction The release lists sectors including railways, telecommunications, insurance, fuel and agricultural inputs.
Listed capital-market payment 0.02%, capped at ₹300 Applies only to the capital-market transactions covered by the announcement.

The Ministry’s analysis says approximately 96% of P2M transactions remain unaffected, because they are below ₹2,000 or covered by the small-merchant zero-MDR framework. It estimates that about 4% of merchant transactions will attract MDR. Those are government estimates, not an independent industry measurement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

“Unaffected” in that analysis does not mean every merchant receives identical economics. A provider may still charge for a device, reconciliation service or another contracted service. It means the announced MDR treatment leaves those transactions outside the new charge categories described by the Ministry.

The effective date is still a decision point

The release and the Department of Financial Services FAQ landing page are dated September 15, 2026, but the accessible announcement does not state a commencement date. Before you assume a fee is payable, obtain the operative date and implementation instructions from your acquiring bank, payment-service provider or the relevant NPCI instructions. Ask for the date in writing and retain the version of the merchant terms that applies to your account.

Do not infer the start date from a newspaper article, a social-media post or the date printed on an announcement. Your provider should be able to identify the circular or merchant notice that governs your account. If two providers give different dates, ask both to cite the operative instruction and escalate the discrepancy before accepting a deduction.

Rank #2
Sale
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
  • Ideal for Gifting
  • Ideal for a bookworm
  • Compact for travelling

How to estimate your UPI QR bill

Start with the status your provider has assigned to your business, then separate transactions by value and sector. For a covered 0.4% transaction, the arithmetic is straightforward:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • A ₹3,000 payment would produce a stated MDR of ₹12 before any contract-specific charges.
  • A ₹50,000 payment would produce ₹200.
  • At ₹75,000, 0.4% reaches the stated ₹300 cap.
  • A ₹1,00,000 payment is still capped at ₹300 under that announced band.

These examples do not override P2PM eligibility, the up-to-₹2,000 zero-MDR threshold, or a sector-specific ₹5 rule. A business receiving ₹90,000 in monthly UPI QR receipts is not automatically P2PM; the provider must classify it in that category, and the release uses the threshold of up to ₹1 lakh per month for that framework.

Use a transaction ledger rather than an average ticket alone. Record the number and rupee value of payments at or below ₹2,000, above ₹2,000, and at or above ₹75,000. Mark any transaction that may fall into an essential-sector or capital-market category. Then apply the stated rule to each group and add fixed fees. This prevents a few large invoices from being hidden inside a low average ticket.

Illustrative monthly model

Suppose a non-P2PM merchant has ten covered payments of ₹3,000 and two covered payments of ₹50,000 in a month. The stated MDR arithmetic would be ₹120 (10 × ₹12) plus ₹400 (2 × ₹200), or ₹520 before other contract charges. If one of the two payments were ₹75,000 instead, the stated amount for that payment would be ₹300 because of the cap. This is an illustration of the announced formula, not a provider quote or a prediction that the schedule is already operative.

For a P2PM merchant that the provider confirms is within the up-to-₹1 lakh monthly UPI QR-receipt threshold, the announcement says all transactions receive zero MDR under that category. Keep the provider’s classification notice and the monthly receipt report. If your receipts approach the threshold, ask how the provider measures the month, handles a crossing month and communicates a change in status.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What card acceptance costs

There is no single “card MDR.” Debit, credit, RuPay and prepaid cards can have different rates, and the acquiring provider may add device or service charges.

Card category or rule What the cited RBI material establishes What you still need to verify
Non-RuPay debit cards RBI’s Benchmarking India’s Payment Systems report states a cap of 0.9% of transaction value or ₹1,000, whichever is lower, for businesses with annual turnover of ₹2 million or more. Confirm that the turnover condition, current operative rule and your merchant agreement all match. Do not apply this figure to every business or every debit card.
RuPay debit cards The cited report does not provide the same cap for this comparison. Request the current RuPay rate in your written schedule.
Credit cards No universal percentage is established by the cited RBI figure. Ask for the credit-card MDR by network and product category, plus any minimums or service fees.
Prepaid cards RBI’s direction treats prepaid as a separate category for disclosure. Obtain the applicable rate and acceptance conditions.

RBI’s September 1, 2016 direction on unbundling says acquiring banks shall “ensure that MDR are clearly unbundled for different categories of cards” and “educate the merchants regarding the charges associated with different categories of cards, at the time of acquisition.” Your quote should therefore show debit, credit and prepaid charges separately rather than hiding them under one blended rate.

The 0.9% figure is also not a promise that every debit transaction will cost exactly 0.9%. It is described in the RBI report for non-RuPay debit cards at businesses with annual turnover of ₹2 million or more, subject to the applicable rules. A merchant below that turnover, a different card category or a changed operative instruction may produce a different result. Ask the acquirer to identify the rule and turnover basis used for your account.

Fixed and operational costs can outweigh a small rate difference

A QR display is usually a low-equipment acceptance method: you need a provider-issued merchant QR and a way to display it. A countertop acrylic stand can make the code visible, but a generic stand does not enroll a merchant, route funds or verify the payee. Check the displayed name and QR before putting it at the counter.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Keep the QR stand secondary to the payment account. A stand bought online may be useful for visibility, but it does not prove that the code belongs to your business. Replace a damaged or altered display promptly, and use the provider’s official onboarding and support channels for any QR change.

Card acceptance normally involves an acquiring relationship and, for card-present payments, a point-of-sale terminal or another approved acceptance device. Ask each provider to itemize:

  • one-time onboarding, installation or terminal-purchase charges;
  • monthly rental, software, maintenance or minimum-use fees;
  • connectivity requirements and who pays for a data connection or replacement device;
  • settlement timing, including weekends and bank holidays;
  • refund processing, partial refunds and the time to credit the customer;
  • chargeback rules, evidence deadlines and any dispute fee;
  • daily and monthly reports, export formats and reconciliation support; and
  • help-desk hours, device replacement and account-closure terms.

Ask whether quoted percentages include taxes or other pass-through charges, whether a minimum monthly volume applies, and whether the rate changes by transaction size, card network or merchant category. If the provider cannot explain a line item in writing, treat the quote as incomplete.

Government policy establishes payment rules and transparency requirements, not the current commercial price of a particular provider. A written merchant schedule is the reliable basis for comparison.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

UPI QR and cards compared by the decision that matters

Decision factor UPI QR Cards
Eligibility P2PM classification and monthly UPI QR receipts matter; the announced small-merchant threshold is up to ₹1 lakh per month. Requires approval by an acquiring provider, with underwriting and category-specific card terms.
Transaction pricing Depends on the announced value band, sector and P2PM status; start date must be confirmed. Depends on debit, credit, RuPay or prepaid category and your negotiated merchant schedule.
Equipment Provider-issued QR and a display; optional stand only presents the code. Usually a card-present terminal or other approved acceptance device, with possible rental or connectivity charges.
Settlement and reporting Provider-specific schedule, reports and reconciliation tools. Provider-specific schedule, reports, refunds and chargeback workflow.
Customer choice Works for customers choosing UPI and able to use their banking app. Accepts customers choosing debit, credit or prepaid cards, including card-present payments.
Risk and support Confirm wrong-payee controls, refund path and support contacts with the provider. Confirm authorization reversals, chargebacks, fraud procedures and terminal support.

Operational fit matters as much as the rate. A QR-only counter needs a reliable way to display the code, identify successful receipts and reconcile them to sales. A card setup needs a working acceptance device, a process for failed or reversed authorizations and a way to store transaction records for refunds or disputes. Decide who on staff checks each status and where the record is kept.

Which setup fits different small businesses?

Choose UPI QR first when you are clearly within P2PM

If your provider confirms P2PM classification and your UPI QR receipts stay at or below ₹1 lakh per month, the announced framework provides zero MDR on all transactions. A QR-first setup also avoids committing to terminal rental before you know that card demand justifies it. Keep a written record of your classification and monthly receipts because eligibility is not established by turnover alone.

Use both when transaction mix and customer choice justify it

A shop with frequent payments above ₹2,000, customers who regularly use cards, or a need for card-present acceptance should price a combined setup. Model the number of debit, credit, RuPay and prepaid transactions separately. Compare the resulting MDR with terminal, service and connectivity charges; a lower percentage can still cost more if fixed fees are high.

Do not assume adding a second channel doubles every cost. Request a combined quote and ask whether the provider can use one settlement report, one support route or one device for the services you need. Conversely, do not assume a bundle is cheaper: compare the standalone and bundled schedules line by line.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Check sector rules before applying the general 0.4% band

If your business falls in one of the listed essential or thin-margin sectors, the announced above-₹2,000 figure is ₹5 per transaction rather than the general 0.4% calculation. Confirm that your exact merchant category is included. Capital-market payments have a separate 0.02% capped schedule, also limited to the listed transactions.

Best Value
Sale
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
  • It can be a gift option
  • Comes with secure packaging
  • Helpful in various ways

Do not choose on speed or fraud claims that are not in the contract

The cited official material does not establish a representative checkout-speed advantage, fraud rate, customer-preference survey or total cost for a typical provider. Treat those as questions for your own customer data and provider service-level terms, not as assumed properties of UPI or cards.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Implementation checklist

  1. Confirm classification. Ask the UPI provider whether your account is P2PM, what monthly-receipt measure it uses, and how it reviews the up-to-₹1 lakh threshold.
  2. Get the UPI schedule and start date. Request the applicable value bands, sector category, cap treatment and the date on which any announced MDR becomes operative.
  3. Request a card quote by category. Require separate debit, credit, RuPay and prepaid MDRs, plus terminal purchase or rental, service and connectivity charges.
  4. Build a 30-day transaction model. Count payments below and above ₹2,000, the share of each card category, refunds and expected monthly volume. Apply the relevant cap only where its qualifications are met.
  5. Check settlement and disputes. Write down settlement times, refund completion, chargeback evidence requirements and support escalation contacts.
  6. Test reconciliation. Match a sample payment, refund and settlement entry to your sales records before relying on the system during busy periods.
  7. Review monthly. Monitor UPI receipts against the P2PM threshold and check provider notices for changes to rates or eligibility.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • “UPI is always free.” The September 2026 announcement includes a small-merchant framework, a ₹2,000 threshold, a general 0.4% band and sector exceptions; its commencement date must be confirmed.
  • Applying the new rate immediately. An announcement date is not necessarily an operative date.
  • Using 0.9% as the universal card rate. The RBI figure is limited to non-RuPay debit cards at businesses with annual turnover of ₹2 million or more, and current rules must be checked.
  • Ignoring card categories. A credit-card or prepaid quote cannot be inferred from a debit-card cap.
  • Comparing MDR alone. Device, rental, connectivity, settlement, refund, chargeback and support terms can change the total cost.
  • Passing UPI MDR to customers. The Ministry says MDR is a merchant-side ecosystem charge and advises banks to ensure it is not passed through.
  • Confusing P2P and P2M. The announced schedule concerns merchant payments; a personal transfer is not a substitute for a properly onboarded merchant QR.
  • Failing to preserve records. Keep the signed or accepted merchant schedule, classification notice, settlement reports and provider notices so you can explain deductions and eligibility changes.

Bottom line for a small-business owner

Ask for two written packages: a merchant UPI QR offer showing your P2PM status, applicable announced band and effective date, and a card-acquiring offer that unbundles debit, credit, RuPay and prepaid pricing. If you qualify for P2PM and your receipts remain within the stated ₹1 lakh monthly threshold, UPI QR is likely to be the simplest low-cost base. If customers demand cards or your sales mix makes card acceptance worthwhile, add a terminal after comparing the complete fixed and transaction-based costs. Recheck the UPI commencement date and your provider’s operative terms before treating any September 2026 rate as payable.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do small merchants pay MDR on UPI QR payments?

The Ministry of Finance’s September 15, 2026 announcement says merchants classified in the P2PM category with up to ₹1 lakh in monthly UPI QR receipts continue to receive zero MDR on all transactions. Payments up to ₹2,000 are also stated to remain free under the covered P2M schedule. Eligibility and the commencement date must be confirmed with the provider.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What is the announced UPI MDR above ₹2,000?

For specified P2M transactions above ₹2,000, the announcement states 0.4% of transaction value, capped at ₹300 for transactions of ₹75,000 and above. Listed essential or thin-margin sectors have a stated ₹5 charge above ₹2,000, while listed capital-market payments have 0.02% capped at ₹300.

Can a merchant add UPI MDR to the customer’s bill?

The Ministry says MDR is a charge within the merchant payment ecosystem, not a charge on customers making UPI payments, and says banks have been advised to ensure merchants do not pass it to customers.

Is 0.9% the card MDR for every small business?

No. The RBI report describes 0.9% of transaction value or ₹1,000, whichever is lower, for non-RuPay debit cards at businesses with annual turnover of ₹2 million or more. Credit, RuPay and prepaid rates, other turnover categories and current operative rules require a provider quote.

What should I request before signing with a payment provider?

Request category-specific MDR, one-time and recurring device charges, connectivity costs, settlement timing, refund and chargeback rules, reporting, support and account-closure terms. Ask the UPI provider to state your P2PM classification and the operative date for any announced schedule.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Is a generic QR display stand enough to accept payments?

No. You need a provider-issued merchant QR and an onboarded account. A countertop stand only displays the code; it does not enroll the business, route funds or verify the payee.

The Bottom Line

Bottom line: Start with a written UPI QR classification and fee schedule, then compare a fully itemized card-acquiring quote. P2PM eligibility and the ₹1 lakh monthly threshold can make UPI QR especially attractive, while cards may justify their fixed and transaction costs when customers need card-present choice. Confirm the September 15, 2026 announcement’s commencement date before treating any new UPI MDR as payable.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
SaleBestseller No. 2
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
Ideal for Gifting; Ideal for a bookworm; Compact for travelling
$10.99
SaleBestseller No. 5
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
It can be a gift option; Comes with secure packaging; Helpful in various ways
$9.15

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More guides

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.